We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #7 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great service - perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Spent two nights at the Andaz with friends. The location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam. The staff are very helpful and the food is good. I agree with a previous reviewer that the bathroom layout is unconventional and not ideal for sharing a twin room with a friend rather than travelling as a couple. The decor is really modern and quirky - I loved it. They offer free tea, coffee and delicious cookies all day for residents in a designated lounge and between 5pm and 7pm white and red wine is available. In the bar at 6 they provide nibbles to accompany drinks but these are charged to residents if you haven't purchased a drink. Sort of understandable but frankly, in the scheme if things, a rounding error when guests spending so much on accommodation and food. Wouldn't recommend breakfast - Expensive and lots of lovely very inexpensive choices available in local cafés.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    121
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
86
405
45
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Loved, loved, loved our stay at the Andaz Amsterdam. The staff could not have been more welcoming. And our room was ready for early arrival at no cost. We were only able to get a king bed using points, but after one night we were thrilled to be moved to a room with two doubles overlooking a beautiful garden. Bowie, Fleur and Manuel were particularly helpful - I wish I knew some of the other names as well. The bar was comfortable and reasonable. And there was a free happy hour every day at 5:00PM in the Library. I now wish we had tried their restaurant; it look very nice. A wonderful 4 night stay; was sad to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Bassee, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We had a business dinner organised at the Andaz Amsterdam Prisengracht during an international professionnal fair. This dinner was a success from A to Z. The location is perfect, the hotel is superb, the team is very professional and kind, the food is gorgeous... Do not hesitate if you have a business dinner to organise in Amsterdam this is a great spot.
Our dinner took place in the Studio 1 which is decorated in a modern and tasteful style.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

as far as atmosphere and outstanding service go, the andaz cannot be beat (1 note - there are no bellmen, so be prepared to bring your bags into the lobby - from there 1 of the front office staff will happily take your bags to your room) - all the staff members are personally invested in making sure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible and we'd give them 6 stars if possible
the location of course is perfect on 1 of the picturesque canals of beautiful amsterdam
our only complaint is that the bath facilities are 'modern' in the sense of providing no real separation between shower and bedroom - so after stepping out of the shower stall, you will be in full view of the bedroom - there is a completely ineffectual curtain between that area and the foyer, but that does nothing to provide privacy for the person drying off

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Amsterdam and our experience was totally positive. Your hotel, suggested by our favorite travel agent Lucie of Voyages Vasco, punctuated our experience with the word excellent. The interior is a nice mix of vintage and very modern. The Andaz's location is superb, within walking distance of many attractions, but still quiet. It also gave us a front seat view of the fun & craziness of King's day on the Prinsengracht canal! The lobby, bar and library area are lovely and the round reception tables are both unique and efficient. Everytime we entered the hotel we were greated by very friendly and interested staff. Thanks also to Joyce for her excellent restaurant suggestions. If we ever return to Amsterdam, the Andaz will certainly be our first choice hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed over Easter in the recently opened Andaz Amsterdam. The hotel was perfect to a point. Great rooms, super friendly staff and wonderful food. The hotel rooms are uber modern and extremely pleasing to stay in.

The hotel Is also in a great location to explore the City.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.