We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, a little out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, a little out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

On booking this hotel, I knew it wasn't in the heart of Amsterdam. In saying this, as a younger couple we would have loved to stay later in town but due to the last tram being around midnight thought better of it. The hotel itself is great though, massive modern rooms, excellent staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    428
    56
    11
    6
See reviews for
159
518
38
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have stayed in quite a few hotels but have never seen Hotel staff so rude and unhelpful. Some of the incidents which really pissed me off are.

1. Hotel room service: I had just checked in and put on "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on the room, thinking no one would disturb I was having some romantic time with my wife. And the disaster strikes - the room service manager just open the door without knocking or ringing the door bell.!! (Yes they have a electronic door bell as well). This situation put us in a very embarrassing position and in fact made me instantly hate the hotel and the staff!!!! And the worst experience I had ever.
When I asked the room service manager why did she not knock, her reply was something on the lines of "Oh i thought we had left it on after cleaning the room" which didn't make any sense at all.

2. Check-out: We went out in the morning to visit the Tupil garden and on return we returned around 12:45. (We thought that checkout time was 14:00). No one told us, the checkout time was 12:00. On our return, we could't open the room (it was locked). When I went to reception to inquire, there was a old lady with really horrible attitude, I was told that they locked us out and now I have to pay extra 10 Euro (fine of 10 Euro per hours) for not checking out late. I found this very bad as well.

3. Buying food: We were heading to a road trip next day and bought some food from local Lidil. On our return journey reception staff commenting that "You are staying here for just one day, why do you need all this food." it was none of their business. Which made me really frustrated with the staff.

4. Bathroom: the drain on the bathroom was all left open ( I guess they just did some cleaning and forgot to put everything back in place)

One a good note: they have a very friendly female working on the tourist information desk. I forgot her name though!. I needed some help with my travel plan in Amsterdam and she spent her time helping me as much as she could. So well done her. I suggest she should get out of that place and find a nice job somewhere else, or she will turn into a eveil crook like the rest of the team there.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTAW, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Unfortunately I cannot look up in which room or period you stayed just knowing your Tripadvisor name. In our logbook, I also do not find any remarks about guests complaining about staff entering the room. Reading your review I think the Housekeeping supervisor entered your room just after you checked in. On her list it still had to be finally checked but the reception gave you the room already. A communication mistake, I agree.
Upon check in, but also in the room guestinformation and on our website you can find te check out times as well as the surcharge for every hour you would like to stay longer.
We are sorry you did not like your stay with us as I believe most of the irritations written in your review could have been solved on the spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Equip Nespresso, near public transportation to Dams Square, we can buy transport card in front office, breakfast very rich a Lot of variety.....but be carefull!!!! Watch your bag Claude a thief can come inside restaurant Whit out any secure.........

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were not sure about our booking because the Golden Tulip West is not in the center of the city. After being in the center of the city, we were so happy. Our stay was SO MUCH better because of this!! It was a quiet, lovely property. A lovely new Chinese restaurant was across the street, the tram was a short walk, and the buffet breakfast and dinner at the Golden Tulip was unparalleled for the price. Think of the best buffets in Las Vegas and you have the idea. The amount of choices was incredible and fresh squeezed OJ for breakfast was a hit with our group. Transportation is easy with the train or tram. Stay at the Golden Tulip West and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is not located in the city but is just a 20minute tram ride away, with the tram stop under 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Very convenient if you plan to also rent a car to explore other parts of the country (parking charges are euro15 per day). Rooms are well equipped and clean, large room (we stayed in a 4 bedded room) and comfortable beds. Staff are very friendly too. Don't bother driving into the city... Road are small and lots of cyclists. Just take the tram. A day ticket can be bought at the reception. There's a supermarket nearby (Lidl, near the tram stop) which makes it very convenient to get supplies.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I planned our trip at the last minute and wanted to stay somewhere in town with a canal view but I couldn't find a room there so found the Golden Tulip. I think it all worked out for the best though, as I believe this hotel is in a much quieter part of town. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. When we arrived, we were thirsty and attempted to buy 2 coca colas from the mini bar. It's unique in that it looks like a mini vending machine, operates by buttons. Ours wouldn't work so I called the front desk and we were promptly brought 2 bottles of coke with glasses and ice. Our room was situated just next to a stairwell and the door to the stairs would slam rather loudly anytime it was closed, but it only bugged me a little the first night. I didn't hear it the next 2 nights. If you will be taking public transportation, you can buy a card to use at the front desk. We did this the first day and forgot to the 2nd day and it was kind of a hassle to buy at the train station. They are sold at the money exchange office and there was a long line of people with only one person behind the counter. It was much quicker and easier at the hotel so pick it up there before you head out in the morning. We bought cards that were good for 24 hours but I think you can buy cards that are good for more than 1 day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked thru easy jet holidays so we got to have the breakfast buffet included which was really good and the same restaurant runs a dinner buffet which was even better we had to set there again. The price for the buffet is worth it comparing to what you'll get for the same price in the town .so I highly recommend to have dinner here at least once and it's international menu in a lovely set up. About the room, I almost forgot because of the restaurant, it's 4 star as it's classified. They have newly refurbished rooms and amenities so all very pretty with large bathroom that is for heated with rainfall style shower. Best bit for me? The espresso machine. I really loved using it. It's also very accessible from the airport and to the town itself. From the airport, follow the hotel's instruction or else you will pay more. It's train then tram. Very near airport and city itself. Staff are very helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.