We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generic but very clean and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Generic but very clean and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Right next to the train station, on a great tram route for the city. Nothing around the hotel and traffic noise was quite bad but no drunk people! Hotel was newly refurbished so very clean and nicely decorated. We got a bargain price of just over £50 a night in aug! Prices have risen now, we did not eat there as it was expensive. Drinks were pricey too. Staff were sort of shocked if you addressed them, we asked for sugar as the bits in the room were not topped up and they reacted as though I'd asked them to do a dance for me!! Overall a nice place away from the city but not to far.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    573
    80
    18
    10
See reviews for
235
714
50
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. The first room I was put in was so small I couldn't open the closet door because it hit the bed! The mirror was also inside the closet - that didn't make any sense. When I asked to switch rooms I was moved to a room that was slightly larger and fine, but even so the closet was not comfortable for hanging clothes. Other negative was that the chamber maid did not change the dirty glasses for 3 days (I washed it by hand). On the good side, the hotel was located an easy drive from the airport and near the highway for my business trips, with a good parking lot underground. The neighborhood around the hotel has nothing to offer, but I didn't need that. The breakfast is excellent and so was dinner in the lounge the one night I ate there. The staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Insist on a room large enough to use the closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My fiance and I visited the Golden Tulip Amsterdam West between the 12th and the 19th of February 2014, we almost had a great stay, I say almost because of two main reasons:

1. when we arrived to the hotel we found out that for some strange reason the hotel cancelled our reservation, we didn't understand why because we confirmed it via booking and even contacted the hotel directly through E-mail, but it happened, and it took the hotel between 10-15 minutes to check us in to a nice room, what was really disappointing was the fact that we were on vacation celebrating my fiance birthday and our anniversary, and although we asked the hotel to supply some treats for the check we had nothing waiting for us on our entire stay other then the knowledge that someone decided to cancel our reservation

2. During our entire stay (7 nights) our bed sheets were not changed once, even thou at some point they got dirty, housekeeping made sure to tidy them every day but never ever change them, for me this seemed to be a superior case of negligence to the housekeeping duty.

Other then those problems most of our stay was quite nice, the hotel looks very nice, we got a room on the 4th floor (out of 7) with a view, there is a reasonable price mini bar at the room and the breakfast buffet is very rich and tasty, tram 12 is right in front of the hotel so you can get anywhere you want in Amsterdam, most of the time you will need to connect to another tram thou.

most of the receptionists know enough to give you all sorts of valuable information you might need, we were a bit shocked thou, when at one of the evenings we wanted to book a tour for the day after and the receptionist stated "I am on night duty, we don't really know anything about tours because there are no tour sales at night, you should ask again at around 8:00 in the morning." Off course when we asked at the morning it was already too late to get a hotel pickup and we had to literally make haste to the tour company office near the central station so we would get to go on the tour.

Overall I would say that the hotel is quite nice but we would have had a great stay if they would try harder to make you feel they care for what you think.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you like a view and prefer to avoid noise, and a double bed if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights over valentines and it was perfect, we're even thinking of coming again to this hotel in summer when the weather is better (wasn't the best time of the year for the weather). we had a comfort room and it was absolutely huge, it was amazing! the breakfast was lovely, lots to choose from and even my boyfriend is a fussy eater and still found something that he liked to eat. it's about a 5/10 minute walk from the train station which was good and then only a 5 minute trip on the train to the city centre. lovely staff, lovely hotel, all in all a lovely place to stay. definitely recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Location is not so good. Near the trams, but they cost 12 euro per two person 2-way. So for me it's better to find more expensive hotel near the centre and don't pay for transport. The coffe-mashin is exellent. Free coffe anf hot chocolate!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place was lovely. - perfect receptionist who spent 10 minutes with us every morning and evening sorting out plans / travel. Main attractions are about 20-30 minute ride by tram, which was fine for us, but may both some. pleasently surprised when we found breakfats was included, as we already thought we baged a bargain. Lovely rooms - nice coffee machine. Perfect base for city short trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was a short stay (2 nights) to celebrate my husband's birthday. Although not the best time of year to visit Amsterdam the hotel is excellent in every way. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are extremely comfortable and luxurious and the breakfast sets you up for the day. Its position is ideal as it offers a good location to visit the main sites of the City without the need for public transport. You can get to most of the sites, museums etc. in around 20 minutes and the walks are very interesting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.