We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Lovely City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Lovely City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My fiancee booked for us to spend two nights at The Sir Albert Hotel for my birthday. What a great hotel she picked. The hotel was in a great location on Albert Cuypstraat between Amsterdams famous market and the museum area. The hotel only opened in January and is absolutely amazing inside with no expense spared on its contemporary decor. The rooms are compact as is most of Amsterdam but extremely elegant.

We got a great deal through last minute which a fraction of the price that we would have paid had we gone through the hotel directly.

I would defiantley recommend this hotel as a couple stay, business or friends away on a trip. Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    202
    44
    9
    3
See reviews for
39
374
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great little hotel, I think it's a fairly new opening so I'd imagine it will rise up the rankings on Tripadvisor fairly quickly!
Both my partner and I work for a 5* boutique hotel group in London and so have high standards but from the minute we arrived the hospitality at Sir Albert was superb. I was especially impressed by the check-in process, speaking with my work hat on it was genuinely faultless! A lovely lady named Alex offered us a seat, a glass of bubbly and informed us of our room upgrade whilst we did the paperwork, she instantly recognised that having visited Amsterdam before we would be interested in seeing the more local, quirky side of the city away from the big tourist draws she gave us some great recommendations before showing us up to the bedroom herself.
I loved the decor in the room, especially the cow-hide desk chair and the matte black floorboards, beautiful.
The area is great, a short walk from Museumplein and 5-10 mins on the tram to downtown, although we walked everyday (about 25mins) the Albert Cuyp market is nearby, we found it more interesting as a people-watching destination rather than for shopping (try the Nine Streets for beautiful shops!) there are some good casual restaurants nearby. We tended to buy fruit and pastries from the local shops rather than opting for breakfast at the hotel. We also had a late dinner at The Butchers burger place down the road, burgers were amazing, the also deliver to the hotel. There is a bar through a secret door at the back of the restaurant which we managed to blag our way into after a tip off from a local but despite it being "exclusive" and needing a password to get in, we weren't overly impressed so we left fairly quickly.
Back to the hotel! We really did have a lovely stay, so thank you so much to all involved at Sir Albert, you have a fantastic product and I wish you all the best. You deserve to be known as one of THE places to stay in Amsterdam. I only hope you don't become so popular that we can't get a room when we next visit!
Oh, there are also bikes available to rent from the hotel, unfortunately we didn't discover this untill our last day and they were all in use so make sure you book in advance!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a deluxe, I'd imagine that the standard (boutique) rooms are fairly small so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very comfortable hotel. The rooms are small with the quirky arrangement of having the wash basin in the main room. The monsoon shower is good and the beds are superb. We did not eat in the hotel. The main restaurant is Japanese which is not for us. However, we did note that it was always extremely busy so it must be good. There are a number of local restaurants and a walk towards the museums gives access to masses more. We liked De Knijp in the museum district and Mashua, a slightly longer walk towards the centre. For breakfast we walked down the road into the market, took the first right in the market, and there were a number of coffee bars and cafes.

The hotel is located slightly away from the main town but it is only a 20-25 minute walk to the centre and, for non-walkers, two tramlines go right past the hotel. Tickets can be bought on the tram. The museum district is a 10 minute stroll. We would recommend the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. Both sell e-tickets which mean you avoid the main queue. We would also recommend the canal boat trips from up by the Heineken museum. They give you a good introduction to the city and you can then plan where you want to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prato
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I was in A'dam with my boyfriend for 5 days and we stayed at Sir Albert. It is not inly the perfect place in terms of fornitures and atmosphere but also the location is perfect. It is in one of the most vibrant neightbourg: The Pjpe. 5 minutes walks to Museum district, 5 minutes walk to
Centre, it is very easy to reach and everyplace is easy reachable.
If i'll back to A'dam I'll be at Sir Albert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very good hotel. Smallish room but very luxurious. Lovely bed. Good coffee. Bring your own tea bags if English or Irish. Near all the best places. Buy a ticket for the trams as you will need it to get around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel! The nice staff, the modern interior design, the comfy bed, the service, the location - all of it! One of my best hotel experiences ever. Make sure to make it to the lovely saturday market close by and have some drinks at the hotel bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for work over a 2 night stay. Arrived late and was greeted by an offer of Champagne or rose water at reception. I thought that was a nice touch and was told by my colleagues that they all got offered drinks at check in also. Receptionist walked up with me to take me through the room amenities. Rooms was not massive but well appointed. Bed was really comfortable. Ordered room service and was also very good. Would happily stay here again for work or pleasure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#61 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that's distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam's art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city's most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you're a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat. Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.