We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant modern design hotel in the heart of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #6 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Vibrant modern design hotel in the heart of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great work of Dutch designer Marcel Wanders: every design detail in the hotel brings us to Amsterdam history, trends and spirit, the result is outstanding! A unique place.
Andaz Amsterdam has a relaxed and dynamic atmosphere and we really enjoyed our three days stay.
The location couldn't be better, walking distance from the museums, the Dam and the "9 Straatjes" area.
Wifi works perfect, good food, nice complimentary happy wine hour.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Pietisa,
Happy new year to you!
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. I am glad you liked our hotel and also its central location. I hope you will come back to Amsterdam soon.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    79
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
265
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for three nights. Perfect location -- close to everything, but just out of the fray. Charming neighborhood. And the staff was wonderful -- friendly, helpful, and truly service-oriented. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed on business, and have since rebooked our group there twice. Was super impressed with the level of service they offered. The rooms are a bit small, but functional. I don't know if I'd recommend it for families, as there is some quite risqué art to be found throughout the hotel, and there is no way to have even a smidge of privacy in the rooms, but for couples, solos and business travelers, I would heartily recommend trying this hotel...

Say hi to Roderick - he's the F & B assistant manager, and remembered our group, event six months later. I know it's all good notes system they keep on guests, as I am a former hotelier, but he makes it look and feel as if you are just special.

Room Tip: They seem to vary widely in size, so I'd only say to ask for a different room if it seems tiny t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear FoodaholicDiana,
Thank you for your great review and for mentioning Roderick. As a former hotelier you know that the systems are one thing but its the people who deliver and for that I am even more happy about your review.
Looking forward to having you back with us one day!
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend...and loved it! It is perfectly situated to explore the top sights of the city in an upscale neighborhood with fabulous restaurants, wine bars, and shopping. Check-in is with iPads and very quick by eager and friendly staff. They even offer complimentary wine service in the library early evening. While the decor may be garish to some, I enjoyed the mix of themes - Alice in Wonderland, Dutch and local history. Of note - interior rooms do not have windows; and to dine at the restaurant, a reservation is highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for our 35th anniversary and wnated some place special. We were completely thrilled with the hotel and staff. Wonderful service across the board from a attentive and knowledgable staff. The hotel and room itself was beautiful inside and was in a good central location in the city.
Enjoyed the food, enjoyed the bar, enjoyed all of the extras that came with the room. I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Trendy and attractive decor, efficient and helpful staff, comfortable rooms with thoughtful amenities. The shower door and walls were one-way mirror, the shower fixtures and controls worked perfectly, altogether a fine hotel showering experience (something you can't always count upon). The breakfast spread is extensive and first-rate, and they'll also prepare pretty much anything you'd desire. The wait staff at breakfast are all efficient, friendly and helpful...nice way to start the day. Finding the place can be a bit tricky, as it's built to blend in with the houses in Prinsengracht, and only the smallish flags flying out front tip you off that there's a business establishment at hand. Recommended when the budget allows.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Truly one of the best hotels I've every stayed at. The staff is incredibly professional and courteous, and the "continental" breakfast was astounding. Definitely not what you think of. This was a buffet of fresh, gourmet food some of which is made to order with the chef standing next to you. Rooms were clean, quite and comfortable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsNL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.