We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Tulip is Golden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Golden Tulip is Golden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were not sure about our booking because the Golden Tulip West is not in the center of the city. After being in the center of the city, we were so happy. Our stay was SO MUCH better because of this!! It was a quiet, lovely property. A lovely new Chinese restaurant was across the street, the tram was a short walk, and the buffet breakfast and dinner at the Golden Tulip was unparalleled for the price. Think of the best buffets in Las Vegas and you have the idea. The amount of choices was incredible and fresh squeezed OJ for breakfast was a hit with our group. Transportation is easy with the train or tram. Stay at the Golden Tulip West and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    267
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
99
305
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is not located in the city but is just a 20minute tram ride away, with the tram stop under 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Very convenient if you plan to also rent a car to explore other parts of the country (parking charges are euro15 per day). Rooms are well equipped and clean, large room (we stayed in a 4 bedded room) and comfortable beds. Staff are very friendly too. Don't bother driving into the city... Road are small and lots of cyclists. Just take the tram. A day ticket can be bought at the reception. There's a supermarket nearby (Lidl, near the tram stop) which makes it very convenient to get supplies.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I planned our trip at the last minute and wanted to stay somewhere in town with a canal view but I couldn't find a room there so found the Golden Tulip. I think it all worked out for the best though, as I believe this hotel is in a much quieter part of town. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. When we arrived, we were thirsty and attempted to buy 2 coca colas from the mini bar. It's unique in that it looks like a mini vending machine, operates by buttons. Ours wouldn't work so I called the front desk and we were promptly brought 2 bottles of coke with glasses and ice. Our room was situated just next to a stairwell and the door to the stairs would slam rather loudly anytime it was closed, but it only bugged me a little the first night. I didn't hear it the next 2 nights. If you will be taking public transportation, you can buy a card to use at the front desk. We did this the first day and forgot to the 2nd day and it was kind of a hassle to buy at the train station. They are sold at the money exchange office and there was a long line of people with only one person behind the counter. It was much quicker and easier at the hotel so pick it up there before you head out in the morning. We bought cards that were good for 24 hours but I think you can buy cards that are good for more than 1 day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked thru easy jet holidays so we got to have the breakfast buffet included which was really good and the same restaurant runs a dinner buffet which was even better we had to set there again. The price for the buffet is worth it comparing to what you'll get for the same price in the town .so I highly recommend to have dinner here at least once and it's international menu in a lovely set up. About the room, I almost forgot because of the restaurant, it's 4 star as it's classified. They have newly refurbished rooms and amenities so all very pretty with large bathroom that is for heated with rainfall style shower. Best bit for me? The espresso machine. I really loved using it. It's also very accessible from the airport and to the town itself. From the airport, follow the hotel's instruction or else you will pay more. It's train then tram. Very near airport and city itself. Staff are very helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We asked for early check in after flying in from the u.s. We arrived at 9 AM and the room was ready. We requested a king bed which was called their "superior room". The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Only minor complaint was lack of soap ( bar) and small sized towels. It was immediately corrected by the hotel staff.
The location was outside of the central district but the tram was right outside the hotel which made access to anywhere in Amsterdam very convenient. We only had breakfast in the hotel which I would rate a 4 stars. Fresh squeezed orange juice was really great along with the freshly cooked, eggs, etc. Front desk personal were very helpful and went out of their way to be accommodating.

This would appear to be a business hotel, which was not a problem for us. We only stayed one night and then left on a river cruise. The mini bar was stocked with non-alcoholic beverages and there was no charge for using it.

We would recommend this hotel. We booked thru the bookings.com web site which offered a discounted rate. Everything went very smoothly.

Room Tip: The superior room means king bed with slightly more space. It's worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTAW, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for the nice review but I just have to add one thing for future guests. Our minibar is not complementary. You were lucky and the machine in your room might have had a technical problem. In the machine are both softdrinks as alcoholic drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel is away from the center of the city, which we thought was a blessing. It is on a tram line that is 10 minutes or so to the center of the city or to the train station west of centraal station. We walked to this train station to go to other places, It is a 10 minute walk.

We enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were large and clean, and the breakfast and dinner buffets were incredible.

We stayed 3 nights, and would definitely stay here again if we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I normally don't review things, but this place was too great not to. We stayed here this last March. It is was a perfect stay. It was pretty cheap for three people, about $150 per night. The room was large and spacious. Everything was upgraded and modern. There was a rainfall shower head which felt so nice after a long day. The staff was very nice and our room was always cleaned when we arrived back. A tram stop across the block and will take you into the city center about 5 minutes or so away. I can not recommend this place enough. If you are going to Amsterdam, stay at this place!

If you are taking the tram, take line 12 (blue) and get off on Haarlemmerweg.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.