We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, Friendly and Fabulous - it's the Andaz!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, Amsterdam 1016 HT, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #11 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Funky, Friendly and Fabulous - it's the Andaz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you stay in commercial hotels regularly for work, you will appreciate a hotel that is relaxed and funky or hip in style when you want to get away from it all. The Andaz Hotel, perfectly located on the Prinsengracht, will delight and surprise you from the moment you enter the hotel. Helpful front desk staff are armed with their iPads and offer proper coffee (that's Nespresso in my book!) and scrumptious cookies while you check in. Don't forget to lean back and gaze upwards into the atrium - it is a triumph of design and guaranteed to bring a smile to your face. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and designed with all of the facilities that you will love - your own Nespresso coffee maker, a docking station for your iPod (home from home music), so that when you are enveloped by the high-backed chair inside the window, you can feel like you are in heaven as you watch the world go by on the canal outside. Step through a mirrored doorway into the wetroom and let your cares slip away under the waterfall shower. Or educate yourself on the history of Amsterdam, which features on the wallpaper in the loo! A slight lack of sound insulation between the shower room, the toilet and the bedroom areas means that you may disturb your sleeping partner when visiting bathroom or taking a shower - beware! Even the location of the washstand is unique! The library (off the lobby) is well stocked and the presence of art around the hotel, especially the video art in the corridors and the library (see the central light fitting!) makes the hotel very special indeed. Breakfast to the room was a disappointment - hot food barely lukewarm, coffee the same and did not tempt us to order it a second time. The Bluespoon Lounge was thronged with guests on a Saturday evening before dinner - service was still very good, although the concept of a Kir (as distinct from a Kir Royale) seemed a bit alien to the bar staff. The hotel charges for the (normally) complimentary nibbles that accompany cocktails, however, it's worth sharing a plate of these, as they are delicious and a serving for one person will suffice for 3-4 people. The hotel's Bluespoon Restaurant was an excellent choice for a family dinner during our stay and we dined at the chef's table beside the kitchen where chef, Julien Piquet, was relaxed and chatted to our group. Overall, the food is excellent - veal cheeks were a big hit on the starter menu, while the fish mains were refined and elegant in taste and presentation. Desserts met with a more mixed reaction and my maple and pecan tart was dry and unappetising. Cheese, however, was excellent. I would not hesitate in recommending the Andaz to travellers - it comes at a price but like the L'Oreal Ad, we're worth it!

Room Tip: If you can manage it, I recommend that you try to get a room with a canal view. The garden is an en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    69
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
198
25
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Superb staff, food, cocktails. Although cocktails were slightly on the pricey side but were extremely good. We were extremely touched by the special attention given to our dietary requirements by the Chef. Chef deserves a Michelin star.

Great friendly and always smiling staff. They went the extra mile to make our stay extra comfortable. They accommodated most of our requests at short notice. The library concept is extremely unique and the interior design is worth a few gold stars.

Would definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A chic new property with funky designs and amazing, lovely and very helpful staff. We stayed there for 3 nights and absolutely loved it !! The decor is just amazing and different. The bar offers few of the best cocktails we have tested so far. The restaurent doesn't have much choice, specially for vegetarians like us but when we requested if they can make us something vegetarian, and the head chef himself came to meet us and asked our choices and made us mouthwatering dinner. So Andaz certainly has best staff and it has raised the bar of hospitality !! I can go on n on about this beautiful hotel .. so cut the story short, we will highly recommend this hotel if you want to have the best service with best hospitality !! The staff there is the reason for making this hotel one of our favourites :))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Andaz with our baby daughter over the Easter weekend. The hotel is lovely, very trendy and is centrally located. The staff are helpful and friendly and really make the guests feel at home. The restaurant is fantastic - the food quality is very good and we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals here. I tried hard to get a spa appointment but they were very busy and I could not get a treatment - so I would suggest people book these as early as possible.
We went for a garden view room which was very spacious unlike most European hotels.
Overall we had a great time and I would recommend this hotel to anyone going out there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our flight arrived very early from Dublin, and I had emailed ahead to ask/request an early check in and was prepared to pay for this. I was told they would do everything they could to arrange it for us. when we arrived we were greeted by this lovely light lobby and friendly staff. our room was ready with no etra charge. The bar staff are so professional and their cocktails amazing but expensive. the New York SOur is to try. The hotel was fully occupied over the weekend and unfortunately when we came down for breakfast on the first day, they had no tables cleared and ready and we had to wait 30minutes for a breakfast table. The staff were flustered as was the chef who we could hear cursing under his breath. But by the next morning this had all been corrected.
we did have room service which was excellent. Beds great, could have done with a heavier duvet it was freezing and the room is a tiny bit small. Also the windows do not open much and being a bit claustrophobic this was not too good.
I would come and stay again but probably in a bigger room and do breakfast outside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Love it here, was only staying for the one night, but this hotel was exceptional. It's only a few months old, and the rooms are amazing. Plenty of space and creative decor. Staff were also courteous and professional. I'd love to come back soon, and will certainly be staying here for any more Amsterdam trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Andaz Amsterdam for 5 days in mid Feb ... this was our first trip to Amsterdam and we chanced upon this property through the hyatt website. Wow ! what an experience ! the property is exquisite in design and detail, the service is very personal and little bits like the free wine in the evenings was a delight. The location is very good as well - right next to the famous nine streets; about 15 mins from Dam square (honestly - after spending time in the 9 streets, we found Dam square to be too touristy); 10 mins from Leidesplein; 5 mins walk to a tram line etc

we had taken one of the garden facing rooms which was nice and quiet - though possibly the canal facing rooms would be wonderful as well. The concept of the wash basin in the room itself looked wierd in the beginning - but was fine ... it also freed up a lot of space and the room did not feel cramped at all. Loved the shower area so much that i am planning to design mine with the same dimensions at home !

But the best part was the service - it was very personalised and the staff was extremely helpful. Even after i had checked out, i called them for a restaurant recommendation and they not only helped but offered to reserve for me. All their restaurant recommendations were spot on and they really made our trip a real delight

Loved it - will definitely be back !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, Amsterdam 1016 HT, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Venere, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.