We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and small High End Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Good Morning Sunshine
Ranked #10 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stylish and small High End Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed only one night at this nice little hotel located at Prinsengracht in Amsterdam. Overall a very nice stay. Check in with drink and personalized service is very good. Rooms are very stylish and modern. Nonethless I prefer having my bathroom in a separate room instead in the middle of the room. Guess this is a new trend as Park Hyatt also has such ideas of modern hotel rooms. I personally prefer good Grand Hyatt's as well as Park Hyatt's.

Price was a bit on the upper end. Parking is difficult at the hotel but we found a public parking spot just 20 m away on the street. They carge EUR 5 per hour between 9:00 - 19:00. Full 24 hours EUR 45 and from 19:00 - 24:00 it is "only" EUR 20,00 but afterwards until 9:00 in morning free of charge. Hence if you come at around 19:00 and check out early enough - the cost will be EUR 20.

They have a very nice Sauna area which should be used but call them in case you are planning to use it after 18:00 h. This was surprising that they want to close the Sauna at a time once the regular business/leisure guest would think to start with.

Overall a good choice but a bit overprized.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    70
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
202
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here during the festive season, the location was good, a short 5 minute walk to Leidesplein which has an abundance of restaurants and some shopping. Dam Square however, was a good 20 minute walk away. The tram would probably take you there faster but we preferred to walk. Anne Frank house and canal cruises were also a short walk from Andaz. The hotel is located on a canal street and there are gorgeous views as you leave.

There is no formal reception but as you enter a hostess will approach you for check in. The rooms are good sized, modern, funky designed, with free non alcoholic minibar and wifi. As the hotel just opened in October everything was relatively new and polished.

The hotel can arrange airport transfers with the local taxis (pay to hotel or direct to driver - 44 euros) which makes it easy on your departure. The hotel restaurant's breakfast was sumptuous and staff are attentive.

Overall a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here Jan 2013 with my husband and 3 young daughters, and had a fantastic time. This hotel is very different from most hotels we have stayed in. Absolutely stunning decor, based on Alice in Wonderland theme, and there are design surprises round every corner... the mesmerising wallpapers, the lift that looks like it is a library, the stunning atrium. Check-in is revolutionised.. you are escorted to a sofa, offered complimentary drink, and checked in informally on an ipad. The atrium offers complimentary coffee and cookies in the day, and complimentary drinks in the evening, and everything in the minibar (except alcoholic beverages) is free. Rooms were comfy and quirky - the toilet wallpaper has to be seen to be believed! - and well equipped. As a family with young children in Amsterdam, we probably werent the clientele the hotel is mostly catering for - but they were fabulous. The cot was stocked with organic baby toiletries, and a soft toy, and on departure the children were offered a treat as well. All in all, a fabulous stay, cannot recommend highly enough for an Amsterdam stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Andaz for 3 days over New Year. We were wowed as soon as we walked in to the lovely reception area. Although there is no actual reception desk, there are always at least a couple of memebers of staff at standing tables in the reception area. The member of staff who checked us in was expecting us and greeted us by name without me having to tell them who we were which was very nice. We were invited to sit down with a complimnentary glass of really lovely wine whilst we were checked in via iPad.

The rooms are very smart (this hotel has only been open a few months) and slightly quirky in that the only washbasin is in the centre of the room. There is a lovely monsoon-style shower and a separate toilet. There was a really nice selection of books to read in the room and a TV with several UK channels. The minibar was complimentary for soft drinks and snacks. My only slight disappointment with the hotel was that the minibar wasn't restocked daily. We were there for 3 days and it being restocked would have been nice.

There was complimentary wine served in the library 5-8pm every day which was a lovely way to start the evening.

The main reason why I loved this hotel was that the staff were all so friendly and helpful. Unfortunately you don't always find this in hotels these days and the staff at the Andaz really couldn't do enough for you. They brought us a cheesecake and macaroon up to the room on New Years Eve which were both delicious and when they found out it was my birthday, they also gave me a birthday card and book about food/cookery in Amsterdam which was a really lovely surprise.

The hotel is 10-15 minutes walk from Dam Square and just a 2-3 minute walk to the nearest tram stop so very conveniently located. I would definitely return to this hotel again and will be telling all my friends about it. Really impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

In line with the Andaz branch of Hyatt, this location, which opened last Fall, is in step with breaking the mold of a "Hotel Stay". From the "deskless" hotel check in using I Pads, to the room designs (free standing vanity and sink in middle of room), and hotel decor.

The service from the staff was excellent always there to help but never in your face if you didn't need anything.

To be quite frank, I did find the video playing in the main lobby video bank a little odd ( a girl jumping on a bed in her undies, you can only see her from the shoulders down)

The breakfast at the restaurant was excellent but the "buffet" was way over priced for what you got. Ok yeah fresh bread, cheeses, fruits, and your choice of hot fresh to order plates is nice. but at almost $40 a person thats really pricey.

If you're looking for great service in a new modern chic vibe hotel. this is your place.
If you're looking for older hotel style service with "character" this is not your place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Grande, MS
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

What can I say about a perfect place? Everything works, the furniture and design is great, the bed is amazing... And the staff? Wow, you are so well treated, that is hard to get out the hotel! We wanted to do everything there! Breakfast, lunch, dinner! Mr. Manoel is from reception desk,he speaks 7 languages including Portuguese , so he was a special person for us. Mr. Craig from night was great too and the girls were amazing too! I needed some help from concierge, and they were great! This hotel must stay between top 10 of Amsterdam ! And the restaurant was amazing too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived on New Years Eve to a WARM WELCOME from the wonderful Karen, Elise, Chris and team at the Andaz. They WOWed us with personalized and authentic guest service during our three day stay, from hotel orientation to dining suggestions, to our NYE DElicious surprise bedtime snack! I am a Hyatt Specialist selling many of their hotels and resorts throughout the world, however I was really IMPRESSED with the Andaz Amsterdam and will be sending them many of my clients.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.