We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“first class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

from the moment you walk in the door you are made to feel very welcome by the very pleasant and helpful staff, the room was spotlessly clean and tidy
with everything as it should be. transport to the centre is very easy two short tram trips there and the same back, which is no problem and allows you to hop off an on to visit cafés and restaurants' outside the tourist zone to sample the real Amsterdam and its very friendly people and un-inflated food and drink! the hotel restaurant was amazing! the choice of dishes and value for money was excellent the manager in the restaurant was the nicest guy you could meet and could not do enough for you, I honestly could not recommend the golden tulip enough, value for money 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    423
    56
    11
    6
See reviews for
155
514
38
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tournai, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is easy acces from the road and offers a private closed parking.
Rooms are very nice, modern and clean. Great beds, breakfast and diner offers a large variety . To resume the stay just perfect !!! I recommend it :D

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Have just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel. Easy to get to from Sloterdijk Station. Not the nicest looking hotel from outside but it was lovely inside. Staff on check-in were all pleasant and very helpful - as were all the other staff. We had a superior double room which was spacious as was the bathroom. Our room was at the front but with the window shut we couldnt hear any noise. Nor could we hear any noise from other rooms. The large bed was probably the most comfortable weve slept in. The room was cleaned daily. We had one breakfast which my husband enjoyed but I didnt (just personal tatse nothing wrong with the food!) We also tried the evening buffet which was lovely. We ate out the rest of the time. We found an Indian restaurant - Koh-I-Noor which we can highly recommend. The location of the hotel might not suit some but after the hustle and bustle of the City it was nice to go back somewhere quieter to relax. That said we loved the buzz of the City. We bought a 4 day pass for the tram. We also went to Zandvoort aan Zee a pretty seaside resort which had a lovely beach. Easy to get to by bus or train. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Golden Tulip Amsterdam and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I stayed in , the staff are very friendly , the location is between the airport and dam square which was perfect for me , and there is a tram station 2 minutes walk from the hotel "can buy tickets for tram from hotel". You can rent a bike from the hotel and they have a tour desk as well. The break fast is pretty big with allot of options . In the mroning you can walk out from the main door and cross the street to have a nice walk or jog with the big trees on your sides ,just amazing .

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very nice hotel!
Very clean, well thought out, comfortable!
Just an incredible breakfast.

Among the shortcomings:
Not the best location, although it did not bother us. The second drawback - I have twice written off the money for the room. First, at the entrance, and when you check out.
Oh well, the hotel is very nice and worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

First impressions were great, we arrived earlier than the stated check in time and the staff were helpful in finding us a room so we did not have to wait 3 hours. We were given a double room which was a lot more spacious than expected and I was instantly impressed at how clean and hygienic the hotel and room was. The room had facilities such as a coffee machine, with the tea and coffee supplies being re-stocked everyday, free wi-fi, a flat screen TV with a few English channels and a shower big enough for two people. In addition to this the hotel has a system were by you can request your room be cleaned and re-stocked between 11am and 4pm electronically or just request to not be disturbed. Having the add on of breakfast was definitely a great decision, with a selection of bread, cereals, meats, fruit, salads, juices and spreads the choice was more than enough to have something different the seven days we were there. The staff at the hotel made this trip all the more enjoyable, being helpful when buying tram/bus tickets and giving us advice on the best way to get to a few different places. By the second day we felt comfortable enough to walk to the city centre which only took us around 30minutes and was great as you get to see a lot more of amsterdam than you would if on the tram. The location was perfect for us however I know many people would prefer being closer to the city centre despite the tram 12 and 13 getting you there in under 15minutes. The one and only negative comment I have to make is the price of evening meal at the restaurant, we ended up just having breakfast their and eating out for dinner and lunch due to the price of the meals

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in April. Lovely hotel, & great location for access to trams.
Rooms were spotless, luxury bathroom with under floor !!
The tram stop is a short walking distance from the hotel, tram number 12.
Nespresso coffee machine in room. Ours didn't work, but was fixed promptly.
An excellent value for money hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.