We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Smart and trendy, most comfortable beds, modern plumbing, attentive staff and helpful advice on the city. Good for local cafes, and the hotel lent us their bicycles to explore. A short walk from Museums, Definition of boutique is dark corridors and no carpet, but robes, slippers, nice toiletries and fancy espresso machine thrown in.

Room Tip: You could hear the trams at the front, maybe choose the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    82
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
153
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Essex
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is certainly quite different from the standard city hotel with an unusual bedroom layout which includes the wash basin adjacent to the bed. Like most other reviewers I have to agree the bed and pillows are superb, and was pleased our well equipped room included an expresso machine as well as a kettle. I cannot say I warmed to the rather morbid colour scheme and lack of effective lighting in the bedroom.
The location is excellent, being on two tram routes, away from the central tourist zone and close to the museum quarter and Albert Cuypstraat Market (off which on Van der Helstraat are several good cafes for breakfast or lunch).
You can rent bikes at Halfords just along the street for 10 euros a day - a must for getting about in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a flights / hotel package offered by Secret Escapes and from our first contact with them by email prior to arrival the hotel staff came over as welcoming and accommodating.

There was no problem dropping off our bags early morning, which meant that we could explore Amsterdam without hauling luggage about before the room was ready at 14:00. Sir Albert is on two direct tram routes from the central station, #'s 16 & 24. If arriving by tram walk in the direction of the departing tram, not back into the Albert Cuyp market, and the hotel is on the left before the canal.

The room itself was very comfortable, air conditioned, equipped with a wide screen TV and Bluetooth radio, a safe, ironing and coffee making facilities. Although Albert Cuyp market is a major tourist destination, being at the far end of the street means that the majority do not venture down as far as the hotel despite the “coffeeshop” opposite. The location was very quiet; there are no churches with their bells pealing every hour and the neighbourhood felt safe.

We were there for 3 nights (arrived Saturday, departed Tuesday) and we didn’t have breakfast at the hotel as the local bakeries and patisseries were too inviting, or try the restaurant but it appeared to be very busy each evening.

The hotel is located on the western edge of De Pijp, within easy walking distance of the Rijksmuseum, van Gogh exhibition and Cafe Loetje (go there if you love a good steak). Dam Square is about 10 minutes by tram and it took us about 20 minutes to get to Anne Frank house.

Room Tip: There was no road noise in our room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Amazing hotel! Clean, stylish and comfortable - the bed was fantastic...so comfortable!!!! It was a great stay and I would recommend it to anyone. So easy to get to from the city centre and the staff were great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My fiancee booked for us to spend two nights at The Sir Albert Hotel for my birthday. What a great hotel she picked. The hotel was in a great location on Albert Cuypstraat between Amsterdams famous market and the museum area. The hotel only opened in January and is absolutely amazing inside with no expense spared on its contemporary decor. The rooms are compact as is most of Amsterdam but extremely elegant.

We got a great deal through last minute which a fraction of the price that we would have paid had we gone through the hotel directly.

I would defiantley recommend this hotel as a couple stay, business or friends away on a trip. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great little hotel, I think it's a fairly new opening so I'd imagine it will rise up the rankings on Tripadvisor fairly quickly!
Both my partner and I work for a 5* boutique hotel group in London and so have high standards but from the minute we arrived the hospitality at Sir Albert was superb. I was especially impressed by the check-in process, speaking with my work hat on it was genuinely faultless! A lovely lady named Alex offered us a seat, a glass of bubbly and informed us of our room upgrade whilst we did the paperwork, she instantly recognised that having visited Amsterdam before we would be interested in seeing the more local, quirky side of the city away from the big tourist draws she gave us some great recommendations before showing us up to the bedroom herself.
I loved the decor in the room, especially the cow-hide desk chair and the matte black floorboards, beautiful.
The area is great, a short walk from Museumplein and 5-10 mins on the tram to downtown, although we walked everyday (about 25mins) the Albert Cuyp market is nearby, we found it more interesting as a people-watching destination rather than for shopping (try the Nine Streets for beautiful shops!) there are some good casual restaurants nearby. We tended to buy fruit and pastries from the local shops rather than opting for breakfast at the hotel. We also had a late dinner at The Butchers burger place down the road, burgers were amazing, the also deliver to the hotel. There is a bar through a secret door at the back of the restaurant which we managed to blag our way into after a tip off from a local but despite it being "exclusive" and needing a password to get in, we weren't overly impressed so we left fairly quickly.
Back to the hotel! We really did have a lovely stay, so thank you so much to all involved at Sir Albert, you have a fantastic product and I wish you all the best. You deserve to be known as one of THE places to stay in Amsterdam. I only hope you don't become so popular that we can't get a room when we next visit!
Oh, there are also bikes available to rent from the hotel, unfortunately we didn't discover this untill our last day and they were all in use so make sure you book in advance!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a deluxe, I'd imagine that the standard (boutique) rooms are fairly small so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very comfortable hotel. The rooms are small with the quirky arrangement of having the wash basin in the main room. The monsoon shower is good and the beds are superb. We did not eat in the hotel. The main restaurant is Japanese which is not for us. However, we did note that it was always extremely busy so it must be good. There are a number of local restaurants and a walk towards the museums gives access to masses more. We liked De Knijp in the museum district and Mashua, a slightly longer walk towards the centre. For breakfast we walked down the road into the market, took the first right in the market, and there were a number of coffee bars and cafes.

The hotel is located slightly away from the main town but it is only a 20-25 minute walk to the centre and, for non-walkers, two tramlines go right past the hotel. Tickets can be bought on the tram. The museum district is a 10 minute stroll. We would recommend the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. Both sell e-tickets which mean you avoid the main queue. We would also recommend the canal boat trips from up by the Heineken museum. They give you a good introduction to the city and you can then plan where you want to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.