We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in Amsterdam!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in Amsterdam!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights and 4 days in Amsterdam! So delighted to have booked Golden Tulip Hotel for our stay! Although it's a little out of the centre, it is a perfect location as the no 12 tram is around the corner from the hotel and brings you straight to the Museum Plaza where you find the Van Gough Museum!! From there you can get another tram (no 2) which will bring you straight into the centre of Amsterdam.

The hotel itself is modern, clean, spacious and the staff are very friendly! Breakfast was included in our rate and SO worth it! The spread was fantastic and really set you up for the day! Freshly squeezed orange juice every day- yummy!!

We bought our 72 hour tram pass at the hotel reception desk and it was fantastic value for all the tram journeys we made! We walked from the train station Sloterdijk to the hotel on arrival(10 mins) as we didn't have our tram pass. Heading back towards the airport we got the tram. One stop and we were at Sloterdijk where we got our connecting train for the airport. The transport system is fantastic all over!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam! Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    575
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
235
716
50
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for a mid week break, the tram stops opposite the hotel and this is useful for getting to the airport or into Amsterdam city. The hotel was quiet, and has very comfortable large rooms, a large bathroom with a walk in shower. The room was immaculately clean with a large comfortable bed. The hotel has free wi-fi and a lovely sitting/computer area behind reception. On arrival the staff were very helpful, they advised on the cheapest way to travel to the city and answered all our questions well. My friends had breakfast which was very substantial and tasty. When we left, I realised I had left my favourite cardigan in the hotel room. I emailed the hotel and they agreed to send the cardigan to me. My daughter was due to go to Amsterdam in the following few days so I arranged for the cardigan to be dropped off at another hotel the other side of the city. I was expecting to pay, but I was not charged for this 'Raol' dropped it off on his way home, what an excellent example of customer service and I now have the cardigan back. Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam. We stayed at the Golden Tulip Hotel. This hotel is amazing and the staff so helpful and pleasant. They are always available to help and advise. The hotel is not in the centre but has a tram stop opposite the hotel and staff explain which one you need and where to change etc. It is very easy to get about using the trams. The rooms in the hotel are very comfortable, clean and a good size. The breakfasts are wonderful and as it is a buffet you can find plenty for everyone`s tastes and as much as you like. We had an evening meal one night and that too was very enjoyable with plenty choice and very reasonable. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Golden Tulip and Amsterdam and we love to return soon. Special thanks to staff Desiree and Brian who were very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is not in the center but is well served by the public trasport services. There is a tram stop near the hotel and you can get to the center in 15 minutes. It's also only a few minutes distant from Sloterdijk station where you can take the train to the Schiphol airport. Considering that taxi trasportation to the airport coasts about 45 euro, this is the option to prefer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern with Nespresso self service tea and coffee machine, minibar, wi-fi free, TV and airconditioning. There are also a restaurant, a bar and a meeting room. I missed personally a fitness room but you can rent a bike and use it as a recreation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Golden Tulip for 4 nights in April 2014. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and quick to respond to any of our needs. It was a little hard to find initially, but it's convenient to the airport and Sloterdijk station. The bar downstairs has good bitterballen, a local snack specialty. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just stayed for 3 nights. An excellent hotel. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms lovely and food excellent (both breakfast and evening meal).
Only possible downside is the distance into the city centre but this did not bother us as the trams are frequent, cheap and only take about 15 minutes.
The overall price is fantastic for the hotel you get.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.