We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel - well worth the cost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel - well worth the cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This property is Extremely nice. Lots of space in our large room with a queen bed and two singles. Clean, comfortable, close to the street car stop, Parking garage underneath (at extra cost but worth it). iron and ironing board in the room. lots of lights and great windows. A large bathroom. I would absolutely stay here again. Worth noting is that for the lights and outlets to work in the room, you must put the cardkey in a slot near the room door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    646
    91
    19
    14
See reviews for
272
796
56
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I loved the location of this Hotel since its near to Tram and Busses also Train station!
Its very clean Hotel and has a delicious Buffet for dinner ..
No activities at all in this hotel .. Only small bar in the lounge ..
The staff of reception are not welcomed enough and need some training ..
The internet connection is very good so you can enjoy this free connection

The price of rooms are reasonable ..

I luv this hotel since its good for business travelers ..

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is located outside city, but rail and tram only a few steps away. Rooms were wonderful, very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was a little pricey, we decided to just get on tram and find something further in Amsterdam. Highly recommend hotel, had a wonderful stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

After spending ages deciding where to stay in Amsterdam I finally settled on this place.
Very convenient to get to from the Airport, jump straight on the Train from the airport (two stops) then onto the tram (no. 12) for two stops which drops you at the hotel doors, takes around 30minutes door to door. Staff are friendly, welcoming and down to earth. Rooms are clean and spacious. Towels could be of better quality if i'm being fussy but asides from that our stay was painless and enjoyable when in the premiss. The hotel offers tram passes from reception which I would recommend (it's a 20 minute tram trip into town) and also bike rental. Will definitely be booking back in here on future visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a large standard room as some are a lot smaller and you'll find yourself tripping over s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for three nights, which was probably enough due to the location. That said, the staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was spotless and the complimentary toiletries in the beautiful bathroom are a nice touch.

The breakfast is well worth paying the extra for as the food and choice was superb. I should also point out that there is nowhere else to get a meal in this area.

The journey in to Central Amsterdam was fine for four days, but I suspect any longer or with children, that it could become tedious. Please note that you have to take two trams to reach the centre. This was not explained to us, which led to us seeing rather more of the Amsterdam area than we had planned!

The trains and the tram system are brilliant! Definitely buy a tram pass for multiple trips as soon as you arrive. It's a clear and simple system, but the passes make it even easier.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington (uk)
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
101 hotel reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed in the Golden Tulip for two weeks on a business trip, and whilst this hotel is very nice this was long enough as eventually you find the bad points!

The hotel is well located for local business and central Amsterdam can be reached in 20 minutes by train or tram. On arrival the check in was efficient and the staff were very welcoming providing lots of information on local attractions and travel etc.

My room was spacious very modern, clean and comfortable and ideal for a business visitor.

The breakfast at the hotel was excellent with a very large choice and selection. In the evening a buffet is held for €24.50 (not including alcoholic drinks) with a great selection of salads, fish, oysters, desserts and main course options. You can also have various types of meat or fished cooked for you by the chefs. My only point here is that the meat is not the greatest quality and everything is cooked in oil, not the most healthy choice! For the price the buffet is OK, but when spending 2 weeks there you will really need to get out as it the same, night in night out!

On the whole this is a good business hotel for a few nights, but is not ideal for longer term stays in the City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is huge but copes well with the number of visitors. The restaurant sells you a buffet for 2 hours for £22 which includes a large selection of dishes. However this is the only option unless you have a plate of fries from the bar. There are no local cafes so its either eat in Amsterdam or the restaurant which is not much of a choice. The reception staff were helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
The rooms were of a good size and the beds very comfortable. Strange tea flavours were available in the room though?
Breakfast was £13 which seemed expensive until you pay £15 for egg on toast and a coffee in Amsterdam. The buffet style breakfast was therefore a far better option - lesson learnt.
Overall we would stay there again

Room Tip: Room at the front gives a good view and go as high as the 7th floor - its even better. Only 3 spaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.