We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice "Golden" Hide-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice "Golden" Hide-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

7 Days, 6 Nights at the Golden Tulip Amsterdam West. Other than a few very minor gliches...like no mat on the shower floor--which they took care of immediately, and the expensive dining--other than these, we had a ball. Oh one other thing...6 nights of draw space in the room didn't quite stretch...so part of that stayed in the suitcase...which really wasn't a major problem. Boy, did the heated bathroom floor made you forget a lot of those little things---about 90 degrees all the time--WOW. We booked via Expedia---who forgot to remind the hotel that we'd paid for the room in-advance. It only took the front desk about 5 minutes to verify. In fact, because we paid for the hotel at the time we paid for the flight, by some strange means, at checkout, we actually got back about 30 Euro. Make note: I believe the main reason we enjoyed this hotel, location, etc., we because we did so much homework---before we left home, that by the time we arrived, we only had to ask minimum directions. LANGUAGE: 90% of the time most things we read were written in 3 languages: German, Spanish and English...Most everyone we talked too spoke English. We arrived in Amsterdam about 6:45 a.m. giving us a relaxed time to eat breakfast in the Airport, Understand the difference between the Trains and TRAMS portion of the airport...where the ticket-windows were, and etc. Oh, we did buy some Euros before we left the States. We departed out of Newark, NJ, but came back stateside via DC. Before we departed Amsterdam we checked to see if we could cash in our Euro in DC. Guess what...they had no office in DC, so we cashed in at the Airport before departing Amsterdam. By taking the Train (7,5 Euro for 2), and then taking TRAM #12 (3,8 Euro), it took about 45 minutes altogether...most of that riding...leaving the Airport about 8:15a and reaching the hotel about 9:00. (Expect to walk about 2 blocks between changing from Train to TRAM to reach the hotel). The hotel was very nice about locking up our suitcases until our room was ready (Maids don't come to work until 9 a.m.. So, we bought a 2-day TRAM/BUS Pass and we took off on a #12 TRAM ride again. Walked out the front door of the hotel, turning to right and walked 1 block to the next corner. Cross the street, and the TRAMS stop is about 50 feet from that intersection. After riding about 6-7 stops, we got off and switched to a #13 or #14 (at the same stop where we got off), and took it further into town..in fact all the way to City Central Station. All TRAMS run about every 7-15 minutes--from 6 a.m. to Midnight. On the TRAMS, you always swipe your pass getting on, and getting off---every time. Along this same route, we saw, stopped and tried so many little restaurants, sights, museums, bakeries, souvenir shops, grocery stores...not to mention SUBWAYS, MCDONALDS, BURGER KING, AND KFC (walking sometimes 3-4 blocks from the TRAM stop. Sometimes when we weren't sure where to switch TRAMS, we'd asked the conducts and they readily helped us. PLENTY OF GOOD (FREE) COMPUTERS IN THIS HOTEL...and many Laptop connects in the lounge as well. TV was truly INTERNATIONAL..in languages as well. There were no Refrige or Microwave, but the bars and restaurant downstairs gave me all the ice I wanted, sometimes twice a day. We found the Tangerines in most stores were unforgettably--SWEET, and seedless too. WARNING: At least 4-5 days before you depart the states, notify your bank or credit union that you may use your card where you're overseas (Its part of your protection) I tested my CU...used my debit card in a grocery store..about 8-9 Euros...got back stateside and found a charge from that grocery store of about $12...which was an excellent rate of exchange.ONE BIG NEGATIVE: Couldn't afford the hotel's 19,5 Euro per person Breakfast...nor the 29,5 per person Buffet Dinner. Many of the restaurants we saw allowed us to eat nicely at about anywhere from 6,5 to 10 Euro for a very good meal...I was able to rediscover my love for Chicken Schnitzel (German). We found a Street-side Open Market that stretched about 8 blocks..where you could actually do a little bargaining. Even there, the food was good...all kinds of meats, sandwiches, pastries, and Belgium Waffles. Be sure and plan to do the 6-hr WINDMILL tour to the north of Amsterdam...most educational. Those Windmills put the Netherlands a 1/2 century ahead of most of Europe in production of so many things...ship-building being just one of them...and how they used Levies is amazing.
All-in-All...EVERY STAFF MEMBER was out-of-there-way friendly and helpful...Oh, one other thing. You can buy all your tour-tickets, TRAMS/BUS passes, etc at the front desk. And when you buy your tour tickets there, it includes the tour company picking you up at the hotel. HOWEVER, you do have to find your own way back to the hotel after the tour brings you back downtown...hence, REMEMBER YOUR TRAM #.Should you run low on euros, the front desk will give you euros for your dollars. Also, we took over 300 photos between the two of us. We also did the 1-day tour to Brussels...which included about 6-8 blocks of walking to the town center and being on-your-own for about 4-5 hours.
Oh, when you enter your room, you immediately place your room-key in a little slot on the wall by the door. This affords you use of all your electrical things in the room---INCLUDING YOUR TV. (smile). My wife was watching TV when I decided to go get some ice. Without thinking, I open the door--grabbed my door-key out of the slot-- and the entire room went INSTANTLY DARK, and my wife screamed. Needless to say, I only did that once!
Boy, I sure miss that Bathroom (heated) floor. NICE! And by the way, In Amsterdam, zero "0" is the ground/lobby floor, not the 1st floor.

Room Tip: Go for higher up... and away from the Elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    361
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
135
421
32
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this fine hotel for three nights (4/2/14-4/5/14). The lobby was sufficiently large. As you enter, on the right there is a bar. On the left there is a long corridor leading the DREAM restaurant. We paid 106 dollars per night and it is a great value. The hotel is on the west side of Amsterdam, but tram 12 has a station within 100 yards. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Check in was rapid. The room was very clean and efficient. We had absolutely no complaint at all. The breakfast cost 15 Euros and is well worth it. The dinner buffet was absolutely fantastic for 24.95 Euros.

If I were to visit Amsterdam again, this hotel would be my first choice.

Room Tip: The backside rooms overlook a nice park. In the above evaluation, I accidentally clicked on swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We travelled to Amsterdam for four nights and chose this hotel based on the good reviews. We arrived a little before check in but this was no problem, and we were given the key to our room anyway. The staff were very friendly and gave us all the information we needed about tram tickets and times etc.
Our room was relatively spacious and absolutely spotless, with nice little touches such as UK sockets as well as European, this came in very handy! We had lunch in the hotel once and found it to be pretty good value. Dinner in the restaurant looked fantastic, it was however a little pricey but we ate in the centre most nights anyway.
The hotel was a little too far from the centre to walk to and from all of the time, but the tram was literally a one minute walk across the street and a pass for four days only cost 21 euros, which was great value and proved very efficient.
All in all this hotel provided a clean, safe and fantastic value for money base for our time in Amsterdam. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for three nights,.From the time we arrived the staff made us very welcome .The room was very inviting with a picture window overlooking the city ,the coffee machine was a real treat as were the array of bathroom toiletries Go RaibhFood at the hotel was fabulous with wide choices for each course ,relaxing with wine in the lounge afterwards finished off the days spent travelling on tours around and beyond the city .Easy access to the trams / buses outside the door of hotel made our stay enjoyable relaxing and recommending to any visitor to stay at the Golden Tulip should they be visiting Amsterdam .....Go Raibh Maith Agat ......

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a Comfort Room. Excellent modern facilities include free wifi and coffee machine in the room. We were able to park the car for 15 euro/day (cheap in Holland!) in a spacious underground car park. We recommend the evening buffet which is fantastic. Staff were all friendly and service excellent. Very convenient 15 minute tram ride into the centre of Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel suited us to a T. The service was great and the hotel was spotless. The staff more then accommodated us in every way. We had breakfast in the hotel dining room every day and could not have asked for anything more. Our last night there we chose to have dinner at the hotel and we were blown away with the food and choices. Our granddaughters like the fact that they had their choices as well. Recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Are room was excellent cannot speak for other rooms. We had a queen size bed and it was ver comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We traveled to Amsterdam for the first time as a couple for a 3 night stay at the Golden Tulip. It was fairly easy to find. You need to get on a train to Sloterdijk station from the airport. It was about 7 euros. We took a taxi to the airport from the train station on the way back and it costs us 45 euros.....So well worth jumping on the train! We walked from the train station to the hotel, it took about ten minutes. But Tram number 12 from the train station has you at the hotel in two stops...Which we would do next time.

The hotel was in a quiet location but just 15 minutes or so away from the centre of things. We were confused by the tram system at first, (The maps are not quite as easy to understand as Paris) but soon worked it out with the help of a stranger.
Essentially, come out of the hotel doors, turn right and walk down the street. You will see two tram stops. You need to get on the tram that is going in the opposite direction. You don't want to come past the hotel on the tram, if you do, you're going the wrong way for anything except the train station!
It was 4 stops on Tram 12 (Ranstad Recruitment was how we remembered it) and then change to Tram 14 there. From there it was 6 stops to Dam which is the stop for Amsterdam Square. That's where we spent most of our time. Madame Tussauds, coffee shops, Anne Frank House, Amsterdam Dungeons...All of that is reachable from this stop. Hope that helps people as we could have done with a walk through guide like that to look at!

As for the hotel itself. Staff were great. Friendly and helpful. The guy with the glasses has a big personality, he was good to talk to. The woman on the desk as we left had a good craic with us too. No complaints on that score.

The room was nice but a little smaller than we'd expected. Nothing wrong with it but we just felt it was probably the smallest hotel room we'd stayed in...But certainly one of the nicest as well!

There is no smoking in the rooms but there is a smoking area near reception for cigarettes. Just go for a wander over the road if you want to smoke the other stuff as it isn't allowed at the hotel.

One thing that was lacking was amenities close by. There was a Lidl around the corner but other than that nowhere to really buy drinks or food....We ended up stocking up in Dam Square on Day Two. The Lidl didn't really have the sort of food you might want after a day of touring Amsterdam!

Overall it was a 5* stay for us and price permitting, we would definitely stay here again if (Or more likely, when) we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.