We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #7 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Julie Forester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This is a good one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This has got to be the coolest hotel I've stayed in. This was our first time to Amsterdam and I am so happy I picked this hotel to stay in. Located in the perfect location of the town with shopped and restaurants all around right on the canal. Friendly staff and cool and swanky bar was great. The rooms are very comfortable and decorated funky and fun. All I can say is this a great hotel in a fantastic town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    129
    25
    13
    11
See reviews for
91
434
49
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've been to Amsterdam several times, mostly on business, and this is my absolute favorite hotel to stay at! The rooms are comfortable, the staff is helpful, the decor is unlike anything you've ever seen and the location is wonderful. If you've never been to Amsterdam, splurge on the Canal-view room. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

So many cool, chic hotels believe that their service can be second rate. Not at the Andaz. This hotel chain knows that most travelers who select these types of properties have stayed in other beautiful hotels. What visitors want more than anything is great and attentive service. And here you get it.

The hotel lobby is extraordinary. The rooms are spacious and funky (ask for a room overlooking the canal). The location is great. The food is wonderful (order the Herring salad). But more than that, every one who works there, understands the meaning of hospitality.

We have become Andaz converts, having stayed at their property in Savannah Georgia. The service there was also incredible. And that is why we chose the Andaz in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: select a room overlooking canal. ask for extra blanket for bed if you visit in the winter. also ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is good to see real 5 star hotel service still exists! I spend a lot of time at high end hotels on both business and pleasure, and in the last 5 years few have impressed me as much as this one. The property is stunning, unique and romantic! The service was seamless, everything seemed easy and all needs were pre-empted and met even before you ask. Although I have dined at andaz in NYC this was the first stay and will be looking for the brand for future trips. And when returning to Amsterdam this is where we would stay.

Room Tip: Tee up a canal view room, the expense is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Marcel Wanders outdid himself with the design of this fabulous hotel, formerly a dilapidated library on one of the most famous " grachten" (canals).  Lots of superimposed items, as is Wanders' signature style, such as the gigantic bells / lamps over the " check in" area, which is more like a hangout place anyway, and the giant statues. The rooms show evidence of this style as well, with a giant wallpapered fish right over the bed, which looks quite real and not flat al all. There are many authentic Dutch touches all throughout the room, from a wallpapered Delfts Blue bathroom to the dressing table (in the middle of the room) inspires by the famous "Amsterdammertjes" which are concrete poles preventing cars to park in many places of the city.  I can talk about the bed (fabulous), the location (in walking distance of many museums, prime shopping, the food etc., but it's all about the design of the hotel - in one word FANTASTIC.
One thing that bothered me was the smell in the hallways. It smelled of old carpet, which might have been a remnant of the old library but it quite offensive, and on at least 2 floors. If the rooms would have smelled like the hallway, I would not have been able to stay.  

.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the canal, it's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here in March this year and I just loved it. Artsy hotel with beautiful and modern rooms right in front a nice canal in the canal loop area, close to nice shops and restaurants. Check in was the nicest I've ever experienced. Would definitely stay there again

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

my Wife and I stayed at the Andaz in Amsterdam located on the beautiful Prinsengracht canal between Septemeber 13-15.

First and foremost, I must give a compliment to Manuel at the front desk. A wonderfully funny and exceptionally helpful man who had many ideas for us regarding food and places to see. It wasn't my first trip to Amsterdam (I've been about 4 or 5 times in my life) but he gave us some insider information and some recommendations for places that were in plain sight yet I had never noticed in my previous trips. The great service from Manuel started upon check in. We arrived at 8 AM and eventhough check in isn't until the afternoon (and it was a very busy weekend with some sort of television based conference in town) he was quick to offer my wife and I coffee and beer (respectively) complimentary as he figured out a way to get us a room ASAP (Which, he did. we were able to shower and unpack by 10 AM and hit the town!)

the rooms are done in a tastefully modern style with hints of Dutch-ness all over.

The mini-bar has complimentary drinks and snacks that get replenished once a day...a fantastic concept that I wish more hotels back in the States did. Complimentary water bottles and coffee in the lobby was nice to grab on the way out toward the city center.

breakfast at the restaurant is a choice of a buffet or a chef-prepared meal.

the hotel itself is a 10 minute walk from the city center ( a leisurely 10 minutes) and is located close to both "de 9 straates" and the Joordan neighborhood. Many restaurants and cafes are located close by and the view from the lobby of the majestic canals can't be beat.

if you are looking for a new hotel that really strives to please, the Andaz must be on your list

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, Splendia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.