We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sir Albert, it was a pleasure meeting you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€109 (EUR)
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sir Albert, it was a pleasure meeting you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our stay at the Sir Albert Hotel in Amsterdam was 'the perfect stay'. Every detail has been thought through. From the welcome at the reception, to the authentic telephones and box of Sir's favourites in the room. The Design of the hotel and rooms are classy but warm & 'homy' ; a feature missed in most hotels.
Staff was extremely polite and hospitality without seeming forced. Location is amazing and the breakfast, tasty, healthy, fresh and offers some nice twists on the 'regular' hotel breakfast.

All in all, a true pleasure staying at Sir Albert!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    124
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
220
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was no doubt very stylish but the functionality was put behind design.
The room was ridiculously small, hardly any space to walk around the bed.
The wash basin is in the corner of the room, like in a cheap youth hostel.
Using the reading light was out of the question as it was placed above the bed and even using one of it would burn out the retina of the other.
There were cleanliness issues too (dust covered even visible places).
During the daily "cleaning" nothing was replaced (no coffee, sugar, toiletries) and when asked, the staff wasn't really friendly.
Charging the amount of a so-called "superior" room was far too much concerning what it actually offered.
The value was not in line with the price of it.
Well located though...

Room Tip: No idea of other rooms, but this one on the first floor was tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

When we arrived, the first impression was fine, good location, hotel looks fresh and clean but...
Ours room was on the top flour with open washroom. I have to say room was far too small for two people. Seems they have divided one room space into the toilet, shower cabin and living room with washroom together.
All our stay we always had some problems. Room never was cleaned completely. If you have towels then you don’t have soap or shower gel. If you have shower gel – you don’t have towels. Toilet as well never was cleaned (really disgusting with faeces from previous resident).
Room have coffee machine but you always had to ask for complimentary coffee. If they bring coffee capsules in your room, would be just only one for one person but not for two. How about second resident?
Breakfast was very basic with very limited choice. Every time plates with food were empty. Again and again you always had to ask for cheese, fruits, ham slices, milk or yoghurts.
Every day was the same if you have one you don’t have another or you don’t have nothing at all.

Next time on my business tripe I don’t stay here again. Better old certified friends with well known names but not new ones. Don’t like challenges. So new hotel names with many starts does not mean quality at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam and the Sir Albert Hotel is definitely one of the best. It was without a doubt the nicest bed I've ever slept on in my life. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only problem I has was I couldn't make the lobby computer work, no matter how many passwords they gave me.

I would expect rooms of this quality to cost much more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived early , vanilla candles in the entrance , the staff where so helpful , made us a coffee, whilst we waited to get a room , early morning and they where do helpful. Fresh new approach to hoteliers , really good feel about the place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here during a business trip in August. The location was the draw for me-- walking distance to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, and near De Pipj neighborhood, which I wanted to check out. It's also located approx. a 35euro taxi ride from the airport. The hotel aesthetic is sleek and modern. The color scheme (not to mention the halls to the rooms) are a bit dark, and overall the hotel struck me as masculine. I didn't get to try Izakaya- the restaurant attached to it. I think I will next time, but maybe when I stay somewhere else- somewhere brighter and airier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A Time Out Secret Escapes 3 night break for my partner and I. First impressions: everything about Sir Albert suggests that their primary target market is upwardly mobile single businessmen under 35. Location: the hotel is in the outer district close to the Heineken Experience and not too far from the Reijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum but close to a tram stop. I suspect that most guests get a taxi to and from the airport or drive. We were somewhat surprised to find a very large brothel right next door especially considering how far it is from the red light district. Accommodation: white minimalist bedroom with brown and black leather/faux animal skin furnishings, books which include Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and The Three Muskateers, and gadgets galore (including a wall mounted plasma TV screen) and allegedly the 'best burgers in Amsterdam' which can be ordered on room service and a large very comfortable double bed and huge pillows which were great support for sitting up in bed but far too springy to sleep on. Large bath big enough for two and an oversized shower head which meant water went absolutely everywhere - a clear case of design over substance! Jumped out of my skin when I was woken at 7.30 am one morning to the sound of a Dutch DJ. A previous guest had set the alarm clock - a plain black designer cube on a chrome stand with remote control and no instructions as to how to turn it off. Another of the many gadgets! Restaurant: The Japanese restaurant and bar was packed every night with trendy young couples and had a great buzz so is clearly very popular. As breakfast alone was 25 Euros we didn't eat or drink there so I can't comment on the food. We found a lovely cafe near the street market called Bagels and Beans where we had freshly squeezed juice, a smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel and coffee for half the price. Reception: very small for a 90 room hotel. We had the misfortune to arrive at checking out time and had to queue standing up for a good 20 mins surrounded by suitcases before being able to check in as there were only two receptionists. Although polite and helpful our 3 night package was meant to have included a welcome drink, entry to the Rijksmuseum, a canal cruise and a day's bike hire - none of which we were given until we asked for them the next day. The Lounge: although again quite small it had some beautiful art books on display and we had fun playing noughts and crosses in the evening before retiring. Service: the basin tap in our room only ran hot but a member of staff came up immediately and managed to fix the problem fairly quickly which was impressive. We had to book the bikes a day in advance but when we went to pick them up they didn't have any available. They suggested we went to the bike hire place up the street and they would reimburse us but they didn't have any left either. They then suggested another bike hire place near the Rijksmuseum but by then we decided it was all too much bother. They were very apologetic though and did their best to help us. As for the duty managers/staff - of the six we had dealings with five were absolutely charming, polite and exceptionally helpful. There was just one who was slightly older than the rest who bordered on being rude and slightly aggressive. I got the impression that he was more than just a manager and looked down on us because we weren't full paying guests and not likely to be spending any money in the hotel. But if the hotel wants good reviews in order to attract full paying guests in the future and takes the decision to offer special rates to do so then it is important that they treat all their guests equally. Cleanliness: whilst our bedroom and the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean we did have a rather absent minded cleaner. When we checked in we found a large hair clip on the bedroom floor and the next day she left her cleaning cloths behind. Then the glass bottle provided by the hotel for guests to fill the kettle with kept disappearing and in the end the receptionist suggested that we hide it when we went out for the day! Would I stay there again: this is a good hotel but has the potential to be a great hotel if they paid greater attention to the customer experience rather than how everything looks. Given the price we paid it was good value for money. I wouldn't have been as impressed if I had paid the full rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.