We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #5 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Normally I am very skeptic when a hotel try to be "too modern" because normally the result is kitsch.
The Room I am in is fantastic...modern with a lot of nice touches that really bring comfort and improve my experience. The shower, the illumination, the room setup are great. ( ok,,,I admit that in the lobby some chairs look very kitschy......).
The registration with Jairo was very efficient and service at the bar was great.
So, localization, service and room amenities make the Andaz an exceptional place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear william w,
Thank you for choosing Andaz Amsterdam for your stay in the city. I am glad you like the hotel and its decor. I will pass on your compliments to the Host and the Bar employees.
We hope to see you soon again.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    96
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
66
320
37
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Two words, customer service. The staff at the Andaz were fantastic. From the minute I walked in the door following a sleepless trans-Atlantic flight, the staff set the tone for my stay by finding me a room to check in to at 8am so that I could get some much needed rest. They went above and beyond to assist me, including leveraging personal connections to find me sold out tickets to Museum Night.

Aside from the staff, the hotel itself was very nice. Stylishly designed, yet very comfortable. The hotel is also quite conveniently located, within walking distance from the museums, restaurants, and nightlife.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Jordan S,
Thank you for your review of Andaz Amsterdam. I am very happy to hear that you liked the hotel and that our employees made your stay comfortable. They are the engine of the hotel and feedback like yours fules them to go further. Thank you!
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've come to expect a great experience at Andaz properties and the Amsterdam property did not disappoint. Service was terrific with the lobby manned by staff that function as front desk (without the desk) and concierge in a friendly and most helpful way. There is the "library" where you can help yourself to water, juice, tea, etc. and where complimentary wine is served in the evenings; a lobby cafe, and a restaurant that had an imaginative and well executed menu. The location is perfect for walking along the canals, walking to the museums, and strolling the "nine streets". It may be a bit "hip" for those who like more traditional hotels, but we found it comfortable and an overall enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the internal rooms with no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is totally unlike anything that you will ever see. Amsterdam is not a great city for hotels, but this one is way out of the ordinary. Forget the usual lobby with bellhops hovering around d for tips, forget the intimidating front desk with the superior attitude, this place is fun with a capital F.
The entrance looks like a criss between Alice in wonderland and a Chihuly showroom. You will be met by a friendly Netherlander with a iPad who will check you in tout de suite, no fuss, no attitude.
You ascend an elevator to your room, the elevator has a glass wall that slides up an outer wall of funky murals. Into the room, no bathroom as such.The shower is behind a frosted glass door, and the separate toilet (so civilized) is behind a regular door that looks like a cupboard but the interior is far from that. The entire interior is decorated in what I call "Late polystyrene Rococco", I cannot thing of any other name. It is a collection of fantasia that is at the same time novel and fun. The beds are marvellous, especially for someone like me with a bad back.
And the whole place is spotless.
The ground floor has no doors, each room is around a corner with more way out decoration than the other. Hard drinks are on the house each afternoon, coffee etc all day. And what coffee!! No hard boiled bitter stuff here. The restaurant has a team of chefs and you sit around. The chefs are having fun, really, chatting about what they are experimenting, tasting each others creation, it is a revelation. And the food is clean, beautifully cooked, artistically presented by the nicest folk and reasonably priced.
If this sounds all to strange and new to you, you are right, but if you are in Amsterdam, you simply must not miss it, so refreshingly different, so "Dutch".
Any downside?
Yes, my fourth trip to Amsterdam, and this was too short.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Gourmand34671,
Warm greetings from the Canals of Amsterdam. Thank you very much for your great and detailed review. Of course, we are very happy that you liked our hotel and your stay but most of all I want to thank you for taking the time to write constructive reviews.
I hope we can welcome you again maybe at your 5th trip to Amsterdam.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The Andaz may get across slightly over-designed, sometimes a bit kitsch, however, quality is very decent overall.
Let's start with the pros: location on Prinsengracht is perfect, most attractions walkable, staff is extremely friendly, even to Germans ;), beds are even more comfy than in most Hyatt Hotels and overall food quality is excellent, very good breakfast.
The cons: price - 450 Euros for a standard room, 65 Euros for parking are top dollars without getting the top value; housekeeping left to be desired, we had hairs of our predecessors in the toilet (rectified immediately and professionally though); water pressure in the shower non existent, no use of a rain shower without rain; despite pre agreed late c/o we got a pretty ambiguous comment from the check out staff for turning up 'late'.
All in, I recommend the hotel, would not mind going back, but certainly not at the rate we paid.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It was our first stay at an Andaz, and it lived up to its reputation as a boutique hotel. It is located right along one of the canals, and everything was great on check-in.

We used Hyatt points to upgrade to a suite, and the room, and more specifically, the bathroom was amazing. The hotel had free wine and juice every evening. At other times, it was definitely a spot to hangout, as the bar was almost always crowded.

The decor, the art, the service at the hotel were all great. The one thorn we encountered was at the restaurant that was unable to accommodate a large party. We had hoped to eat there and not venture out in the rain, but the only option they gave us for a party of 10 was a set menu for an extremely high price, and then wouldn't accommodate us in smaller numbers at 2-3 tables.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear David S,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you liked your stay but I apologize for the restaurant inconvenience. I have personally talked to the restaurant team to review the situation in order to accommodate our hotel guest better.
I you come back, please let me know. I would be delighted if you could try our Bluespoon restaurant.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is an incredible boutique hotel. I stayed back in June 2013 as part of a business trip and absolutely enjoyed the Andaz hotel. It's located in the city center, only a few steps away from some of the local busy shopping areas and I had a great view of the canal from my room, too. The staff was incredibly helpful, the decor was beyond gorgeous and the lobby was very astro-modern and chic, almost something you would see inside Copernicus' mind if he were here today! While I didn't eat at any of the restaurants, the room service was grand as well. Can't wait to hopefully go back to this hotel. Best Hyatt yet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.