We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay - don't know who to thank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #6 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Amazing stay - don't know who to thank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The Andaz was amazing for the one night we spent on layover. Very easy direct 30 min bus from the airport and a nice 8 minute walk along the canal to the hotel. Walking distance to the museums and anne frank house and Jordaan district.

We got a room overlooking the canal with a skylight. Hotel was very imaginatively designed and decorated in line with the library and tulip theme. Everything was clean and worked well. As others have mentioned, room comes with free non-alcholic drinks and wifi. Converter for US plugs in the room and

Welcome was amazing. We got in a little early before our room was ready but they were happy to let us freshen up and take a shower downstairs before we headed to the museum. But by the time he finished our shower, we were told our room was ready.

The spa was great - with privacy. Loved the sweets we had at checkout. Only quibble was that staff did not have name tags and did not introduce themselves so we could not thank them by name. Do thanks to everyone who made our stay special.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    75
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
50
240
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a fab hotel, quirky in the right kind of way. Really interesting decor in the bedrooms and throughout the hotel. Booked and used the meeting facilities for a business meeting and it was organised with great efficiency by a dedicated staff member (Nerijus) who took excellent care of our group and catered to our every need. Very helpful staff in all area's, bar, restaurant, front of house. This hotel is expensive but well worth it if you want to impress a client or just splash out a little...!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel, perfectly located, outstanding service and exceptional quality.
You get what you pay for so if you don't want to splash out, don't stay here.
Free mini-bar for the non-alcoholic drinks and the snacks is a great idea.
Complimentary wine at Happy Hour, quirky decor, iPad check in :)

It used to be a library here, so true to its roots, they have taken the essence of a library in many ways. A great selection of books were in our room to browse.
The detail here is phenomenal across the entire hotel.

Manuel helped us throughout the stay when we needed him - he is a credit to the hotel and the Hyatt in general. He exemplifies top-level service.

Well done - this is a gem of a hotel - perfect in literally every way.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed 5 nights very pleasant nights. Centrally located for all the sightseeing, museums, restaurants and canal rides, the Andaz is a modern and refreshing hotel. With eager and competent staff, good food, drinks and incentives for a relaxing stay, the Andaz will enhance your Amsterdam experience. We stayed in a garden room in the rear of the hotel that was well appointed, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Take a garden room for an undisturbed rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed two nights with a big group (20+) in October '13. While the hotel is well designed, beds comfortable and have nice touches such as free mini-bar (just the non-alcoholic stuff!), the overall service was just well over-engineered and very slow as a result. Breakfast is semi-buffet style but there is no hot food available from the buffet and has to be made to order. On a busy morning when most of our group arrived for breakfast at the same time, this means that it's impossible to get any hot items because the kitchen is completely overwhelmed. Even early in the morning when I was the first one down at breakfast at 06:30, an omelette took 15 minutes. Our group dinner took over 2.5 hours (2 courses each from a limited choice menu to speed things up) the first evening - I would hate to think how long it would have taken if we picked from the full menu.

Overall, I think this would have been a lovely choice of hotel for a weekend get-away when there is plenty of time to linger around. But this hotel is similar unsuitable as a business hotel as the hotel staff are simply unable to cope. Room rates are pricey for what it is and one can get better location and better service elsewhere during the week in Amsterdam.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is probably one of the most interesting and beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. Very chic, trendy, fun. From the moment you enter the hotel, it's all about 'eye candy,' no matter where you look. We had a great view of the canal, lots of light from the huge windows. The room was spacious and well-planned out, with plenty of room to work when we needed to. Sink and vanity are in the room, which is odd at first, but not a problem if you're traveling with someone you know well. The shower was behind a kind of mirrored sliding door and was very large. We only ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was very good. The hotel is close to good restaurants and several key attractions, like the Anne Frank House. This was my first time in Amsterdam and the hotel made the trip extra special. I would definitely want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Canal views are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great hotel from the Hyatt family. Nice concept.

First of all your are very close from the center. However, you are not in the middle of the red light district. Youll be a few blocks away from the crazy part of amsterdam.

Rooms are really sophisticated in style, you ll like them. They are average rooms but the design will make you feel that you are in a very trendy place.

Very nice staff, nice lounge area in the lobby.

They even have happy hours from 5-8pm for free.

recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.