We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #9 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel. Great service. One of the nicest newest hotels that ive been to. Service cold not have been any better or informative. Sunday brunch was incredible top shelf all the way. Tell your friends that the is the hotel In Amsterdam to stay at

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    72
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
212
28
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a work of modern art itself. In a central location, the rooms are spacious and beautifully designed and the staff could not be more accomodating and friendly. It's in walking distance from all the main attractions and the side streets in the surrounding area is full of funky little boutiques, cafes, art galleries and beautiful homes. Each night from 5-8pm they serve wine in a library type room for guests. There is so much attention to detail I noticed something new every time I look at a light fixture or somethingon the wall. I would certainly stay at the Andaz again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We received a friendly greeting and had a short wait for check in with a drink in the lounge: check in seemed a bit confused, but we got there, and were given room 413 overlooking the
canal. It was a small room, with interesting décor: especially loved the wallpaper in the loo! There was a separate toilet and shower, but the sink unit was in the room, WHICH I HATE!! Otherwise there were lots of interesting features, a kettle, coffee machine, desk, chairs, fridge with free snacks and soft drinks (you have to ask for them to be replenished, though). There are sockets next to the bed for charging phones etc. The internet is free, which is good, but we found the connection poor: you have to log back in every time you come back to the hotel, and that can take a while to do.

Breakfast is expensive, at €29 for the buffet, but it is very good, with cooked to order eggs, bacon, rösti, sausages etc. plus loads of other cold items. Service is very friendly. We had a couple of drinks in the bar, which was better than most hotel bars, and the free wine every evening in the library is a nice touch.

The hotel is in a wonderful location, within walking distance of most attractions and shopping, on a relatively quiet canal.

Room Tip: Get a canal view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-AndazWS, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear PotterMoose,
Thank you for your detailed review and for the feedback.
All our rooms have the hand painted sink in the room. Our suites, however, have a separate bathroom with sink, shower, toilette and even bathtub. Maybe next time we can welcome you back in one of those rooms.
Toni Hinterstoisser
General Manager - Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular design. Great staff. Beautiful room. Canal view was amazing. We could not have been happier.

We came to the Andaz after a week in Rome, and we needed a break from the hectic pace of Rome. The Andaz was perfect. Relaxing space in a great neighborhood. Quiet, but a quick walk to lots of attractions and nightlife. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I love the Andaz properties throughout the world. We've been to most of them and we love this new location here in Amsterdam! We do business in Haarlem, so actually it's infrequent that we stay in Amsterdam, but when we do, this is where we'll stay.

Since Amsterdam is the land of dikes and dams, and much of the Netherlands is built on canals, this hotel too is on a canal. In fact, if you have the opportunity, there is a very interesting museum outside of Haarlem, the Museum De Cruquius "Pump Museum" which explains how they incredibly pumped the Haarlem Lake dry along with the history of how they used the dikes and dams during wars to flood as a protection strategy and other interesting facts. If you have a day to spend in Haarlem, it's about half an hour drive away (if that) and an adorable town. I highly recommend!

The Andaz hotel is close to everything... restaurants, bars, shops... the Amsterdam scene... and if you are a tourist, you'll easily be able to access all of the tourist sites. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms quiet with comfortable beds. Love the bar areas! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We were wandering through the street and came across this hotel and decided to have a drink at the bar. It was designed by Marcel Wanders and is just breathtaking. We booked dinner and came back later and were not disappointed. Excellent service, wine and food and the bill was reasonable for what you receive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on one of the main canals and we were able to walk to all the sights (rijkamuseum,van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, canal cruise). The rooms are large and very funky but still comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding (if rather expensive) and we enjoyed the complimentary wine in the library in the evening - all in all a great experience!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.