We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel and Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #4 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Hotel and Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Wife and I stayed here in early January. Very enjoyable. Boutique style under the Andaz Brand. Marcel Wanders makes a design statement. We were in Amsterdam with friends and they stayed here as well. Both rooms had unique individual features.
Really enjoyed the location.
Breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    105
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
74
361
41
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as it was my parents 40th wedding anniversary. We had booked a standard double and a canal view double for my parents. The canal view room was stunning and the complimentary prosseco for my parents was a lovely gesture. Our standard double was also a fantastic room with many great design features, a real attention to detail and a very distinct feel. The only downside with a standar room is the lack of a window that looked outside, our windo just looked into the lobby so you couldn't even tell what the weather was like. So would recommend a garden or canal view room. Service was excellent throughout our stay and complimentary wine in the evening was a really nice touch. We have stayed in the Andaz in San Diego and whilst the decor and style is very unique in each one they both had the same high standards of facilities and design. Will definitely stay with Andaz chain again and if we are in Amsterdam will definitely stay here again. A huge thank you to the hotel and staff for making my parents anniversary a very special occasion.

Room Tip: Choose a garden view or canal view if you want a window that actually looks outside but in terms of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a suite over a january weekend in the Andaz and was really impressed by the quality and style of the hotel. They have used a dutch designer to create the decor and feel of the hotel and have succeeded to put together something very special. Rooms are moderen yet comfort styled and my suite included 2 roomss and a very nice bathroom complete with tv. Could not say enough about the staff and the service they provide, fantasic! They have made checkin process a very novel experience, as we did this over a cup of coffee while they sat with me checking me in over wifi on an i pad, very cool. The food at the restaurant was very good and i had a dinner and a lunch at their blue spoon restaurant. Both were very good indeed! My overall stay was excellent and i would recommend the andaz for people with the appropriate budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What an amazing one night stay at this trendy hotel located in Prinsengracht in Amsterdam. Efficient and friendly staff. Dinner in restaurant fantastic. Decor based on Alice in Wonderland theme with quirky design ideas everywhere yet still making one feel comfortable and "at home"!
Check in is so efficient ... Great to be offered a complimentary drink/coffee while being checked in seated on a sofa informally on an iPad!
Cannot recommend this hotel enough, trendy, off the wall and welcoming all in one!
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed only one night at this nice little hotel located at Prinsengracht in Amsterdam. Overall a very nice stay. Check in with drink and personalized service is very good. Rooms are very stylish and modern. Nonethless I prefer having my bathroom in a separate room instead in the middle of the room. Guess this is a new trend as Park Hyatt also has such ideas of modern hotel rooms. I personally prefer good Grand Hyatt's as well as Park Hyatt's.

Price was a bit on the upper end. Parking is difficult at the hotel but we found a public parking spot just 20 m away on the street. They carge EUR 5 per hour between 9:00 - 19:00. Full 24 hours EUR 45 and from 19:00 - 24:00 it is "only" EUR 20,00 but afterwards until 9:00 in morning free of charge. Hence if you come at around 19:00 and check out early enough - the cost will be EUR 20.

They have a very nice Sauna area which should be used but call them in case you are planning to use it after 18:00 h. This was surprising that they want to close the Sauna at a time once the regular business/leisure guest would think to start with.

Overall a good choice but a bit overprized.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here during the festive season, the location was good, a short 5 minute walk to Leidesplein which has an abundance of restaurants and some shopping. Dam Square however, was a good 20 minute walk away. The tram would probably take you there faster but we preferred to walk. Anne Frank house and canal cruises were also a short walk from Andaz. The hotel is located on a canal street and there are gorgeous views as you leave.

There is no formal reception but as you enter a hostess will approach you for check in. The rooms are good sized, modern, funky designed, with free non alcoholic minibar and wifi. As the hotel just opened in October everything was relatively new and polished.

The hotel can arrange airport transfers with the local taxis (pay to hotel or direct to driver - 44 euros) which makes it easy on your departure. The hotel restaurant's breakfast was sumptuous and staff are attentive.

Overall a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here Jan 2013 with my husband and 3 young daughters, and had a fantastic time. This hotel is very different from most hotels we have stayed in. Absolutely stunning decor, based on Alice in Wonderland theme, and there are design surprises round every corner... the mesmerising wallpapers, the lift that looks like it is a library, the stunning atrium. Check-in is revolutionised.. you are escorted to a sofa, offered complimentary drink, and checked in informally on an ipad. The atrium offers complimentary coffee and cookies in the day, and complimentary drinks in the evening, and everything in the minibar (except alcoholic beverages) is free. Rooms were comfy and quirky - the toilet wallpaper has to be seen to be believed! - and well equipped. As a family with young children in Amsterdam, we probably werent the clientele the hotel is mostly catering for - but they were fabulous. The cot was stocked with organic baby toiletries, and a soft toy, and on departure the children were offered a treat as well. All in all, a fabulous stay, cannot recommend highly enough for an Amsterdam stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.