We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Weston-super-mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights in a very clean, decent-sized room, great bathroom, with 'full on' in-room Dutch coffee, free Wi-Fi & VERY helpful staff who really made us feel welcome - in perfect English of course!
We had single beds pushed together which isn't ideal, but slept well apart from noisy people slamming the doors in the nearby rooms.
It is on the outskirts, but that makes it very easy to get to & (for Amsterdam) it has reasonable parking rates.
it's very close to a No 12 tram stop, a 3 day pass cost us €16.50 each from reception, they run every 9 minutes & it doesn't take long to get into town. They run until midnight so, unless you're really into foliage or the nice bikini models in the funny little windows, there's time to enjoy a moderate night out. If you're into those things then save €20 for a taxi, you'll have already blown far more than that!

Room Tip: It's double glazed, but go higher up to keep away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    357
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
132
416
31
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Recently converted into a hotel so rooms and public areas are of a decent standard, room lighting is however on the dim side and my colleague had air con problems even after changing rooms.
A good Amsterdam option if driving, the hotel has its own underground car park and some street parking adjacent, and is close to Amsterdam's arterial roads. Tram stops outside the hotel make for easy journeys into and around the city.

I found the staff a mixed bag, some very friendly and helpful (Roel on reception), others less so (angry restaurant manageress). The hotel has a large restaurant with a good buffet breakfast and also an evening buffet; if Buffet's are your thing, then this is of decent quality with everything from Teppanyaki to made to order stir Fry's.

Good value for the rate I paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Beautiful rooms, modern decor and clean, wonderful staff. Lovely touches, nespresso coffee machine in room. The best buffet I have ever been to, the food is out of this world. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The only drawback is that it is is out of town and does need two trams. Very good value and really would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our three nights here. a modern hotel with decent-sized rooms, a wonderful rainfall shower head and heated bathroom floors, in-room coffee, free wifi, comfy and clean with VERY helpful staff and a sumptuous and reasonably priced buffet. It's located next to a tram stop and across the street from a very pleasant area of Sloterdijk; make sure to go for a walk. We thought the sinks should have plugs, and that the lights over the bed should be brighter, but that's small potatoes. The only drawback, and it may be significant, is that the hotel is on the outskirts, a 25-minute tram ride with transfer from Dam Square, and 15 minutes from the major museums, so it's harder to feel part of Amsterdam's true atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get a room "at the back", facing the village of Sloterdijk...quieter and more of a rural f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Modern hotel a 15minute tram ride from Central Amsterdam. Tram stop right outside hotel. Arrived from airport by train and the a tram from outside train station, only 1 stop. Prices for food and drink in hotel very reasonable. Had dinner there a couple times, great value at 25euro per person including soft drinks. Quiet location. Rooms quite spacious with good quality fittings and a comfy bed. Recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised entering reception - the staff were very friendly and helped us out with a tram pass, and directed us to our room.
The room was spotless and very modern which we liked, with nespresso coffee facilities, heated floor in the bathroom and a large walk in shower.
The location was ideal - two short trams from the centre, say 15 minutes in total, and just across the road from the tram stop.
We tried the breakfast on the last day and really enjoyed it, but felt you could get better value if you travelled into the centre.
The only negative is the reception we dealt with on checking out - very rude to us and abrupt, which left a sour taste upon leaving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for one night in a family room which had 4 single beds. The room was large with plenty of space for the 4 of us and the beds were comfortable. The rooms have a nespresso style coffee machine in which is a nice touch. What is even more thoughtful is that the continental plug sockets are complemented with a single UK plug socket - great for us as although we had remembered our essential iPhone/iPad chargers and cables I had forgotten the plug converter.

There is free wifi throughout the hotel and it supported an uninterrupted 30 minute FaceTime session with a relative back in the UK from our room.

The bathroom was a generously proportioned as the room itself and it had plenty of clean towels and toiletries.

Breakfast was buffet style and fairly good quality. A chef prepared eggs any way you wanted them and although there were pre-cooked hard boiled eggs he was happy to ask one of the chefs in the kitchen to soft-boil an egg which he brought to our table. There is also an orange juicing machine which squeezes the juice from the oranges itself as well as there being other juices available.

We used the free computers and printer in the hotel's business centre to buy and print museum tickets.

As others have said, the hotel is not in the centre but Amsterdam is compact enough for this not to be that much of an issue. It's conveniently located a 3 minute walk from the stop for the no.12 tram which takes 7 mins to go directly to the museum quarter. So armed with our newly printed tickets that's where we headed after breakfast and checkout.

This is a good hotel if you don't mind the tram trip back to the centre and we found the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.