We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #9 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed 5 nights very pleasant nights. Centrally located for all the sightseeing, museums, restaurants and canal rides, the Andaz is a modern and refreshing hotel. With eager and competent staff, good food, drinks and incentives for a relaxing stay, the Andaz will enhance your Amsterdam experience. We stayed in a garden room in the rear of the hotel that was well appointed, quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Take a garden room for an undisturbed rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    71
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
45
209
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed two nights with a big group (20+) in October '13. While the hotel is well designed, beds comfortable and have nice touches such as free mini-bar (just the non-alcoholic stuff!), the overall service was just well over-engineered and very slow as a result. Breakfast is semi-buffet style but there is no hot food available from the buffet and has to be made to order. On a busy morning when most of our group arrived for breakfast at the same time, this means that it's impossible to get any hot items because the kitchen is completely overwhelmed. Even early in the morning when I was the first one down at breakfast at 06:30, an omelette took 15 minutes. Our group dinner took over 2.5 hours (2 courses each from a limited choice menu to speed things up) the first evening - I would hate to think how long it would have taken if we picked from the full menu.

Overall, I think this would have been a lovely choice of hotel for a weekend get-away when there is plenty of time to linger around. But this hotel is similar unsuitable as a business hotel as the hotel staff are simply unable to cope. Room rates are pricey for what it is and one can get better location and better service elsewhere during the week in Amsterdam.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is probably one of the most interesting and beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. Very chic, trendy, fun. From the moment you enter the hotel, it's all about 'eye candy,' no matter where you look. We had a great view of the canal, lots of light from the huge windows. The room was spacious and well-planned out, with plenty of room to work when we needed to. Sink and vanity are in the room, which is odd at first, but not a problem if you're traveling with someone you know well. The shower was behind a kind of mirrored sliding door and was very large. We only ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was very good. The hotel is close to good restaurants and several key attractions, like the Anne Frank House. This was my first time in Amsterdam and the hotel made the trip extra special. I would definitely want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Canal views are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great hotel from the Hyatt family. Nice concept.

First of all your are very close from the center. However, you are not in the middle of the red light district. Youll be a few blocks away from the crazy part of amsterdam.

Rooms are really sophisticated in style, you ll like them. They are average rooms but the design will make you feel that you are in a very trendy place.

Very nice staff, nice lounge area in the lobby.

They even have happy hours from 5-8pm for free.

recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an absolutely gorgeous hotel, I can't wait to go back.
I travelled with a friend and we got a really good deal (About £400 each including flights for 3 nights).
The room décor is a bit strange but I liked it, the shower is a walk in style hidden behind two mirrored doors.
It's not far to walk from the main part of town.
Breakfast was lovely.
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The entire hotel experience is delightful from reception to checkout. Staff is warm and experienced. Even the coffee and cookies are great. You'll feel very indulged. Beds are comfy. Rooms are quiet. The dressing area in the room takes a little getting used-to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Perfect location with excellent service. My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay here. We love the location and the service! Everything is within walking distance and very close to the tram. It's in a quieter part of the city center which made it very relaxing after a full day of touring. A few blocks from the Jordaan area which has very nice shops and great restaurants.

Service is outstanding! Everybody made sure we are comfortable and happy - whether it's direction, recommendation, carrying luggages, umbrellas, and 24-hour self-serve good coffee and tea! (RE: coffee and tea - much needed to quickly adjust to time zone and to carry on with a packed itinerary.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.