We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had spent many hours on the internet looking at reviews of hotels in Amsterdam, just wanting to get the right one. I found Sir Albert by chance and what a gem! It was fantastic,so easy to get to just hop on the 16 tram and get of at stop 6 and a 2 min walk. We were welcomed with a glass of prosecco and showed to our room. It was very comfortable and the bedding the best I have slept in. The area around is great lots of small restaurants and a cafe or two. It is only a 10 min walk to all the museums and shops. If you want to head to the centre another 10/15min walk but there is so much around the hotel we really only visited Dam square once.
If you are looking for some advice,book Sir Albert and hopefully you will have a fantastic stay in Amsterdam as we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    191
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
343
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Sir Albert is by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Amsterdam. I was there for two nights in October. The hotel is in De Pijp, just on the edge of the Museum district and out of the craziness of the centre, and it is a great location to explore one of the "hippest" neighbourhoods in the city. Rooms are minimalist, stylish, airy and have some great finishing touches - Nespresso machine, comfy bed, and a personal message from Sir Albert! Cosy lounge, free wifi and very helpful staff. Plus an excellent restaurant on the ground floor - Izakaya.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Initially I booked this hotel for the wrong weekend (complete mistake on my behalf) however the hotel was fully booked for the weekend I actually had intended to travel. I had booked through Travel Republic who were of very little help in trying to change the booking (I realised I made the mistake after booking at 10pm and called first thing the next morning to be told that it was non-refundable etc). Thankfully Lea "the lady" at the hotel was able to change our room (we upgraded, paid a fee and were happy to do so) so thank you Lea for your assistance as it was very frustrating dealing with Travel Republic.

The hotel itself is beautiful, very well designed with minimalist interior, great shower, comfortable beds, Ipod docks, WiFi, TV etc. The Staff were very professional and very friendly, thanks also to Arthuro for his restaurant suggestions (Indonesian food being his speciality).

The location of this hotel in the Pijp is perfect, not to far from the Museums (check out the new Rijksmuseum), Heiniken Brewery, The market on a saturday is worth checking out if you fancy some street food, but it is a real market (i.e. washing powder/cheeses/meats/bread). The area itself is pretty cool (a bit hipstery), lots of design shops, nice little bars (havanas / Kingfisher bar) and restaurants. Also Little Collin (cafe) is a great spot for breakfast. It is a nice stroll from this area into the red light district (about 20/25 mins). There is also a nice bar/cafe on the corner (looking at the canal) directly opposite the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved staying in the funky "Pijp" neighbourhood--great place to cap off a day of exploring. We had our pick of traditional and international bistros (Moroccan, Indonesian, Surinamese for starters) and then the plethora of great drinking holes on nearby Eerste van der Helststraat (off of the legendary market street of Albert Cuypmarkt. The room was stylish and very comfortable and quiet (deluxe King) with nice touches (lots of counter space in the bathroom, selection of books in the room.) Easy to downtown by tram (or a 20-minute walk past scenic canals) I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for cool convenience. And, no tourist hordes invade the area at night. Very welcoming staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a stylish and superb hotel in De Pijp. Staff are friendly and helpful and happily directed us to a number of local bars, restaurants, markets etc. in this less-obvious, but interesting suburb.

The room provided the most comfortable bed I've slept in, I would have easily stayed beyond the generous noon check-out time. It was well-equipped with an espresso maker and rain-forest shower. We had a lovely view onto the adjacent canal, towards Rijksmuseum.

One minor issue would be the practicality of the rooms, nowhere for wet towels etc. and the location. However, while the hotel is a significant walk from Central Station, it's very close to Museumplein and some quieter but smart suburbs, away from the usual tourist trail that are worth exploring. If you don't fancy walking, take the tram or better still, stay in the room and enjoy the marshmallow bedding!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friendly, solution-minded staff, champagne at check-in.
Its a twenty minute walk along the canal to the convention center. There are great restaurants within minutes. Free WiFi. Spacious, modern rooms, espresso machine in room.

Room Tip: Not much of a view, so the courtyard rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Got a good deal on this Hotel and it was just what we needed for a weekend break away. The Hotel is located a fair way from central station in the Museum district but just hop on a tram for 10 mins and then it is a 2 min walk. Rooms are modern and compact with nice linen and furniture. We didn't eat in the restaurant but we would highly recommend Visaandeschelde which is about a 10 minute walk and the seafood is devine. If you want a modern Hotel away from the centre but within easy reach of Museum and parks then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#57 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that's distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam's art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you're a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.