We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My place in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My place in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellent hotel, super clean, new furniture and decoration. Transport links are also good, main station just few minutes away. Breakfast its superb and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I had the pleasure to stay in this hotel in two occasions, and from now on this is the hotel I'll stay every time I'll be in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    267
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
97
300
22
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Careful it is bangs for the buck sure there are thousands of hotels with more luxury however for just over 80 euros i havent find one. Sure parking comes on top at 15 for 24 hours and breakfast again at 15 however there is that feeling of space and comfort that you expect at double the price.


The stafff are brilliant.

The 15 Euro breakfast is not the standard business sugary orange and some very sad scrambled egg but incredible, only to be beaten by Singaporean hotels.

Internet is lightning fast compared to some

Rooms are lovely

The location wow. A tram stop is outside the hotel, in 10-15 mins you are in the middle of the Dam.

Also outside is a path to the park with a nice walk to it. There you can see the Dutch at play. Everyone is doing something, biking, skating, even saw a lady with a ghetto blaster hulla hooping and another doing tai chi. So I am back as a Big big fand of the Dutch.

Welld done Herr Tulip

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked a three day visit to Amsterdam & choice this hotel on reading previous trip advisor reports - we were not disappointed .From arriving at the hotel , ( which was very easy to locate from the train station , 5 mins by tram or 12 mins walk ), we were impressed by the friendly and welcoming reception staff .Information on how to get to various areas of Amsterdam were freely given including tram details.
The room we had on the fourth floor was clean , spacious and modern with plenty of storage area , the only fault was the safety deposit box that despite several attempts refused to function but we chose not to report the problem which I am sure would have been resolved if we had have done.
Breakfast in the restaurant is self service but with an extremely wide choice of both warm and cold food , a nice addition is the fresh orange juice squeezing machine.Evening set price meals are also available and again with a wide selection of hot and cold food some of which is prepared to order.There is also a pleasant bar in the hotel with a good choice of drinks available.
The hotel location was ideal for us being approx.10 mins out of the main Amsterdam attractions.We found the tram service to be regular , good value and the nearest tram stop quite close to the hotel.
All in all this hotel was a great find but a special mention should be given to the excellent reception staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days for my birthday, it's the 1st time that we had been to Amsterdam. The hotel is very nice, modern & clean, staff very friendly. The restaurant looked very good but we never ate there as it was a bit expensive, the bathrooms are 1st class with heated floor & amazing power shower. The only downfall is that the hotel is a little bit away from the main hustle & bustle but can be easily reached by a couple of trams.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Had a fantastic stay in this hotel. We couldn't check in til 2pm so we were allowed to leave our luggage as we went off and explored the city. We came back quite late and because of this they had ran out of standard twin rooms and we were upgraded to a superior twin room. The breakfast was expensive so we didn't opt for this. The room was quiet, tastefully decorated and pristine clean. I will most likely be staying here when I visit again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Traveled with 2 young adults. Stayed 4 nights in room 122 which had one king and 2 twins pushed together. Room was very spacious. One side table for each side of the beds with ample outlets. Location of the hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of central Amsterdam and was generally quiet. Transportation is just one block away...tram 12 and bus 64. Very easy to get to and from Schiphol. We felt very safe walking around the area , even late at night.

Front desk was excellent. Very helpful with all our needs. Allowed us early check-in which was greatly appreciated. Easy, quick check-out. Excellent wifi in the room...log in once and you were never logged off. Will definitely try to stay here again and will recommend to others.

This was a great spring break for us! Tulip time...

Some complaints: some towels had stains on them (smelled clean but was yellow tinged in parts). Noise from room next door...hangers banging in the closet when the neighbors came in 1 a.m. Also on third night, some people were screaming and yelling outside the hallway at 3 a.m.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

When we entered to the hotel we were greeted by a wide smiley from the front desk team. From the first impression to the last ,,goodby" everything went smoothly, perfect and we got more than we expected! Beautiful hotel in every details, the sleep quality was the best ever and the dinner.... We tried it for my boyfriends birthday and we couldnt find a better restaurant for that special occassion. Sea food, pasta, live cooking, sushi, different meats, salads .... long list, no end. The others said its far from everything, but to use the tram was lovely! Far means only a 15-20 minutes or less if you like walking and mix it with the tram, but the puclic transportation is easy, clean and fun too. Thank you for every members of the team who made our city break fantastic!! We'll definitely go back!!

Room Tip: From the 6th floor there was a beautiful view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.