We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, good deals on room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
England,UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, good deals on room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros:

- Modern and well furnished
- Good room size (standard room), may feel a little bit on the small size, but what we expected for a standard room. Good night lights.
- Temp control in room (min 18), able to open windows, which was a big plus on hot days
- Good storage facilities
- All Modcons - Nespresso machine,hot water dispenser,safe, hair dryer/iron, ice available from bar
- Lovely spacious bathroom, lots of mirrors, rain shower, drying rail, heated floor
- Staff (mostly) friendly & courteous (on arrival, we were greeted by a young staff member with a very patronising attitude, but we found the rest of the staff very friendly)
- Late checkout available for a very reasonable fee
- Prompt response by email
- Good Wifi signal, dropped occasionally, but not bad at all, free wifi
- LOVED: USB charger and UK plug, took the hassle out of having to worry about adapters!
- LOVED: the electronic "Do not disturb", "Bell", and "clean room now" signs - very handy!
- LOVED: Good soundproofing - we were on the second floor facing the main street and could not hear any noise from the road whatsoever
- 2 min away from the tram stop, and hotel easy to spot once you get off at the tram stop (almost diagonally opposite). Tram frequency good - every 10-15 min apart from rush hour (5:30-7:30ish), where you might end up waiting a bit longer.



Cons:

- Away from the city centre, requires a train to Sloterdijk & then tram 12 (2 stops) [Get return train tickets & tram pass at Arrivals desk or hotel front desk] Takes around 30 min including transit time.
- Lack of restaurants around the area, this is a real pain as it means that if you come back to change & shower after a long day of travel, you then have to take the train back to city centre again (tram 12 to Kinkerstraat, then 7 or one of the other lines towards Dam or Centraal), which is a journey involving 8-9 stops and one interchange. The hotel has its own restaurant, though we didn't try this for either dinner or breakfast.
- Lack of supermarkets/corner shops in the area - the Lidl opposite the hotel is one of the most dire supermarkets I have ever been to, and I wouldn't really bank on it for food, but good for essentials like water or jam/ butter (p.s.: tap water is perfectly drinkable in the Netherlands)
- No fridge in room, instead there is a (chargeable) drinks dispenser. I always find a fridge handy for chilling water or storing excess food, or breakfast items. Disappointing.

TIPS:
- Try the lovely bakery opposite tram 12/tram 7 intersection at Kinkerstraat, unbelievably economical & delicious, you will not be disappointed! Try the pancake place on the Dam.
- Print out a map of the tram route from the net before you go, the tram maps that I received were unbelievably complicated (its hard when you only have a few days to orient yourself), and I was really pleased that I had thought to print out a much simpler one from an online site beforehand.
- Do get a tram pass (upto 96 h) - this is more economical than paying single fares, and passes are valid on tram, tube and night buses.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor overlooking the main street, and didn't face any noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    265
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
98
301
22
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I couldn't fault any thing to do with this hotel. Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014 after reading reviews on tripadvisor. It was a short walk from Sloterdijk station.
Our room was lovely and spacious, exceptionally clean and modern with a very comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast was very nice with a vast array of hot and cold foods. we also ate in the hotel restaurant one night, again the selection of different foods available at the buffet was huge and all cooked to a high quality.
The hotel was located right at a metro stop and it was only a short ride into town to all ships, restaurants etc.

Overall we were delighted with our stay in every way and would recommend to anyone on a visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel. good and clean rooms, with all the facilities you need- comfortable bed, hot water, free wifi, etc. The breakfast buffet is very good with large selection. friendly stuff that are happy to help. The only downside of the hotel is that you need to take 10-15 minutes tram ride to get to the center. Other than that - best ROI

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a modern hotel with well furnished spacious and quiet rooms. There is an excellent tea/coffee maker in the room. The bathroom is adequately spacious with a very good shower. House keeping is very efficient and the front desk staff are helpful and friendly .Getting to the hotel from the airport by train and tram/bus is easy.The distance from the city centre is not an issue if you don't mind travelling by trams and bus.However if you reach late be warned that the hotel restaurant and neighbourhood eating places shut shop by ten .But then the breakfast is excellent
And quite a spread.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room of a double bed was spacious and with all the nice facilities. The breakfast was a bit expensive, 15euros, but considering Amsterdam's prices, it was great value! Their booking.com page can tell you all. The only thing is about the location, but it is less than 10 minutes walk from a train/tram station, so if transportation is what you are up to, this can be the place to stay! Please note that they would charge you a city tax when you check out, and you can choose to pay by dollars or euros.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has really nice rooms with extras like heated floors which I had never seen in a hotel. Breakfast buffet is excellent with more food than anyone could eat. Staff was helpful and friendly. Tram is nearby to get into town. It isn't in downtown which is nice
. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had an amazing stay at this Hotel. We really enjoyed our stay.
Traveled during June with friends. We booked a quadruple room. The room was very luxurious. There was a very delicious coffee and tea facility in the room for free.
Everything was very clean and neat.
There is a tram station very close. However there is no direct tram to the center. You have to switch lines to go to center.
Overall I had a very good impression and definitely would recommend this hotel for travelers to Amsterdam. The location is not very good. However it is worth to do the 20 minutes tram journey in order to stay at Golden Tulip hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.