We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable hotel in a great location with friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€109 (EUR)
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stylish, comfortable hotel in a great location with friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Sir Albert at the beginning of January. Having booked through a third party we did get a reduction on the normal room rate which made the value for money exceptional. The room was lovely (a little dusty, no full carpet so it shows) on the second floor with a view over the canal. The bed was big and comfy with plenty of big fluffy pillows. The room was clean and was made up nicely each day. We ate breakfast in local cafés so didn't try it at the hotel as it was a bit pricey although sounds delicious. The restaurant was having its annual clean on the day we planned to eat there, but we had a drink and the bar staff were very friendly and offered us restaurant suggestions.
Reception staff were very friendly, giving personal recommendations and checking we knew our way around - we have several maps now! Hired the bikes for a day which was great.
This was our third visit to Amsterdam and know this area quite well and the tram network. It's not bang in the centre but near enough for us & right by the museums and great restaurants.
We rarely go to the same place twice, but I think we'll be seeing Sir Albert again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    124
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
221
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Walking around Amsterdam in a meandering morning, we stumbled upon the Sir Albert and decided to do the breakfast. It's a bit pricey but the buffet was excellent and they will make you specially prepared breakfasts to order. If you are looking for a hotel with a great breakfast & it's free for guests, go for it. The breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We got a good last minute deal directly with the hotel.
The location is ok, easy to reach by car and the valet parking is not overrated.

The hotel is very stylish but we felt cramped. No real space to rest as the lounge was always full during the weekend we were there.

We booked a deluxe room and asked for a room on the higher floor at the time of booking. But we got a very small and noisy room on the ground floor. We had the sensation of staying in a standard room but being charged for a deluxe room.

The bed was comfy but we didn't appreciate the overall design of the room - very dark, especially on the ground floor where you have to keep the curtains closed. The room wasn't perfectly clean (stains in the toilet,...). The open bathroom isn't very functionnal either.

Our main complaint is about the staff. They're very stylish but not very helpful. No tip were given about the city and the service was really slow. Some of them (at the reception and the restaurant) were particularly unfriendly. Maybe it was because the hotel was full while we were there but we felt that the staff was not at the level of a four star hotel.

Our favorite part of the hotel was the food, very nice with a japanese touch. The breakfast was included in our room rate and we really enjoyed it.

There are many good options in Amsterdam, so go only in this hotel if you get a good deal.

Room Tip: we had the impression that the deluxe rooms didn't worth the extra. Go for the suite instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just returned from a holiday trip to Amsterdam with my husband. We booked the Sir Albert for three nights over Christmas and from beginning to end, our stay was exceptional.

The Sir Albert is modern and stylish with a hint of luxury. The check-in staff were most lovely and had us in our room quickly as we were quite jet-lagged from a cross-Atlantic flight. The room was very nicely decorated and the bed was heavenly (my husband did not want to get out of it!).

The study in the lobby of the hotel was a great place to relax, plan our day and have a cappuccino or glass of wine. There is an iPad for guests to book museum tickets on or just surf the web.

We had cocktails one evening at the bar in Izakaya, the Japanese restaurant in the hotel, and the servers were very accommodating and pleasant to speak with.

The hotel is also in a great area with lots of bars and restaurants in close walking distance.

I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again; it made our stay in Amsterdam that much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from spending Christmas at the Sir Albert, Amsterdam. We were in the city to meet up with our daughter who is working there at the moment. We had a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the fluent English speaking staff who gave us a better room than we had booked overlooking the front of the hotel. The room was luxurious, immaculate, cosy and the bed to die for! I would like to thank the Sir Albert for a wonderful Christmas and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sir Albert with my wife for a long weekend. In light of the high price, I was expecting nothing short of excellent - yet this stay turned out to become a lesson that unfortunately price (and even reviews) are no guarantee for quality, at all!

Upon our arrival we had to wait for the service personell for what turned out to be half an hour. The person behind the reception, sitting there the whole time, seemed to be little bothered by our presence and made no attempt to help us out whatseover. Instead, she preferred talking to her Dutch friends. Next we did not get the room that we had booked (the "Sir Albert Suite"), but instead were moved into a much smaller room (the "Sir Boutique"). The room was rather small for the price category we had paid - but, whilst they charged us the appropriate rate after all - they did not make any attempt to put us on an equivalent room to our booking, nor explain to us the reason why our initially booked room was now not available.

The rest of the weekend was only lightened up by our trips through sunny Amsterdam. Service remained the main issue, the person at the reception continued to ignore us or was rude (also hardly spoke English! which was surprising given that the rest of the people we met in Amsterdam were very fluent).

Overall, I can only recommend not to choose the Sir Albert! There are plenty of nice "boutique" and bigger hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed at the Sir Albert hotel last week from Monday to Friday with my boyfriend, in the standerd Sir boutique room. As soon as i walked into the hotel for the first time i was amazed, the staff were very helpful and welcoming. There was a fresh vanilla scent lingering in the hotel that remained throughout our whole stay. When we checked in we were given useful information about the local facilities as well as a complimentary city map, with drinks on offer at reception. The hotel was a short walk (approx 15min-20min) to the centre aswell as having a tram stop in the same road. After checking in we were assisted to our room by a host who helped us with our bags. The gentleman was very professional and helpful. The design of the hotel was absolutly mind blowing. The coffee machine was an impressive facility however we were only given two capsules of espresso coffee and standard milk rather than the hot milk capsules most coffee machines provide. The docking station was a lovely bonus as we also found that it took AUX for our Iphone 5 aswell as having Iphone 3G/4/4S pins. The bed was by far the best bed i have ever slept in, luxury soft sheets. TV was brilliant as it provided a range of UK channels. The 'Do not disturb sign' was exceptional, rather than your standard door sign you would put outside your room, the Sir Albert provided you with a touch screen sign where you simply touch to turn on and off. This was visibly seen by house maids from the outside of the room along with the electric touch screen door bell. Shower was spacious and luxury with a waterfall head and the option of a handheld head also. The room provided you with wireless light control offering you several options of lighting including dim and bright settings with use of several lights throughout the room. The safe was brilliant, you simply made your own personal 4 digit code and could reset it at any time. It was these chic, modern, attention to detail things which made the Sir Albert so spectacular.

The absoluty only thing i could possibly complain about was the house maid service. One morning my boyfriend and i were sat in bed and one of the ladies opened a side door which led to another room without even knocking. If someone would of been getting dressed this could have been a lot more awkward than it already was. Due to this we were slighly paranoid it would happen again. We went out that day and came back to both side doors open, giving access to the room next door which was luckily unvacent at the time however this gave a massive opportunity for theft of valuables if unnoticed. Our room was not cleaned once, even after asking the house maid personally she went into our room and just made our bed rather than changing our sheets or towels. When you stay in a hotel for 4 days this is defiantly a major nessicity. If it wasn't for this, i would of happily of give the Sir Albert a 5* as it was by far the best hotel i had ever stayed in, just a massive shame the maid service let the hotel down.

I would advise and recommend anyone to stay here whilst visiting Amsterdam the hotel is spectacular and will make anyone feel like royalty!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.