We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BANG for your buck! Will stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BANG for your buck! Will stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in July of 2013, and since my significant other and I can't stop talking about what a great we had, I figured this place deserved my good word!

First of all, make sure you arrive around check-in time (early afternoon I believe.) We arrived way too early in the morning because of our flight and ended up sleeping on one of the couches in the lobby waiting for our room to be ready. Our mistake! We'll plan better next time for that. Another thing is that the front desk representatives didn't seem very familiar with the area, with one man telling us to go in the complete opposite direction of the city when we showed him a map. Now that that's out of the way...

For the cost and quality, it cannot be beat. Our room was very clean (so important to us!), modern, and comfortable. The room does come with two beds, but we just pushed them together and it really wasn't an issue. The bathroom itself was very clean- we were obsessed with its design. We also loved the little Nespresso machine so much that we ended up purchasing our own when we got home.

We also loved the breakfast offered downstairs (which you have to pay for separately)- it was so fresh and delicious. And we loved eating our breakfast outside on the deck. We also rented bicycles from the hotel, which were invaluable in terms of helping us get around the city.

The location of the hotel is great. It's just outside of the heart of Amsterdam, enough to be a good, not too long morning bike ride and you can stop at an Albert Hein on the way to grab some snacks and drinks for your day. We liked the fact that the hotel was located a little outside of the city because it felt safe and it was quiet for us to settle down at night and wake up to in the mornings. It's also within walking distance to a bus stop, which we used to get to the airport and back. It felt so good to come back to our room at the end of the day and even late at night.

We swear that we will be booking this very hotel on our next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    263
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
97
299
22
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel situated 45 minutes by bus from the airport and 15 minutes outside of the city centre on tram route 12. Staff very helpful and friendly. Buffet was definitely value for money. Couldn't fault the two nights we spent there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, 21st and 22nd February 2014.

What a beautiful hotel.

We drove from England as we were driving around Europe and Amsterdam was our first stop, driving up to the hotel we were quite apprehensive, but never judge a book by its cover!

Beautiful hotel inside, very well presented. Good car parking underneath which is 15Euro a day.
The sizes of the bed were amazing and they were pretty comfy! Everything in the room was absolutely perfect and definitely will be back!

Theres a tram to the centre, it cost just over 7Euro for 24 hour ticket. The trams are very confusing but every one was very happy to help.

The breakfast is 15Euro it was nice, I didn't go hungry! & The orange juice is spot on.

There is a Lidl just across the road if you did want to get any snacks, but I think it may have been a bit of a dodgey place!

We went sight seeing, we walked for miles was lovely Never too far from a 'coffee shop' try one. Red light district was interesting. However we nearly got mugged. 2 men walked up to us (There was 3 of us) and grabbed my boyfriend and his friend by the neck of their coats asking for their phone and money. If this does happen to you ease don't be scared just say so...We said no about 3 times then they said 'ok just wanted a cigarette' and walked off....? Be weary. I think we walked down a more of a quieter street by mistake, please stay in busy areas unless there's lots of you.

I will just say - When we left on the Sunday we traveled up to Berlin, my boyfriend then realised he had left his suit trousers and shirt in the wardrobe so he rang reception, they said they couldn't find it in their lost and found so ring again tomorrow when house keeping was in, so my boyfriend did that - They could not find his clothes. He was stupid for leaving it in the wardrobe but obviously someone has got it?? Unless house keeping do not check all the wardrobes........ So bit disappointing to be honest. Also when we left because we paid cash the credit card 'Deposit' wasn't cancelled so when we got home we then had to ring up the hotel to get them to cancel the card!

Other than that everything was perfect.

Recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed in hotel for two nights in mid February. Really recommend the dinner buffet, great value and you have 3/4 chefs waiting to cook your unique meal. The tram is located around the corner, as well as a supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from a short trip to Amsterdam. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor we booked the Golden Tulip Amsterdam West. We booked direct and paid about £45 per night per room.

We requested a room not overlooking the main road which we got - it was very quiet and had a nice view over the tram line and greenery at the side of the hotel.

The hotel room was very clean and modern, the double room actually had a double bed as well which is a rarity abroad. The shower was really powerful as well. A special thank you as well to all the friendly cleaning staff and reception staff who were always happy to help and cheerful.

As other reviews mention the hotel isn't slap bang in the middle of city centre, but only a short 15-20 min tram ride away. This isn't a big deal as there is a tram stop just over the road from the hotel.

Just a little tip - if you are travelling by Train from Schipol to Sloterdijk - the platform your training will come into may not be in the main part of the station. If this is the case, if you come out of the station go straight ahead and turn right you will enter the main part of the station. You can buy tram tickets from the currency shop and board the tram by going down the steps outside (at the side of the bus station) the stop for the hotel is two stops from the station.

I hope this review will help other travellers as it helped us.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor not over the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport isle of wight
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent a couple of nights here for my nephews 18th birthday, beginning of this month.This is a very good hotel,excellent in fact.Modern rooms,with heated bathroom floors,superb breakfast (If you're hungry!),Polite and helpful staff.I can't really find fault to be honest :).Dont be put off by the exterior of the place,because it more than makes up for it inside.Also,don't be put off with the hotels distance from Dam square,it's literally tram 12 for two stops,get off and wait for tram 14 which takes you where you need to be for the action!.Get a tram pass for your stay it'll be cheaper :).Word of advice-tram drivers don't hang about long,so be quick when boarding,or the doors will shut and tram will go regardless of who's on,and who isn't!.(We found this out the hard way,and got separated!).Above all,have fun,go and explore,then return to your comfy,quiet hotel.Ready to do it all again the next day :).HIGHLY recommended hotel ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.