We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #5 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular design. Great staff. Beautiful room. Canal view was amazing. We could not have been happier.

We came to the Andaz after a week in Rome, and we needed a break from the hectic pace of Rome. The Andaz was perfect. Relaxing space in a great neighborhood. Quiet, but a quick walk to lots of attractions and nightlife. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    79
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
54
265
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I love the Andaz properties throughout the world. We've been to most of them and we love this new location here in Amsterdam! We do business in Haarlem, so actually it's infrequent that we stay in Amsterdam, but when we do, this is where we'll stay.

Since Amsterdam is the land of dikes and dams, and much of the Netherlands is built on canals, this hotel too is on a canal. In fact, if you have the opportunity, there is a very interesting museum outside of Haarlem, the Museum De Cruquius "Pump Museum" which explains how they incredibly pumped the Haarlem Lake dry along with the history of how they used the dikes and dams during wars to flood as a protection strategy and other interesting facts. If you have a day to spend in Haarlem, it's about half an hour drive away (if that) and an adorable town. I highly recommend!

The Andaz hotel is close to everything... restaurants, bars, shops... the Amsterdam scene... and if you are a tourist, you'll easily be able to access all of the tourist sites. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms quiet with comfortable beds. Love the bar areas! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We were wandering through the street and came across this hotel and decided to have a drink at the bar. It was designed by Marcel Wanders and is just breathtaking. We booked dinner and came back later and were not disappointed. Excellent service, wine and food and the bill was reasonable for what you receive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on one of the main canals and we were able to walk to all the sights (rijkamuseum,van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, canal cruise). The rooms are large and very funky but still comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding (if rather expensive) and we enjoyed the complimentary wine in the library in the evening - all in all a great experience!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monterey county
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our final hotel after three weeks in Italy, England, France and Netherlands. This is one of my favorites. Modern, spacious and fresh. Terrific service. Free minibar snacks and non-alcoholic drinks in room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our first stop on a three week trip to Europe and a 'great beginning'. The Andaz is located right on one of Amsterdam's most scenic canals and our room looked right out on the beautiful and busy waterway.
We were within easy walking distance of all major sites and restaurants.
The hotel has quite an unusual decor and ambience, having previously been a library. The artwork and design are modern dramatic, yet comfortable .
The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. Our room, on the third floor was well appointed and very comfortable, the only oddity being the sink and vanity in the middle of the room? The wallpaper in the toilet contained fascinating tidbits of Amsterdam history...
The restaurant is excellent .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights - chic hotel, great reception with attentative staff - lovely bar area. Rooms clean modern with great beds and facilities. Didn't eat at the hotel as visiting Dutch friends - so maybe a little extravagent for a bed only hotel! Ideally situated for all of Amsterdam's attractions with a great aspect looking over one of the main canal's. The property is split into 2 buildings and we stayed in the back part - which is a little trek through a courtyard or underground passage which made you feel slightly detached.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsNL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.