We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Was here about a month after it first opened, back in late February 2013. Was greeting very well, with helpful staff evening providing a map and advising of best ways to get the the center.
Rooms: are comfortable and very high end.. the shower in particular took my fancy and made me quite envious to have my own shower at home like the one in this room.
Quite possible the best hotel I have stayed at personally with the most helpful staff.
The hotel had a quirky own little touch and character and on top of that handed my cousins lost passport in!!! Which was a life saver!

The only downfall is that it is not too close to center, but to which you have a tram stop that takes you there within a minute or 2 walking distance! I would rather stay in a place like this a little out of the way (but not too far) rather than direct in the center with mediocre and basic rooms and help.
If i go back to Amsterdam, myself and cousin agree we would only come back to stay here :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    719
    100
    21
    16
See reviews for
332
873
58
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was absolutely stunning, if not a little small. It had everything you could need, though instead of a small fridge it had a vending machine which was annoying to store anything. It also had a nespresso machine and a wonderful bathroom.

The only downside to the hotel is it's location. Whilst it's easy to get into town on tram 12 the trams don't come as often as metros in other cities we visited and there is nothing around for dinner etc. so you haven't choice but to get the tram. The tram is expensive compared to other cities too.

If I went back I would probably try and stay somewhere closer, though this hotel was absolutely awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in July of 2013, and since my significant other and I can't stop talking about what a great we had, I figured this place deserved my good word!

First of all, make sure you arrive around check-in time (early afternoon I believe.) We arrived way too early in the morning because of our flight and ended up sleeping on one of the couches in the lobby waiting for our room to be ready. Our mistake! We'll plan better next time for that. Another thing is that the front desk representatives didn't seem very familiar with the area, with one man telling us to go in the complete opposite direction of the city when we showed him a map. Now that that's out of the way...

For the cost and quality, it cannot be beat. Our room was very clean (so important to us!), modern, and comfortable. The room does come with two beds, but we just pushed them together and it really wasn't an issue. The bathroom itself was very clean- we were obsessed with its design. We also loved the little Nespresso machine so much that we ended up purchasing our own when we got home.

We also loved the breakfast offered downstairs (which you have to pay for separately)- it was so fresh and delicious. And we loved eating our breakfast outside on the deck. We also rented bicycles from the hotel, which were invaluable in terms of helping us get around the city.

The location of the hotel is great. It's just outside of the heart of Amsterdam, enough to be a good, not too long morning bike ride and you can stop at an Albert Hein on the way to grab some snacks and drinks for your day. We liked the fact that the hotel was located a little outside of the city because it felt safe and it was quiet for us to settle down at night and wake up to in the mornings. It's also within walking distance to a bus stop, which we used to get to the airport and back. It felt so good to come back to our room at the end of the day and even late at night.

We swear that we will be booking this very hotel on our next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel situated 45 minutes by bus from the airport and 15 minutes outside of the city centre on tram route 12. Staff very helpful and friendly. Buffet was definitely value for money. Couldn't fault the two nights we spent there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, 21st and 22nd February 2014.

What a beautiful hotel.

We drove from England as we were driving around Europe and Amsterdam was our first stop, driving up to the hotel we were quite apprehensive, but never judge a book by its cover!

Beautiful hotel inside, very well presented. Good car parking underneath which is 15Euro a day.
The sizes of the bed were amazing and they were pretty comfy! Everything in the room was absolutely perfect and definitely will be back!

Theres a tram to the centre, it cost just over 7Euro for 24 hour ticket. The trams are very confusing but every one was very happy to help.

The breakfast is 15Euro it was nice, I didn't go hungry! & The orange juice is spot on.

There is a Lidl just across the road if you did want to get any snacks, but I think it may have been a bit of a dodgey place!

We went sight seeing, we walked for miles was lovely Never too far from a 'coffee shop' try one. Red light district was interesting. However we nearly got mugged. 2 men walked up to us (There was 3 of us) and grabbed my boyfriend and his friend by the neck of their coats asking for their phone and money. If this does happen to you ease don't be scared just say so...We said no about 3 times then they said 'ok just wanted a cigarette' and walked off....? Be weary. I think we walked down a more of a quieter street by mistake, please stay in busy areas unless there's lots of you.

I will just say - When we left on the Sunday we traveled up to Berlin, my boyfriend then realised he had left his suit trousers and shirt in the wardrobe so he rang reception, they said they couldn't find it in their lost and found so ring again tomorrow when house keeping was in, so my boyfriend did that - They could not find his clothes. He was stupid for leaving it in the wardrobe but obviously someone has got it?? Unless house keeping do not check all the wardrobes........ So bit disappointing to be honest. Also when we left because we paid cash the credit card 'Deposit' wasn't cancelled so when we got home we then had to ring up the hotel to get them to cancel the card!

Other than that everything was perfect.

Recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed in hotel for two nights in mid February. Really recommend the dinner buffet, great value and you have 3/4 chefs waiting to cook your unique meal. The tram is located around the corner, as well as a supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from a short trip to Amsterdam. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we booked the Golden Tulip Amsterdam West. We booked direct and paid about £45 per night per room.

We requested a room not overlooking the main road which we got - it was very quiet and had a nice view over the tram line and greenery at the side of the hotel.

The hotel room was very clean and modern, the double room actually had a double bed as well which is a rarity abroad. The shower was really powerful as well. A special thank you as well to all the friendly cleaning staff and reception staff who were always happy to help and cheerful.

As other reviews mention the hotel isn't slap bang in the middle of city centre, but only a short 15-20 min tram ride away. This isn't a big deal as there is a tram stop just over the road from the hotel.

Just a little tip - if you are travelling by Train from Schipol to Sloterdijk - the platform your training will come into may not be in the main part of the station. If this is the case, if you come out of the station go straight ahead and turn right you will enter the main part of the station. You can buy tram tickets from the currency shop and board the tram by going down the steps outside (at the side of the bus station) the stop for the hotel is two stops from the station.

I hope this review will help other travellers as it helped us.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor not over the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,828 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast and dinner, a nice bar for lunch, bites and drinks, a lounge and business centre, three meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.