We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #9 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Chic and friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel lobby has real wow factor! It's Modern, artistic and very cool. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful - from booking dinner reservations to giving directions - they couldn't be more nicer or more accommodating.

The room was bright, modern and artistic. The arrangement is a little unusual with the vanity and sink in the bedroom. The room was mid-sized. The bed is comfortable in the European way - good firm mattress. Lots of lighting ( though sometimes it feels like you need to be an electrician to make it turn on!).

And as with Andaz properties - the free mini bar and in room espresso machine is always a great perk!

Hotel is in an EXCELLENT location.

Great property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    72
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
212
28
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Andaz Amsterdam, tucked away on a major street in the heart of Amsterdam's canal district, offers tranquility in the midst of this bustling city. Esthetically pleasing, this hotel has well appointed modern/eclectically designed rooms. That efficient European design, no wasted space, clean lines was in effect and it worked. There was ample reading material in the room and the toiletry line that was chosen for the guests was absolutely wonderful.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and more than willing to assist with any requests that I made. They were helpful in making dining suggestions, places to see, the best way to travel around, logistics and the like.
This hotel is located near major points of interest, and a fun shopping area called The Nine Streets. I would definitely stay here again when I travel to Amsterdam and I will recommend it to my friends who are planning to travel to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room in that had to be accessed by walking through their garden. It wasn't a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

With a great location, and right in the heart of Amsterdam, this is like walking into another world.
The decor is unique, but exciting.
The layout initially unusual, but it just gets better and better the longer you are there.
The staff are amazing. Some of the best and most clued up hotel people I have ever met.
Every little bit of your stay has been thought about and refined to make it a great experience.

Well done Andaz. I will be back

Room Tip: they have rooms at the front that overlook the canal. Also rooms in a rear annex, that are very quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Spent two nights at the Andaz with friends. The location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. The staff are very helpful and the food is good. I agree with a previous reviewer that the bathroom layout is unconventional and not ideal for sharing a twin room with a friend rather than travelling as a couple. The decor is really modern and quirky - I loved it. They offer free tea, coffee and delicious cookies all day for residents in a designated lounge and between 5pm and 7pm white and red wine is available. In the bar at 6 they provide nibbles to accompany drinks but these are charged to residents if you haven't purchased a drink. Sort of understandable but frankly, in the scheme if things, a rounding error when guests spending so much on accommodation and food. Wouldn't recommend breakfast - Expensive and lots of lovely very inexpensive choices available in local cafés.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Loved, loved, loved our stay at the Andaz Amsterdam. The staff could not have been more welcoming. And our room was ready for early arrival at no cost. We were only able to get a king bed using points, but after one night we were thrilled to be moved to a room with two doubles overlooking a beautiful garden. Bowie, Fleur and Manuel were particularly helpful - I wish I knew some of the other names as well. The bar was comfortable and reasonable. And there was a free happy hour every day at 5:00PM in the Library. I now wish we had tried their restaurant; it look very nice. A wonderful 4 night stay; was sad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Bassee, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a business dinner organised at the Andaz Amsterdam Prisengracht during an international professionnal fair. This dinner was a success from A to Z. The location is perfect, the hotel is superb, the team is very professional and kind, the food is gorgeous... Do not hesitate if you have a business dinner to organise in Amsterdam this is a great spot.
Our dinner took place in the Studio 1 which is decorated in a modern and tasteful style.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

as far as atmosphere and outstanding service go, the andaz cannot be beat (1 note - there are no bellmen, so be prepared to bring your bags into the lobby - from there 1 of the front office staff will happily take your bags to your room) - all the staff members are personally invested in making sure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible and we'd give them 6 stars if possible
the location of course is perfect on 1 of the picturesque canals of beautiful amsterdam
our only complaint is that the bath facilities are 'modern' in the sense of providing no real separation between shower and bedroom - so after stepping out of the shower stall, you will be in full view of the bedroom - there is a completely ineffectual curtain between that area and the foyer, but that does nothing to provide privacy for the person drying off

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.