We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheeky gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, Amsterdam 1072 CT, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A cheeky gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had originally booked four nights here - Saturday through Tuesday - but was informed late on Thursday that due to a "technical error" they had overbooked and would put me up in their "brother hotel", the Park Hotel about a 5 minute walk away.

When I arrived on the Sunday they were very apologetic and upgraded my room to a suite, although I didn't know what to expect with what I originally booked so I can't compare if what I ended up was better than what I originally wanted.

Not to worry, as the room itself was great: my windows opened up to the canal and the bar downstairs, which attracted a very upmarket and trendy Amsterdam crowd. I headed down for a few drinks on the Sunday night and really enjoyed myself, although it was understandably very pricy.

The room had a very spacious and comfy bed (with many a pillow!), gorgeous bathroom and outstanding bathtub.

Room service was outstanding: a delicious range of burgers and steaks from The Butcher, a local burger joint voted best in Amsterdam. Truly AMAZING burgers. Pricy but well worth it if you want to order in, which I did three times while working from my room.

Service overall was quite superb and very generously informative on everything Amsterdam.

My only major gripe is the location: while it's close to the trendy De Pijp area, Albert Cuypstraat is a very ugly street -- not a tree in sight -- while the walk to the city center is about 2.5km, so a tram ride is a formality.

Also, while not an issue for me, the De Pijp red light district literally starts right next to the hotel, step out and walk along the hotel and you'll be greeted by working ladies. It's not an issue really as the area is safe and generally very quiet, but this may be confronting for families, although I assume they aren't the core demographic the hotel is trying to appeal to (the young, professional and wealthy appear to flock to this hotel).

Recommended for: Couples, professionals and people looking for trendy accommodation near Museumplein.

Not recommended for: party seekers and families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    58
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
99
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

this is a great hotel with a funky vibe with a piece of art in the lobby thats bizarre and in fitting with Amsterdam. the only gripe would be its a little too far from the center for walking after a night out but close to museums and tram stops right outside,the rooms are lovely but on the small side and id expect a little more for my money in the suite rooms

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My birthday treat from wife. I can sort of see the attraction, all very designer and trendy with lovely staff and but has all the ambience of what I imagine would be an up market knocking shop (evidenced by the inclusion of a vibrator in the (mysteriously unpriced) goodies box by the bedside. From the look of the crowd inside and outside the bar on the Saturday, it seems to attract the Amsterdam version of the Footballers' Wives crowd (average heel height a good few inches higher that anywhere else in the area plus the need for bouncers); also rather surprised to discover the neighbouring row of brothels (miles away from the Red Light area).

Frankly, I found the place a bit seedy. But then I may not be the target audience.

Plus points - very good shower, comfy mattress, aforementioned lovely staff, obviously a nice place to "get it together".

Downsides - only one decent teabag! Stupidly thick pillows, inability of wifi to pick up Cricinfo, glass loo door somewhat inadequate as a sound barrier!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked my trip to Amsterdam rather last minute and as a result had to cough up a fair bit for a peak season weekend break. However, on arriving at the hotel I was so happy that I'd spent a bit more to ensure a decent respite.The welcome we received was perfect, with all staff being incredibly helpful, even offering to book tickets on our behalf to nearby attractions. The warm welcome included a glass of prosecco, perfect after a long journey. To add to this we were informed that we'd been upgraded from a deluxe room to one of the suites- more good news!

The suite was lovely, with all the fixtures and fittings done to a high standard, including a bath big enough for two and a rainfall shower. The suite did have a slightly odd layout, it felt a bit like a bathroom with a bed in it. I believe the odd layout may have been down to restricted space and can imagine that the 'sir deluxe' and 'sir boutique' rooms are quite tight for space considering the size of the suite. Still- the size of the rooms would not put me off booking with Sir Albert again. All the personal touches really made the costs worth it. It was lovely entering the room and seeing fresh flowers, a personalized welcome note on the television screen and jazz music playing on the stereo.

The breakfast was the only area I would say the hotel let itself down. 25 euros really is pushing it. We opted for individual breakfast options instead. I had the eggs benedict with salmon, while my partner opted for the full English. They were both ok, far from exceptional- a disappointment considering the standard I had come to expect from the hotel.

I look forward to staying at this hotel again, I think it's a particularly good choice for young couples.

Room Tip: If possible, pay more to get a good sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned back to the UK after a three night stay at the Sir Albert. Staff were all very helpful and friendly and nothing too much trouble.
Rooms are very well designed. The bed was exceptionally comfy with pillows to sink into.
We noticed other people had commented on the cost of the breakfast 25 euros p.p. We didn't eat breakfast, as wanted a lighter option. Would be great if they introduced this.
We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in a lovely location in an interesting part of the city away from the main busy tourist areas but a short walk from the museum area and a very pleasant 20 min walk into city centre. Great being near to an interesting market with some nice bars and cafes. Very helpful and friendly staff, highest quality modern hotel I have been in for some time. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Smart and trendy, most comfortable beds, modern plumbing, attentive staff and helpful advice on the city. Good for local cafes, and the hotel lent us their bicycles to explore. A short walk from Museums, Definition of boutique is dark corridors and no carpet, but robes, slippers, nice toiletries and fancy espresso machine thrown in.

Room Tip: You could hear the trams at the front, maybe choose the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, Amsterdam 1072 CT, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Escapio, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.