We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkle inside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€109 (EUR)
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sparkle inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

As the blurb says, this is a new hotel, situated in an old diamond factory. Sombre on the outside, but with a sparkle waiting when you enter. Certainly the staff are amongst the friendliest and most enthusiastic I have ever met.
As the stay was longer than the usual short weekend break, we were given an upgrade to a room with a bath, adding a touch of luxury. Requests for softer pillows and the like were swiftly met with a minimum of fuss or intrusion.
Yes, the room is not generous in size, but perfectly adequate, unless you plan to spend lots of time there (the relaxing lobby lounge is a far better place to while away the time). I note a comment about hangers; mine would be the overall lack of hooks (none in the bathroom), which is a common failing of 'boutique' hotels (design over functionallity). However, the manager commented that there were still minor items to be added and that this was one of them.
The bed was very comfortable; the room quiet; selection of tea & coffee excellent and the basket of nibbles and goodies to purchase was the most comprehensive and unusual I have ever come across (do have a look).
The location is perfect for walking to the Albert street market plus the main museums, and a short easy journey by tram to the central station and attractions. All in all, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    125
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
221
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Floridian in Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here for only 1 night when travelling for business. The room was a standard - rather small (but doesn't bother me at all); bed very comfortable, bathroom was nice size. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Complimentary champagne on arrival, courtesy taxi call and very good follow up on my laptop's Wi-Fi challenges were very appreciated!! Nice TV station selection as well as numerous movies. And... power outlets near the bed!! YEA!! Downsides:...

The hallways are painted a very dark brown and have very dark carpeting. The stark lights from ceiling just create glare! I didn't like this "ambience" at all. It felt like a horror movie.

The bathroom has a overhead waterfall showerhead which is almost always awesome!! but... I don't wash my hair every evening and so... no way to take a shower! The tub was a decent size so I just did that - but it took longer.

The food service staff was friendly but ineffectual. I had to repeat my order numerous times. As in - 5 or 6 times. When it arrived, the main course was wrong! (I ate it anyway and it was tasty) I specifically asked for salt. They brought me salt - but shaker was completely empty. They charged about 7 euros for 100 grams of homemade vanilla ice cream. It was good - but not that good. No breakfast room service was available. bummer.

I do prefer this hotel over other near-downtown locations. I would stay again and be a pain the bum when ordering dinner.

Room Tip: near the elevator to avoid the horror movie hallway! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Not try hard, the unique design touches and understated luxurious touches is a welcome breath in a world of so called boutique hotels. Cozy area near reception for aperitifs as well as the uber hip Izakaya den next door are great for both friends, couples and even solo travellers wanting to enjoy the hotel during days of rain and cold weather.
The beautiful staff are charming and willing to go the extra hand without being over bearing. The Illy machines in the room and the welcome Prosecco complete the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Top Hotel in a central location.
I can really recommend this hotel. Friendly service, free WiFi, comfortable lobby, modern interiors. The rooms could be bigger. Above all, I hope more hangers in the closet.;))

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

When my partner and I stayed for a long weekend at the Sir Albert, the hotel had only been open a few months, and two of the floors were still under construction. Despite this, the hotel was terrific! The staff were not just good at their jobs, they showed a genuine interest in their guests, and did everything possible to make us feel at home. The design is very high quality, with a few notes about the guestroom that could be a bit annoying. We were in a standard room, lovely and comfortable, but an unusual design of the toilet/sink/shower. The toilet and shower were in individual small cubicles, both comfortable, the shower with a very good rain shower fixture. The sink was in the guest room itself, which was a bit awkward. There are a few little annoyances - like the blue indicator light on the mirror that seems fine during the day, but is surprisingly bright in the room at night. All of the finishes are dark, including an all-black closet, with no light, which makes finding things a little difficult. Similarly, the corridors are lovely with very low and dramatic lighting, but makes it difficult to find the door lock for the swipe cards. The "do not disturb" electronic sign was difficult to understand, which led the staff knocking on our door several times. All of these issues were small annoyances, and shouldn't put anyone off staying at the hotel. It is an unusually good boutique hotel, and deserves praise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Spent 2 night recently in May and this is a lovely new hotel. It is not in the City Center but the tram station is right outside and takes only 10 minutes to the center, Dam Square. The hotel is 3 minutes walk to the famous Albert Cuypmarkt market. The rooms are modern and clean as it is a new hotel opened this year, 2013. Lovely lobby and great customer service. I will not hesitate in staying at this hotel again for my next visit in AMS.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Sir Albert Hotel and had a great time. The Hotel is very modern and trendy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Anything we asked for they were very happy to get. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. Our room was a deluxe one, very modern with a fabulous bed. The one thing we didn't really like was the fact that there was not a separate bathroom. While there was a separate toilet and shower the washbasin was in the bedroom. Although it was very trendy and looked well we would have preferred a separate bathroom. Other than that the hotel is fabulous and in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.