We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant hotel, excelent staff and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bolton England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellant hotel, excelent staff and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam. We stayed at the Golden Tulip Hotel. This hotel is amazing and the staff so helpful and pleasant. They are always available to help and advise. The hotel is not in the centre but has a tram stop opposite the hotel and staff explain which one you need and where to change etc. It is very easy to get about using the trams. The rooms in the hotel are very comfortable, clean and a good size. The breakfasts are wonderful and as it is a buffet you can find plenty for everyone`s tastes and as much as you like. We had an evening meal one night and that too was very enjoyable with plenty choice and very reasonable. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Golden Tulip and Amsterdam and we love to return soon. Special thanks to staff Desiree and Brian who were very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    731
    102
    21
    16
See reviews for
337
879
58
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is not in the center but is well served by the public trasport services. There is a tram stop near the hotel and you can get to the center in 15 minutes. It's also only a few minutes distant from Sloterdijk station where you can take the train to the Schiphol airport. Considering that taxi trasportation to the airport coasts about 45 euro, this is the option to prefer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern with Nespresso self service tea and coffee machine, minibar, wi-fi free, TV and airconditioning. There are also a restaurant, a bar and a meeting room. I missed personally a fitness room but you can rent a bike and use it as a recreation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the Golden Tulip for 4 nights in April 2014. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and quick to respond to any of our needs. It was a little hard to find initially, but it's convenient to the airport and Sloterdijk station. The bar downstairs has good bitterballen, a local snack specialty. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just stayed for 3 nights. An excellent hotel. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms lovely and food excellent (both breakfast and evening meal).
Only possible downside is the distance into the city centre but this did not bother us as the trams are frequent, cheap and only take about 15 minutes.
The overall price is fantastic for the hotel you get.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great hotel. great staff. good location. 5 min walk from the hotel to the train station which is a good thing. a tram comes right in front of the hotel.
this hotel is modern and not old at all, we did not try the restaurant as we deemed it expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is confortable and not so fare from the town, but location is not very good.
Just near the highway and the district is not the most famous one.

Rooms are nice but cleaning is done in 10 minutes with wet towels not changed (don't tell me about the nature !).

Regarding the restaurant, you can substact 30 minutes from closing hours as the staff (not very friendly) start removing stuff as quick as they can.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast and dinner, a nice bar for lunch, bites and drinks, a lounge and business centre, three meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.