We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for more.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We traveled to Amsterdam for the first time as a couple for a 3 night stay at the Golden Tulip. It was fairly easy to find. You need to get on a train to Sloterdijk station from the airport. It was about 7 euros. We took a taxi to the airport from the train station on the way back and it costs us 45 euros.....So well worth jumping on the train! We walked from the train station to the hotel, it took about ten minutes. But Tram number 12 from the train station has you at the hotel in two stops...Which we would do next time.

The hotel was in a quiet location but just 15 minutes or so away from the centre of things. We were confused by the tram system at first, (The maps are not quite as easy to understand as Paris) but soon worked it out with the help of a stranger.
Essentially, come out of the hotel doors, turn right and walk down the street. You will see two tram stops. You need to get on the tram that is going in the opposite direction. You don't want to come past the hotel on the tram, if you do, you're going the wrong way for anything except the train station!
It was 4 stops on Tram 12 (Ranstad Recruitment was how we remembered it) and then change to Tram 14 there. From there it was 6 stops to Dam which is the stop for Amsterdam Square. That's where we spent most of our time. Madame Tussauds, coffee shops, Anne Frank House, Amsterdam Dungeons...All of that is reachable from this stop. Hope that helps people as we could have done with a walk through guide like that to look at!

As for the hotel itself. Staff were great. Friendly and helpful. The guy with the glasses has a big personality, he was good to talk to. The woman on the desk as we left had a good craic with us too. No complaints on that score.

The room was nice but a little smaller than we'd expected. Nothing wrong with it but we just felt it was probably the smallest hotel room we'd stayed in...But certainly one of the nicest as well!

There is no smoking in the rooms but there is a smoking area near reception for cigarettes. Just go for a wander over the road if you want to smoke the other stuff as it isn't allowed at the hotel.

One thing that was lacking was amenities close by. There was a Lidl around the corner but other than that nowhere to really buy drinks or food....We ended up stocking up in Dam Square on Day Two. The Lidl didn't really have the sort of food you might want after a day of touring Amsterdam!

Overall it was a 5* stay for us and price permitting, we would definitely stay here again if (Or more likely, when) we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    429
    56
    11
    6
See reviews for
159
521
38
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Booked this hotel for a short break with our two girls, had a family room with large double and two single beds. Was €7.50 for a 24 hour pass covering all buses trams and underground so it was easy and cheap to explore the city and get back to the hotel. The tram system takes a bit of figuring out but once you work out that the transfer station names and terminus directions are displayed on the tram stops and on signs on the side panels inside the teams it gets much easier to navigate.

We were travelling with a group of 6 so was easier to use taxi to from airport. Large 6-seater taxi for all of us was €50 and took about 15 minutes. Tram was 2 minute walk from hotel and mainline train was 8 minute walk (station Sloterdijk). Breakfast was€15 pp and had a vast selection. They also have a bar open until late and a buffet restaurant offering very good value evening meal with large choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful and rooms were clean. This is a very large hotel so when big groups come in the common areas did get busy although it seemed to be dealt with efficiently. Booked through booking.com as they offered a very good advance price that did not require prepayment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Tmy second trip to amseterdam but my first to the golden tulip. I will definately return to this hotel. An excellent experience from the moment of arrival to departure. The staff were very warm and welcoming throughout my stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean with all the modern amenities that are required. The key highlight within the room was definately the large showers, great after a long day exploring. I had breakfast in the hottel every morning and the food available was great. I ate in the bar a few times sampling most of the things on the bar menu, again no complaints. On our last night staying at the hotel we went into the restraunt for the buffet meal and i can honestly say it was one of the best buffet meals i have ever had, from picking your meat and having it cooked through to asian style food, soups and the fantastic desserts, the whole dining experience was thoroughly enjoyed. Whenever in amsterdam, i shall be staying here, its a great location, away from all the noise but only a few minutes walk from the train station that can take you anywhere you need to go. The bar staff were very pleasant and i hope berto managed to get his jacobean shirt =) An excellent value for money trip, I will definately be returning!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Have recently returned from the Golden Tulip in Amsterdam West, except for a mix up with our room when we arrived, which wad quickly rectified, the whole experience was excellent. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the rooms a very good size, and an excellent shower room, although no bath, which was no problem at all. The selection of food at the breakfast and dinner buffet was very good with staff regularly checking the amount and quality of the food. The hotel is situated approximately 25 minutes by tram (you have to change from a 12 to a 13) but they run regularly and we paid 24 euros for a 2 day ticket which could be used on the tram, metro and bus. There is very little around the hotel which is why we ate in, but you could just as well eat in the centre of Amsterdam and catch the tram back as they run quite late, the hotel bar also does a limited lunch and evening menu. We found the best way to get to the hotel from the airport was a train to Sloterdijk Station 4 euros. And then the number 12 tram which stops just outside the hotel. We would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are classified as sound proof and it was certainly very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellent hotel, super clean, new furniture and decoration. Transport links are also good, main station just few minutes away. Breakfast its superb and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I had the pleasure to stay in this hotel in two occasions, and from now on this is the hotel I'll stay every time I'll be in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Careful it is bangs for the buck sure there are thousands of hotels with more luxury however for just over 80 euros i havent find one. Sure parking comes on top at 15 for 24 hours and breakfast again at 15 however there is that feeling of space and comfort that you expect at double the price.


The stafff are brilliant.

The 15 Euro breakfast is not the standard business sugary orange and some very sad scrambled egg but incredible, only to be beaten by Singaporean hotels.

Internet is lightning fast compared to some

Rooms are lovely

The location wow. A tram stop is outside the hotel, in 10-15 mins you are in the middle of the Dam.

Also outside is a path to the park with a nice walk to it. There you can see the Dutch at play. Everyone is doing something, biking, skating, even saw a lady with a ghetto blaster hulla hooping and another doing tai chi. So I am back as a Big big fand of the Dutch.

Welld done Herr Tulip

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked a three day visit to Amsterdam & choice this hotel on reading previous trip advisor reports - we were not disappointed .From arriving at the hotel , ( which was very easy to locate from the train station , 5 mins by tram or 12 mins walk ), we were impressed by the friendly and welcoming reception staff .Information on how to get to various areas of Amsterdam were freely given including tram details.
The room we had on the fourth floor was clean , spacious and modern with plenty of storage area , the only fault was the safety deposit box that despite several attempts refused to function but we chose not to report the problem which I am sure would have been resolved if we had have done.
Breakfast in the restaurant is self service but with an extremely wide choice of both warm and cold food , a nice addition is the fresh orange juice squeezing machine.Evening set price meals are also available and again with a wide selection of hot and cold food some of which is prepared to order.There is also a pleasant bar in the hotel with a good choice of drinks available.
The hotel location was ideal for us being approx.10 mins out of the main Amsterdam attractions.We found the tram service to be regular , good value and the nearest tram stop quite close to the hotel.
All in all this hotel was a great find but a special mention should be given to the excellent reception staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.