We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #5 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend...and loved it! It is perfectly situated to explore the top sights of the city in an upscale neighborhood with fabulous restaurants, wine bars, and shopping. Check-in is with iPads and very quick by eager and friendly staff. They even offer complimentary wine service in the library early evening. While the decor may be garish to some, I enjoyed the mix of themes - Alice in Wonderland, Dutch and local history. Of note - interior rooms do not have windows; and to dine at the restaurant, a reservation is highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    96
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
65
320
37
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for our 35th anniversary and wnated some place special. We were completely thrilled with the hotel and staff. Wonderful service across the board from a attentive and knowledgable staff. The hotel and room itself was beautiful inside and was in a good central location in the city.
Enjoyed the food, enjoyed the bar, enjoyed all of the extras that came with the room. I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Trendy and attractive decor, efficient and helpful staff, comfortable rooms with thoughtful amenities. The shower door and walls were one-way mirror, the shower fixtures and controls worked perfectly, altogether a fine hotel showering experience (something you can't always count upon). The breakfast spread is extensive and first-rate, and they'll also prepare pretty much anything you'd desire. The wait staff at breakfast are all efficient, friendly and helpful...nice way to start the day. Finding the place can be a bit tricky, as it's built to blend in with the houses in Prinsengracht, and only the smallish flags flying out front tip you off that there's a business establishment at hand. Recommended when the budget allows.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Truly one of the best hotels I've every stayed at. The staff is incredibly professional and courteous, and the "continental" breakfast was astounding. Definitely not what you think of. This was a buffet of fresh, gourmet food some of which is made to order with the chef standing next to you. Rooms were clean, quite and comfortable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London / Paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were booked here on a work trip, 20 plus creative types in a design hotel...
The place is in a great part of town and looks great. But it all looks a bit too perfect sometimes. It's a designer on overload when a little restraint and humanity is also needed.
Thankfully that comes in the form of the excellent bar tender who works at a counter, not behind a bar as such. Equally good was the hit breakfast served in warm skillets.
The rooms were a great size - but someone needs to think about just how noisy a fridge can be in the room... Please, all hotel interior designers out there... Put it in the wardrobe sound proofed.
One additional thing... Both a colleague and I asked for none feather pillows, twice, and they never arrived. At this price you expect that service no questions asked!

Would I go back?
Yes
The fact is, it's in a great part of town, is well run, comfortable and even though more pricey than the other places nearby it is worth it.

Room Tip: Away from the lift... Amsterdam is a party town remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was told, "It's a Hyatt." I wasn't so sure since I had never heard of Andaz, but let me tell you when we walked into the hotel lobby, I was a believer. The first thing I saw was these enormous white wedding bells hanging from the ceiling and serves as lights for the open space check in area. How cool is that? The decoration is very eclectic and speaks to the local Dutch roots, but it works.

Since it was the low season, the price was about 250 euros a night and that included breakfast. And unlike most hotels when you miss breakfast because of the 6 hour time change, Andaz doesn't say tough luck wake up earlier tomorrow. Instead, as long as you order from the breakfast menu, they will consider it breakfast and not charge you! And you can order as many items you want from the breakfast menu. I love that. The room itself was amazing as well. Very modern furnishings including the mirrored shower doors and huge floor lamp. Room was spacious and had lots of places for storage even though when you walk in it looks very minimalist. The mini bar was also free of charge, well not the alcohol of course, but the water and soft drinks and apple juice and candy bars! They have very cool wallpaper which is like the decoration on delftware. Books about local Dutch customs and history and Anne Frank adorned the desk and little snippets of facts adorn the wallpaper in the bathroom...just in case you forgot the reading material! I loved it. I have to say muchas gracias to Manuel, the resident Puerto Rican and staff member who helped us with attractions and places to eat. Our trip was made much more memorable and exciting with his advice and recommendations. FINALLY, THE WAY A FANTASTIC HOTEL IS SUPPOSE TO BE!!!!! Great location, modern design, yet very chic, clean, quiet rooms, vibrant lobby, friendly/helpful staff, excellent service, delicious food, free wireless, nice size rooms (for Europe, especially, but even for the US) a decent gym, and just overall a fun place to stay all for an affordable price. I am looking for an Andaz everywhere we go from on now. That's how impressed I was with it. I was not the only one. We were a group of 7, all world travelers, and they would all back up my review. Thank you Andaz Amsterdam for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Go during off season because prices are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Having just completed the 2nd of two stays, I feel confident in declaring this one of the very best hotels in all of Europe. The Andaz has the amenities and services of a larger property but the cozy and friendly feel of a smaller property and oozes Dutch charm and style. Every member of the staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and so welcoming - every guest seems cared for like they are a celebrity. The rooms are bright and clean with innovative and fun decor. We were impressed by all of the dining options and could have spent any afternoon just relaxing in the bar, watching the world go by on the street and canal scene in front. If we ever win the lottery, I think we'd consider moving in permanently. We can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.