We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #9 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Visited the hotel for a partner' birthday. Before I visited the hotel, I was in touch with them regarding arrangements and they were more than accommodating! We were welcomed and treated amazingly well from the start! Not to forget that the hotel is simply stunning! The staff are knowledgeable, warm, friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive. There was nothing too much for them,and they even put a birthday card and chocolates in the room for the birthday boy! We stayed in the Queen Garden view room which was beautifully decorated and had art books in it. The location of the hotel was fantastic for sightseeing too! Nothing to complain about apart from I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    71
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
212
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Pros:
1. Impressive decor - elegant and tranquil, without any over-exaggeration or unnecessary gimmicks
2. Courteous staff - a young and energetic team, pro-active and friendly, offered us early check-in with no question asked despite our fairly early arrival (before 8 am)
3. Central location - right next to the Prinsengracht canal and within walking distances to major attractions (5 minutes walk away from Anne Frank House), Leiden Square, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and the little streets of the Jordaan District
4. Complimentary mini-bar - soft drinks and snacks generously refilled everday
5. Free in-room WiFi with strong signal

Cons:
1. Relatively tiny rooms (not uncommon by European/boutique hotel standard)
2. No parking facilities (again a common limitation in Amsterdam)

Will very likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for inter-connecting rooms at the corner of the corridor if you are travelling with kids - both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Even in a city as jam-packed with a lot of bars and bizarre museums as Amsterdam you find this place (bar) right in the heart of the city and it’s great, as simple as that, nice atmosphere, nice and stylish decoration and they serve really good cocktails. The staff are welcoming and attentive. Worth to give it a try!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Mind your choice! If you book a double room for 284€/night (which I would not call cheap for a stay not on the weekend), and even if you are a Gold Card Member of Hyatt Group, do not expect to get a room with a view outside and/or a window to open! You will get a room which is not big (that's ok) but with a "window" which is more or less a lookout into the lobby and on the elevators.
This is not acceptable at all and definitely the last time I will stay here. And I will definitely not recommend any of my friend and/or collegues to stay here. Just a bad decision.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Normally I am very skeptic when a hotel try to be "too modern" because normally the result is kitsch.
The Room I am in is fantastic...modern with a lot of nice touches that really bring comfort and improve my experience. The shower, the illumination, the room setup are great. ( ok,,,I admit that in the lobby some chairs look very kitschy......).
The registration with Jairo was very efficient and service at the bar was great.
So, localization, service and room amenities make the Andaz an exceptional place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear william w,
Thank you for choosing Andaz Amsterdam for your stay in the city. I am glad you like the hotel and its decor. I will pass on your compliments to the Host and the Bar employees.
We hope to see you soon again.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Two words, customer service. The staff at the Andaz were fantastic. From the minute I walked in the door following a sleepless trans-Atlantic flight, the staff set the tone for my stay by finding me a room to check in to at 8am so that I could get some much needed rest. They went above and beyond to assist me, including leveraging personal connections to find me sold out tickets to Museum Night.

Aside from the staff, the hotel itself was very nice. Stylishly designed, yet very comfortable. The hotel is also quite conveniently located, within walking distance from the museums, restaurants, and nightlife.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jordan S,
Thank you for your review of Andaz Amsterdam. I am very happy to hear that you liked the hotel and that our employees made your stay comfortable. They are the engine of the hotel and feedback like yours fules them to go further. Thank you!
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've come to expect a great experience at Andaz properties and the Amsterdam property did not disappoint. Service was terrific with the lobby manned by staff that function as front desk (without the desk) and concierge in a friendly and most helpful way. There is the "library" where you can help yourself to water, juice, tea, etc. and where complimentary wine is served in the evenings; a lobby cafe, and a restaurant that had an imaginative and well executed menu. The location is perfect for walking along the canals, walking to the museums, and strolling the "nine streets". It may be a bit "hip" for those who like more traditional hotels, but we found it comfortable and an overall enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal rooms with no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.