We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on outskirts of amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great hotel on outskirts of amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice modern hotel that is worth considering if you don't mind being within walking distance of downtown amsterdam. Breakfast buffet is very good. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Only downside is the location. There is a tram outside the hotel that will take you to leidesplein. Or you can walk about 10 minutes or so to the train station (sloterdijk) and get into town that way.
The upside is that a comparable hotel in central amsterdam would cost you a lot more money.
One tip, If you need to get laundry done, there is a laundry place that is just a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel laundry service is quite expensive.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice Hotel, Great service, beautiful rooms, all in all - we will come again :) thank you for making our stay in amsterdam so comfortable!
Also the location was great, a little bit outside the centre but you can get everywhere very quickly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Manuela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We arrived at midnight, our first room was amazing. But, we found 2 big spiders inside the room and the AC wasnt working. So they changed us to a smaller and cheaper room - i dont think that its fair enough. Today, we still had to pay the room. Now we left the hotel. The receptionist was really rude. Btw, the room looks clean but i dont think that a clean room have spiders.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaysDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTAW, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
I am sorry to hear that you feel your stay was the worst possible. During your stay we were fully booked and the only room available was the one we moved you too. If we had a simular room off course we would have given it to you.
It is our goal to have very clean rooms and overall we succeed in that goal. If we could instruct flies and little spiders to not enter the rooms, we would, unfortunately we cannot and in this time of year there are a lot of them.
I hope your stay in Amsterdam was more succesful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a great place to stay in Amsterdam. I took my girlfriend here for her 21st birthday and it was just perfect. The breakfast (optional) was a little expensive but fantastic; buffet style and lots and lots of choices. The location of the hotel is great. It is a short train ride from Amsterdam airport to Sloterdijk station, which you can easily walk to the hotel from. The tram station is literally a two minute walk from the hotel and they are as regular as clockwork and cheap too. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay and the best bit was the price....very reasonable for the quality of the hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay a little out of the city, but well within reach of it. Thank you Golden Tulip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth_B76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

One of my favourite hotels! we love the contemporary look , clean smell and amazing customer service.
We enjoyed our stay and love it! the only inconvenience was that the location was not a walking distance from downtown. Other than that it was a great selection!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyrm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was excellent and the staff were wonderful. I twisted my ankle in Amsterdam and broke a bone and they could not have been kinder or more helpful. Five stars, absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eejaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I was staying at this hotel for a businesstrip. When I arrived to check in the person in the reception was helping me and explaining where to go and what to do in Amsterdam. The rooms was brilliant! It was aircondition, a big bed, and a very nice bathroom with a waterfall-shower. The room was new, modern and spacious. There were no noise from the outside at night. I would recomand to try the dinner buffet in the Dream restaurant! I will definietly choose this hotel next time i visit Amsterdam. Lovely staff, lovely place.

Room Tip: Any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmillyOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,033 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast and dinner, a nice bar for lunch, bites and drinks, a lounge and business centre, three meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, EasyToBook and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing