We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #7 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“A superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at Andaz to celebrate our anniversary, even though we live in Amsterdam. We picked Andaz because of the amazing interiors designed by Marcel Wanders (a renowned Dutch contemporary designer) and for the great location. The compact rooms are very well laid out, and even though we stayed with our baby we were very satisfied with how easy the stay was. The in-room dining was great quality, and the service was excellent. Also worth mentioning is the breakfast/brunch: don't miss it! If the only complaint is that the Champagne delivered to our room was from the wrong house, I'd say it was a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    124
    24
    13
    9
See reviews for
87
412
45
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for two days in early February 2014. It is well located-somewhere mid between city center and Van Gogh museum. The interior is very unusual and devoted to the city and its history. Service, rooms, breakfast and everything is great. Some rooms may have windows facing inside atrium. I will definitely recommend to stay in the hotel while on a business trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Visited the hotel for a partner' birthday. Before I visited the hotel, I was in touch with them regarding arrangements and they were more than accommodating! We were welcomed and treated amazingly well from the start! Not to forget that the hotel is simply stunning! The staff are knowledgeable, warm, friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive. There was nothing too much for them,and they even put a birthday card and chocolates in the room for the birthday boy! We stayed in the Queen Garden view room which was beautifully decorated and had art books in it. The location of the hotel was fantastic for sightseeing too! Nothing to complain about apart from I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Pros:
1. Impressive decor - elegant and tranquil, without any over-exaggeration or unnecessary gimmicks
2. Courteous staff - a young and energetic team, pro-active and friendly, offered us early check-in with no question asked despite our fairly early arrival (before 8 am)
3. Central location - right next to the Prinsengracht canal and within walking distances to major attractions (5 minutes walk away from Anne Frank House), Leiden Square, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the little streets of the Jordaan District
4. Complimentary mini-bar - soft drinks and snacks generously refilled everday
5. Free in-room WiFi with strong signal

Cons:
1. Relatively tiny rooms (not uncommon by European/boutique hotel standard)
2. No parking facilities (again a common limitation in Amsterdam)

Will very likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for inter-connecting rooms at the corner of the corridor if you are travelling with kids - both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Even in a city as jam-packed with a lot of bars and bizarre museums as Amsterdam you find this place (bar) right in the heart of the city and it’s great, as simple as that, nice atmosphere, nice and stylish decoration and they serve really good cocktails. The staff are welcoming and attentive. Worth to give it a try!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Mind your choice! If you book a double room for 284€/night (which I would not call cheap for a stay not on the weekend), and even if you are a Gold Card Member of Hyatt Group, do not expect to get a room with a view outside and/or a window to open! You will get a room which is not big (that's ok) but with a "window" which is more or less a lookout into the lobby and on the elevators.
This is not acceptable at all and definitely the last time I will stay here. And I will definitely not recommend any of my friend and/or collegues to stay here. Just a bad decision.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Normally I am very skeptic when a hotel try to be "too modern" because normally the result is kitsch.
The Room I am in is fantastic...modern with a lot of nice touches that really bring comfort and improve my experience. The shower, the illumination, the room setup are great. ( ok,,,I admit that in the lobby some chairs look very kitschy......).
The registration with Jairo was very efficient and service at the bar was great.
So, localization, service and room amenities make the Andaz an exceptional place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear william w,
Thank you for choosing Andaz Amsterdam for your stay in the city. I am glad you like the hotel and its decor. I will pass on your compliments to the Host and the Bar employees.
We hope to see you soon again.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.