We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
lleda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Although the hotel is not in the city centre, you can easily arrive there by public transport (tram 13 from Centraal Station and then change to tram 12 at Admiraal deRuijterweg stop). This very same tram takes you to the Van Gogh museum and you can get your public transport day tickets at the hotel. The hotel is quite, clean, nicely furnished with big rooms and a fine bathroom. You can prepare your own coffee or tea thanks to a Nespresso coffee maker in your room, where you can enjoy free Wi-Fi and a mini bar, too. Breakfast is huge with everything you would like to eat, from fresh fruit to omelettes and 10 different kinds of cheese! The staff is really gentle and helpful. The hotel is only for non-smokers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    423
    56
    11
    6
See reviews for
155
514
38
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night recently with my wife.
Easy to find by car and secure parking underneath the hotel was a bonus and not as expensive as other hotels.
Nice quiet room (5th floor), comfortable bed and a modern (compartively) large bathroom (shower no bath).
Breakfast was copious (included in the rate) with lots of choices.
No complaints, would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were attending a wedding in Leiden but stayed in Amsterdam to explore the city. This hotel is on the outskirts of Amsterdam but the frequent tram stops yards from the hotel so getting back and forward into the centre of Amsterdam is no problem, indeed it is quite fun if you are not used to a city with trams. The hotel has the look of a business hotel but was full of tourists like us while we were there lending an informal atmosphere to the place, which was nice. The room and facilities were first-class, as was the service and the breakfasts were as good as any I have had in any hotel. If we were returning to Amsterdam we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Horrible looking building from the outside, but very nice inside!

We had a standard room with comfy beds, aircon, minibar, very good choice of satellite channels on TV, lovely bathroom, Nespresso machine, free wi-fi. No problems at all and a warm welcome received.

We ate in the hotel restaurant twice and for breakfast. The dinner is an all you can eat buffet, which is good value at 24 euros/pp for hotel guests. However, don't be put off, the food is very good indeed, even having oysters! It's nothing like the all you can eat buffets back home full of greedy people in tracksuits shoving in fried rubbish!

Thanks for a great, friendly stay, and sure we will stay here again when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Booked this hotel through their own website...after checking reviews on here... And I have got to say they were spot on.
It was my 1st trip to holland... Myself and my 9 year old daughter... Only checked out yesterday (30/7/14)
We travelled over on coach into amstel station... Tram 12 in 35mins.... Easy.... Tram stop is literally just over the road from the hotel.
Check in very easy by a lovely helpful lady named Koke, she gave us maps and showed us where to change trams to get to a couple of places we wanted to visit.
Room was beautiful, modern and clean, large TV, lovely bathroom with nice big waterfall shower with shampoo,conditioner,shower gel and body cream all included. The beds are ultra comfy and I slept like a log.
8.30 in morning lovely lady knocks to ask if we need any more bathroom toiletries etc or if mini bar needs refilling..... Nice to have such great service
We ate in the dream restaurant for both the evening and breakfast buffet once each on the trip.... A little expensive for the child's price I thought but an excellent choice of foods and desserts.
Stopped off in the bar a couple of times for a nice cold drink... Bar staff really friendly but not over the top.... Very nice
There is also free wifi throughout the hotel, which cheered my daughter up immensely as she had her iPad wih her.... So saved on the mobile data!!!
Once used to the tram system and where to change I think it's an excellent way to get around the city.. After going into the city I'm really glad I chose a hotel that's away form all the noise and bustle.
Now for my only one bad comment....... It's such a big hotel I do feel that a small shop selling snacks/crisps/chocolate/soft drinks would be really good,..... Because as I was there with my young daughter so we were back at hotel most evenings by 8ish apart from buying a cold drink at €2.50 for a small bottle at the bar or a can from the mini bar there is nowhere nearby to get anything... So what we used to do when coming home was we would stay on the tram to the station which is only 2 stops past the hotel, buy anything we needed for the evening from the shops there and then jump back on the tram to hotel.... Easy
I will most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and I will without a doubt be staying there again next year hopefully

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice modern hotel that is worth considering if you don't mind being within walking distance of downtown amsterdam. Breakfast buffet is very good. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Only downside is the location. There is a tram outside the hotel that will take you to leidesplein. Or you can walk about 10 minutes or so to the train station (sloterdijk) and get into town that way.
The upside is that a comparable hotel in central amsterdam would cost you a lot more money.
One tip, If you need to get laundry done, there is a laundry place that is just a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel laundry service is quite expensive.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice Hotel, Great service, beautiful rooms, all in all - we will come again :) thank you for making our stay in amsterdam so comfortable!
Also the location was great, a little bit outside the centre but you can get everywhere very quickly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.