We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quirky Hotel in a Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #5 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Quirky Hotel in a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Hyatt Andaz Prinsengracht Amsterdam is a wonderful unique hotel loaded with quirky art and furniture. The entrance and some of the rooms face the Prinsengracht Canal.

Service is 5 star; the employees will arrange anything for you that they can.

The location is close to all of the fun happenings in Amsterdam without being near the noise or touristy areas around Central Station and Dam Square. It is near the Sunday organic farmers' market at Noordmarket, the Rijksmuseum, the Anne Frank House, and Vondel Park for a stroll or jog.

The breakfast is amazing! From the smoked salmon/halibut/mackerel to the organic goat cheese/ yoghurts to the delicious pastries/ multi-grain brown breads/brioche "French toast", it is something to look forward to every morning before heading out to explore.

Rooms are a bit bizarre with the sink and vanity on an island in the middle of the room. Beds are extremely comfortable.

The lobby living room is a cozy place to have a drink, read your emails, and meet other guests...if you want. It is like a "Club Lounge" at street level facing the canal for use by everyone in the hotel.

We would happy to stay there on our next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Prinsengracht Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    86
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
58
288
31
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Welcome party at reception was great. Very hospitable feeling. Housekeeping changing my sheets at 5:30PM was big turn-downer as I had to prepare for a meeting at 6PM. But for the rest of the stay - fantastic. Well done.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inwards have excellent ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The check-in is very relaxed and convenient. The style of the hotel is crazy but nice. Everything is brand new. The rooms are good - there is no real bathroom which might not be everybody's cup of tea. The sink is in the room toilette and shower are somehow separate however never stay with a colleague (or someone you are not very close with) in the same room at this hotel :-)
The family-style dinner (lot's of dishes are served to the table and everybody takes from everything) was very good, as well as breakfast. Location is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very nice hotel, awesome breakfast buffet and perfect location to explore the city. Particularly liked the complimentary minibar and wine happy hour as well as overall friendlyness and service from the staff. Rooms are a bit over-designed and trying to a but too much to be cool but at least not the usual boring standard hotel rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon/washington
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just had my first stay here, and I will certainly return! Generous, friendly hospitality, seamless service, very comfortable everything. Complimentary water and juice in the mini-bar, evening wine reception, luscious smelling amenities, fabulously comfy bed. Cookies in the library were too yummy, and the espresso pods kept me going. Happy decor, good location, it's all here! Happy one year anniversary, Andaz!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms here are very small and very strange. The room is an "open concept" with sleeping and shower/sink all in one big space. Thankfully, the toilet is in a small private closet. Also, the wifi was useless-- spotty at best but I never did get it to work. The staff is nice and the location is good but I would not stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We liked the size of the room, the comfortable bed and the reliable rain-shower in the bathroom. We used the gym once on the Saturday afternoon. It has two treadmills, two ellipticals, two bikes and a rower. Located in the basement between the two hotel buildings. Changing rooms located at the gym so you can change there.

Breakfast was €20 for the buffet or €29 for the buffet plus additional hot items. We opted for the latter and I chose the shrimp scramble with spring onions, baby potatoes and dill which was absolutely lovely; my partner chose the smoked mackerel omelette with tomato and onion. In addition from the buffet I had Bircher muesli, delicious fresh and stewed fruit, orange juice that was sweet and delicious. Lots of lovely breads, pastries and cakes. Cappuccino and expresso to order. We thought it was very good quality and we ate so well that didn't need lunch.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Splendia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.