We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice... and something different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #7 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice... and something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had a very nice stay in one of the Andaz Kings with a Canal view.... a very nice room in a very nice hotel. Really something different and quite stylish.

Likes:
- The style of the hotel.
- The staff.
- The clean uncluttered room, no need to clear the bed of "junk" before using.
- The big walk-in closet.
- The big shower.
- Almost everything from the mini bar is free.
- Extensive choice of newspapers, to be delivered to your room

Dislikes:
- The Gym/Spa were not operational yet (stayed beginning of Nov).
- The rather difficult Internet VPN connection due to the Swisscom implementation

Location is very good of you are traveling for pleasure, a bit less when there on business since it can take a while to get out of the city center.

If the price was a bit less I would have given an "Excellent" rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GH_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our first stay at an Andaz and we are sold. From the casual, hi-tech check-in with obviously well trained staff to the decor, ammenities and location we couldn't have been happier. Two nights here and we hated to leave. The room was bright, open and comfortable in every way. The bedding was perfect as was the lighting, TV and WiFi. It was just a happy place to enjoy. For breakfast the buffet looked wonderful but we ordered from the menu and weren't disappointed. We met with friends in the most comfortable lobby for coffee and found the service friendly and attentive. The staff was helpful and knowledgable when asked for recommendations, suggestions or directions. We were spoiled so It would be difficult to stay any other place the next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

staying for a weekend, my husband and I really enjoyed every details of this so amazing stylish hotel: design, furniture, armosphere typically renewed dutch style, with plenty of wonderdul details (artistic videos on the wall, each different, tulipstyle chairs with earprotection, you whisper perfectly to your neighbour...). Your check-in is made by very friendly way with ipad, no reception lobby, your room offers very pleasant "canal"view , luxury furniture with a washroom walled by history of Amsterdam in bluedelft color (so you can spend long time there for educting yourself about it:)), an italian perfect shower walled by mirrors, tea and coffee with Nespresso machine, a perfect bed and overall, many books and guides about history of the city, touristic information..We had dinner and full breakfast in the nice dinerroom, very pleasant (test their "florentina style" eggs for breakfast, it's delightful). After all, location is perfect, the "lost garden" looks nice despite wintertime, the small spa very cosy, and staff is young, friendly and courteous. You have to know that in Amsterdam, carpark is very expensive (you have to book you carpark in the hotel before arriving and it costs 65euros per day, but it's a real service)
We have traveled a lot all around the world, and this hotel is a must in Amsterdam, we warmly recommend it!

Room Tip: 3 types of room: canalview (most expensive), gardenview (quiet standard) and insideview (lobby) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minhue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had a two night stay last weekend in an Andaz Suite.

Great room, large, bright and airy. Huge bathroom with a bath in the middle of the floor. Great decor and the staff were superb.

Few problems - turndown service came at 10pm (a little late), WiFi did not work in my room (but they gave me an extra room to work in), and the room was not cleaned until very late in day (apology offered and accepted, mini-bar not refreshed during stay.

Room Tip: All seem good, although Canal View might be fun next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Andaz is the most amazing brand of hotels. The story that each location tells is the thing that most interests me about their properties. Although the old Andaz in WeHo, CA is my all-time favorite, this hotel blew me away. The Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht was way more than I expected. The location, room, and staff were amazing. The service was great. The lobby was is very comfortable and turns into a great social spot between 5-7PM.

The hotel serves free wine in the library each night from 5-7PM. The library has the most amazing chandelier and table for sitting. While there I met Michael Stevens who works with the implementation of Hyatt hotels, specifically Andaz. He gave us a short tour of the place. The room was nice. I learned that every sink in the hotel is different. Because the building is a former library, there are books everywhere.

The view from the elevator is nice. I believe as you're going up it tells the story of Heaven and Hell. Room 409 has is on the front of the hotel with a view of a canal...not too bad. The breakfast was great. They have a regular menu and a continental breakfast (Hyatt Diamond members can have both, but check your bill upon check out). I did not have dinner there, but I heard it's really good as well. The location is within walking distance of most of the main attractions on that side of town.

The one bad thing I would have to say about the hotel is the video art that it has. In the lobby there is a huge wall of monitors of video art. This particular piece of art was a women in her underwear jumping on a bed. It was the most annoying thing, but apparently it changes often. They would have been better off using a screen saver of some sort for this.

The pictures I took with my iPhone doesn't do this place justice. I'll be back to this location soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gleethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staying for 2 nights, mid-week, at this hotel, it was a very good experience. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel decor is very stylish and the bar has already become a fashionable place to drink. Located right on the Prisengracht (canal) it is very convenient for the whole of Amsterdam, and within walking distance of many sights. Plus it is a very quiet and peaceful location, with some nice restaurants and bars just a short walk away. Just watch out for the many cyclists flying past the hotel entrance.

The hotel rooms had a very good layout with separate walk-in shower, and the basin/mirror in the main room. It was well lit by this basin/mirror area, but I think the rest of the room, around the bed and desk did not have enough light, and it was difficult to do work in the low level of light. However, the hotel is very nice and I would recommend staying here if your traveling on business or for holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WooTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
285 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel! They truly go above and beyond for their guests, and are an incredible asset to the Hyatt brand! The location is perfect! The staff is friendly and courteous, and works very hard to ensure that your trip is perfect! They offer you fresh coffee, have iPad check in, and are more than happy to help you create an appropriate itinerary. They are very well aware of the various attractions and locations in the area, and will help you maximize your time in Amsterdam!

We didn't try the pool or fitness room as I don't think it was ready, but they offered alternatives for that until it is completed.

You can't get a better value elsewhere! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The suites are certainly worthwhile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAndazAmsterdam, General Manager at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Mark42139,
Thank you for staying with us and for your great feedback.
We hope to see you soon again at Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht.
Toni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,001 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 587, 1016 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing