We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, convenient location for centre and Schiphol” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value, convenient location for centre and Schiphol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Booked this hotel for a short break with our two girls, had a family room with large double and two single beds. Was €7.50 for a 24 hour pass covering all buses trams and underground so it was easy and cheap to explore the city and get back to the hotel. The tram system takes a bit of figuring out but once you work out that the transfer station names and terminus directions are displayed on the tram stops and on signs on the side panels inside the teams it gets much easier to navigate.

We were travelling with a group of 6 so was easier to use taxi to from airport. Large 6-seater taxi for all of us was €50 and took about 15 minutes. Tram was 2 minute walk from hotel and mainline train was 8 minute walk (station Sloterdijk). Breakfast was€15 pp and had a vast selection. They also have a bar open until late and a buffet restaurant offering very good value evening meal with large choice. Staff were very friendly and helpful and rooms were clean. This is a very large hotel so when big groups come in the common areas did get busy although it seemed to be dealt with efficiently. Booked through booking.com as they offered a very good advance price that did not require prepayment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    719
    100
    21
    16
See reviews for
332
873
58
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Tmy second trip to amseterdam but my first to the golden tulip. I will definately return to this hotel. An excellent experience from the moment of arrival to departure. The staff were very warm and welcoming throughout my stay. The rooms were spotlessly clean with all the modern amenities that are required. The key highlight within the room was definately the large showers, great after a long day exploring. I had breakfast in the hottel every morning and the food available was great. I ate in the bar a few times sampling most of the things on the bar menu, again no complaints. On our last night staying at the hotel we went into the restraunt for the buffet meal and i can honestly say it was one of the best buffet meals i have ever had, from picking your meat and having it cooked through to asian style food, soups and the fantastic desserts, the whole dining experience was thoroughly enjoyed. Whenever in amsterdam, i shall be staying here, its a great location, away from all the noise but only a few minutes walk from the train station that can take you anywhere you need to go. The bar staff were very pleasant and i hope berto managed to get his jacobean shirt =) An excellent value for money trip, I will definately be returning!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Have recently returned from the Golden Tulip in Amsterdam West, except for a mix up with our room when we arrived, which wad quickly rectified, the whole experience was excellent. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the rooms a very good size, and an excellent shower room, although no bath, which was no problem at all. The selection of food at the breakfast and dinner buffet was very good with staff regularly checking the amount and quality of the food. The hotel is situated approximately 25 minutes by tram (you have to change from a 12 to a 13) but they run regularly and we paid 24 euros for a 2 day ticket which could be used on the tram, metro and bus. There is very little around the hotel which is why we ate in, but you could just as well eat in the centre of Amsterdam and catch the tram back as they run quite late, the hotel bar also does a limited lunch and evening menu. We found the best way to get to the hotel from the airport was a train to Sloterdijk Station 4 euros. And then the number 12 tram which stops just outside the hotel. We would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are classified as sound proof and it was certainly very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellent hotel, super clean, new furniture and decoration. Transport links are also good, main station just few minutes away. Breakfast its superb and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I had the pleasure to stay in this hotel in two occasions, and from now on this is the hotel I'll stay every time I'll be in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Careful it is bangs for the buck sure there are thousands of hotels with more luxury however for just over 80 euros i havent find one. Sure parking comes on top at 15 for 24 hours and breakfast again at 15 however there is that feeling of space and comfort that you expect at double the price.


The stafff are brilliant.

The 15 Euro breakfast is not the standard business sugary orange and some very sad scrambled egg but incredible, only to be beaten by Singaporean hotels.

Internet is lightning fast compared to some

Rooms are lovely

The location wow. A tram stop is outside the hotel, in 10-15 mins you are in the middle of the Dam.

Also outside is a path to the park with a nice walk to it. There you can see the Dutch at play. Everyone is doing something, biking, skating, even saw a lady with a ghetto blaster hulla hooping and another doing tai chi. So I am back as a Big big fand of the Dutch.

Welld done Herr Tulip

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked a three day visit to Amsterdam & choice this hotel on reading previous trip advisor reports - we were not disappointed .From arriving at the hotel , ( which was very easy to locate from the train station , 5 mins by tram or 12 mins walk ), we were impressed by the friendly and welcoming reception staff .Information on how to get to various areas of Amsterdam were freely given including tram details.
The room we had on the fourth floor was clean , spacious and modern with plenty of storage area , the only fault was the safety deposit box that despite several attempts refused to function but we chose not to report the problem which I am sure would have been resolved if we had have done.
Breakfast in the restaurant is self service but with an extremely wide choice of both warm and cold food , a nice addition is the fresh orange juice squeezing machine.Evening set price meals are also available and again with a wide selection of hot and cold food some of which is prepared to order.There is also a pleasant bar in the hotel with a good choice of drinks available.
The hotel location was ideal for us being approx.10 mins out of the main Amsterdam attractions.We found the tram service to be regular , good value and the nearest tram stop quite close to the hotel.
All in all this hotel was a great find but a special mention should be given to the excellent reception staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days for my birthday, it's the 1st time that we had been to Amsterdam. The hotel is very nice, modern & clean, staff very friendly. The restaurant looked very good but we never ate there as it was a bit expensive, the bathrooms are 1st class with heated floor & amazing power shower. The only downfall is that the hotel is a little bit away from the main hustle & bustle but can be easily reached by a couple of trams.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast and dinner, a nice bar for lunch, bites and drinks, a lounge and business centre, three meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.