We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€109 (EUR)
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“May Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Sir Albert Hotel and had a great time. The Hotel is very modern and trendy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Anything we asked for they were very happy to get. The breakfasts in the morning were delicious. Our room was a deluxe one, very modern with a fabulous bed. The one thing we didn't really like was the fact that there was not a separate bathroom. While there was a separate toilet and shower the washbasin was in the bedroom. Although it was very trendy and looked well we would have preferred a separate bathroom. Other than that the hotel is fabulous and in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    124
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
220
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This new boutique hotel deserves 5 stars. We stayed here for my husband's birthday trip for 2 nights and had wonderful wonderful time.

The hotel is not in the centre of the city - which is perfect for us as we didn't want to stay near young travelers who are coming to the city to party. The area is a lot quieter than around Dam Sq area and actually have more nice bars, restaurants. So it's not for hen night groups but definitely recommend for couples who looks to have a romantic weekend.
Still the hotel is only 5 min away from the Sq on the tram.

We were so pleased to have the warm welcome from the hotel staff when we arrived.
They sat us down at the reception with welcome drinks and answered all questions we wanted to ask. You will never get this kind of welcoming from American style hotels.
The staff of this hotel are great. They are polite, friendly and helpful.
The room is great too. A lot bigger than usual boutique hotels'.
One thing though... all boutique hotels have this problem... the room can be dark and hard to put make-up on or shave so I will bring a mirror with a light next time lol

The hotel has a Japanese restaurant which seems always busy - unfortunately we didn't have a chance to try but looks very stylish. And surprisingly - although the restaurant was busy, we couldn't hear any noise from the room - which is amazing!

The hotel works so hard and deserve to have good reputation.
Hope it keeps up the great work till we visit again hopefully next year!

And lastly - the bed is so comfortable and good breakfast. Try their butter, it tasted sooo good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Sir Albert was not just good it was excellent. The staff were delightful and so helpful. It was seriously trendy and everything is brand new and very stylishly put together. Perfect for young couples it is in a trendy part of Amsterdam.
We stayed in the cheapest room which was good value for money, very comfortable and stylish. the shower is amazing but there was no bath which is a negative for bath lovers. Still you could not fault the room and the very comfy big bed.
The highlight of the hotel was the Izakaya fusion restaurant which was expensive at about £70 per head however the food was out of this world with delicious sushi/gyozas and amazing fresh warm madelines to finish.
What an amazing place - if you are wondering whether to book - book now!! Would def stay at the other Sir hotels when they open.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've been traveling with a friend to Amsterdam last weekend and decided we must stay in the newest boutique hotel in town, Sir Albert.
It was such a treat sitting in the lobby crowded by books having high tea and taking a look of all of Sir Albert's wonderful collections of antique stamps and pipes scattered around the reception room.
The location is right in the center of all that is cool, next to the market.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had a very nice stay at Sir Albert Hotel, I was realy treated like a Sir by the staff of the hotel!!

Very nice room, good breakfast with a seperate hot food menu, a very helpful staff that came with tips and recommendation for what to do in Amsterdam.

I did not eat in the Izakaya resturant, but it looked like it was a very popular reaturant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Brand new Sir Albert Hotel is the fab new hotel in town. A boutique property connected to the delish Asian fusion Izakaya restaurant. It's not cheap, but you feel like it's worth it for the level of luxuxry you experience. Without doubt the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. And if you can afford dinner in the restaurant, do go, it's quite an experience. Breakfast is included in the rate at the moment while they're opening which is just as well as it's not quite a full offering yet. Stayed while travelling on business but would definitely be back to stay with my other half!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Albert Cuypstraat 2-6, 1072 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Amsterdam, Sir Albert is a luxury boutique hotel embodying the modern aristocratic attitude. That means: living like the upper crust but having an approach that’s distinctly down to earth. In this luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam you get: the finest design and boutique accommodation within walking distance of Amsterdam’s art-packed Museumplein and the vibrant Leidseplein, plus attentive, friendly and faultless service at all times.Sir Albert lives in De Pijp, the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam. Home to literati, artists, fashion designers, entrepreneurs and the city’s most famous market, the Albert Cuyp. De Pijp is also close to the Royal Concertgebouw, for lovers of classical music. And for lovers of shopping, you’re a leisurely stroll from Van Baerlestraat and the legendary P.C. Hooftstraat.Sample Sir Albert firsthand by staying in one of his 90 guest rooms and suites, all created by international award-winning designers BK Architecture. This makes Sir Albert a unique luxury boutique hotel in Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.