We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5*rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5*rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Equip Nespresso, near public transportation to Dams Square, we can buy transport card in front office, breakfast very rich a Lot of variety.....but be carefull!!!! Watch your bag Claude a thief can come inside restaurant Whit out any secure.........

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ImmADean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were not sure about our booking because the Golden Tulip West is not in the center of the city. After being in the center of the city, we were so happy. Our stay was SO MUCH better because of this!! It was a quiet, lovely property. A lovely new Chinese restaurant was across the street, the tram was a short walk, and the buffet breakfast and dinner at the Golden Tulip was unparalleled for the price. Think of the best buffets in Las Vegas and you have the idea. The amount of choices was incredible and fresh squeezed OJ for breakfast was a hit with our group. Transportation is easy with the train or tram. Stay at the Golden Tulip West and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is not located in the city but is just a 20minute tram ride away, with the tram stop under 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Very convenient if you plan to also rent a car to explore other parts of the country (parking charges are euro15 per day). Rooms are well equipped and clean, large room (we stayed in a 4 bedded room) and comfortable beds. Staff are very friendly too. Don't bother driving into the city... Road are small and lots of cyclists. Just take the tram. A day ticket can be bought at the reception. There's a supermarket nearby (Lidl, near the tram stop) which makes it very convenient to get supplies.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I planned our trip at the last minute and wanted to stay somewhere in town with a canal view but I couldn't find a room there so found the Golden Tulip. I think it all worked out for the best though, as I believe this hotel is in a much quieter part of town. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. When we arrived, we were thirsty and attempted to buy 2 coca colas from the mini bar. It's unique in that it looks like a mini vending machine, operates by buttons. Ours wouldn't work so I called the front desk and we were promptly brought 2 bottles of coke with glasses and ice. Our room was situated just next to a stairwell and the door to the stairs would slam rather loudly anytime it was closed, but it only bugged me a little the first night. I didn't hear it the next 2 nights. If you will be taking public transportation, you can buy a card to use at the front desk. We did this the first day and forgot to the 2nd day and it was kind of a hassle to buy at the train station. They are sold at the money exchange office and there was a long line of people with only one person behind the counter. It was much quicker and easier at the hotel so pick it up there before you head out in the morning. We bought cards that were good for 24 hours but I think you can buy cards that are good for more than 1 day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pugmama-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked thru easy jet holidays so we got to have the breakfast buffet included which was really good and the same restaurant runs a dinner buffet which was even better we had to set there again. The price for the buffet is worth it comparing to what you'll get for the same price in the town .so I highly recommend to have dinner here at least once and it's international menu in a lovely set up. About the room, I almost forgot because of the restaurant, it's 4 star as it's classified. They have newly refurbished rooms and amenities so all very pretty with large bathroom that is for heated with rainfall style shower. Best bit for me? The espresso machine. I really loved using it. It's also very accessible from the airport and to the town itself. From the airport, follow the hotel's instruction or else you will pay more. It's train then tram. Very near airport and city itself. Staff are very helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We asked for early check in after flying in from the u.s. We arrived at 9 AM and the room was ready. We requested a king bed which was called their "superior room". The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Only minor complaint was lack of soap ( bar) and small sized towels. It was immediately corrected by the hotel staff.
The location was outside of the central district but the tram was right outside the hotel which made access to anywhere in Amsterdam very convenient. We only had breakfast in the hotel which I would rate a 4 stars. Fresh squeezed orange juice was really great along with the freshly cooked, eggs, etc. Front desk personal were very helpful and went out of their way to be accommodating.

This would appear to be a business hotel, which was not a problem for us. We only stayed one night and then left on a river cruise. The mini bar was stocked with non-alcoholic beverages and there was no charge for using it.

We would recommend this hotel. We booked thru the bookings.com web site which offered a discounted rate. Everything went very smoothly.

Room Tip: The superior room means king bed with slightly more space. It's worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTAW, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for the nice review but I just have to add one thing for future guests. Our minibar is not complementary. You were lucky and the machine in your room might have had a technical problem. In the machine are both softdrinks as alcoholic drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is away from the center of the city, which we thought was a blessing. It is on a tram line that is 10 minutes or so to the center of the city or to the train station west of centraal station. We walked to this train station to go to other places, It is a 10 minute walk.

We enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were large and clean, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were incredible.

We stayed 3 nights, and would definitely stay here again if we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast and dinner, a nice bar for lunch, bites and drinks, a lounge and business centre, three meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing