We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stylish and comfortable hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Newark, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great stylish and comfortable hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a great location! Parking was ample and not stupidly expensive at 12.50 per 24 hours. Rather cheap for Amsterdam standards!

Check-in was quick and efficient, with staff being very friendly and speaking multiple languages, easily switching from Dutch to English, to German to Spanish.

We did not include breakfast in our stay as we had a very early start the next day. Our room was lovely, spacious, modern and comfortable. The glass shower cabin is amazing and both bathroom and bedroom were spotlessly clean.

The bed was super comfortable, our bottle of wine had been delivered as requested and the room was quiet. Free wifi, no login codes, was greatly appreciated.

The only negative I found was the fridge: difficult to explain but it's more a cooled vending machine than a fridge, so you can select drinks to drop down, but you cannot store your own drinks in it, which was a shame.

The tram stops about 100 yards away. An 'enkeltje' (single ticket) is around 2.80pp, a day ticket (can be bought from reception) is around 7.50. Getting to and from town is easy. There are buses nearby too so we left the car in the garage and just used public transport during our stay.

Great find!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    287
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
112
328
24
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights and 4 days in Amsterdam! So delighted to have booked Golden Tulip Hotel for our stay! Although it's a little out of the centre, it is a perfect location as the no 12 tram is around the corner from the hotel and brings you straight to the Museum Plaza where you find the Van Gough Museum!! From there you can get another tram (no 2) which will bring you straight into the centre of Amsterdam.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, spacious and the staff are very friendly! Breakfast was included in our rate and SO worth it! The spread was fantastic and really set you up for the day! Freshly squeezed orange juice every day- yummy!!

We bought our 72 hour tram pass at the hotel reception desk and it was fantastic value for all the tram journeys we made! We walked from the train station Sloterdijk to the hotel on arrival(10 mins) as we didn't have our tram pass. Heading back towards the airport we got the tram. One stop and we were at Sloterdijk where we got our connecting train for the airport. The transport system is fantastic all over!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam! Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for a mid week break, the tram stops opposite the hotel and this is useful for getting to the airport or into Amsterdam city. The hotel was quiet, and has very comfortable large rooms, a large bathroom with a walk in shower. The room was immaculately clean with a large comfortable bed. The hotel has free wi-fi and a lovely sitting/computer area behind reception. On arrival the staff were very helpful, they advised on the cheapest way to travel to the city and answered all our questions well. My friends had breakfast which was very substantial and tasty. When we left, I realised I had left my favourite cardigan in the hotel room. I emailed the hotel and they agreed to send the cardigan to me. My daughter was due to go to Amsterdam in the following few days so I arranged for the cardigan to be dropped off at another hotel the other side of the city. I was expecting to pay, but I was not charged for this 'Raol' dropped it off on his way home, what an excellent example of customer service and I now have the cardigan back. Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam. We stayed at the Golden Tulip Hotel. This hotel is amazing and the staff so helpful and pleasant. They are always available to help and advise. The hotel is not in the centre but has a tram stop opposite the hotel and staff explain which one you need and where to change etc. It is very easy to get about using the trams. The rooms in the hotel are very comfortable, clean and a good size. The breakfasts are wonderful and as it is a buffet you can find plenty for everyone`s tastes and as much as you like. We had an evening meal one night and that too was very enjoyable with plenty choice and very reasonable. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Golden Tulip and Amsterdam and we love to return soon. Special thanks to staff Desiree and Brian who were very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is not in the center but is well served by the public trasport services. There is a tram stop near the hotel and you can get to the center in 15 minutes. It's also only a few minutes distant from Sloterdijk station where you can take the train to the Schiphol airport. Considering that taxi trasportation to the airport coasts about 45 euro, this is the option to prefer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern with Nespresso self service tea and coffee machine, minibar, wi-fi free, TV and airconditioning. There are also a restaurant, a bar and a meeting room. I missed personally a fitness room but you can rent a bike and use it as a recreation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Golden Tulip for 4 nights in April 2014. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and quick to respond to any of our needs. It was a little hard to find initially, but it's convenient to the airport and Sloterdijk station. The bar downstairs has good bitterballen, a local snack specialty. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.