We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such a lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here at the end of January and wasnt sure what to expect considering I got such a good deal.

Upon arrival the reception staffed greeted us, made check in fast and easy and even gave patient directions to some of our next destinations. Everything was explained and all our questions were answered. The room was immaculate and spotlessly clean. We were only there for a few days and didn't ask for housekeeping but im sure the standard would have been perfect as with everything else.

Didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, but all staff that we came across were lovely. The bar tenders were knowledgeable and polite, even very late at night. At one point - around 1am - we wanted some food and the hotel had stopped serving some hours before. However, they helped us and recommended a local pizza delivery service - which was amazing - and even notified us when it was delivered.

All in all a fantastic hotel to stay in, made our weekend effortless with no problems. Would not stay here again unless I was hiring a car because it is a little bit out of the way of the center of Amsterdam but otherwise faultless. Thank you!

(it took us around 30-40 to get to the centre by getting the tram which is right outside the hotel. there is also a late night bus service but taxi was under 20 euros late at night)

Room Tip: Either contact the hotel before hand or at reception when checking in as they are very accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    266
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
98
305
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We travelled to Amsterdam as a couple and decided to stay outwith the city centre as you get a lot more for your money that way.

First off - lets get the TRAVEL out the way....

We were initially apprehensive about the traveling to and from the hotel from the city centre...however there is no need to worry.

The Hotel is situated very near Sloterdijk Station, which lies between Shcipol Airport and Centraal Station.

From Schipol take the train direct to Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station. NOTE - If using the self service machines, you need to type in Amsterdam to find the Station. We searched for Sloterdijk but it returned nothing on the search. If you search Amsterdam then a list of all Stations in Amsterdam come up and you can then select Sloterdijk Station.

Once at the Station head to the Bus and Tram area and get the 12 Tram to the hotel.

The train from the Airport takes between 14-16 minutes to get to Sloterdijk Station and the 12 Tram takes you from there to the hotel in approx 2 minutes (its the 2nd stop) and the stop you want is about 15 meters after the hotel.

You can take either take the tram right into the city or take the train.

The number 12 Tram takes you to the Museum Quarter (Museumplein) where you can get another to the City Centre - Centraal Station (no's 2, 5 or 16) they are very frequent.

We however chose to take the number 12 tram to Sloterdijk Station (its 2 stops and and only 2 minutes travel) or walk the 5 minutes to the station. From there the Sprinter Tains to Centraal Station are every 5 minutes and take between 4 minutes and 7 minutes to get to Centraal Station (depending on the train taken).

Tram and Train prices are very resonable and cheaper than the UK.


The HOTEL.

The hotel from the outside does not look like much, however inside is a different story. The hotel is modern and nicely decorated and the rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable and feel very safe.

The en-suite shower rooms are amazing, so large in size with underfloor heating that keeps the tiled room very cosy.

This really is a 4* hotel and its very quiet outside at night.

The staff were friendly and helpful - you can if you like use your credit card to enable you to charge to your room but this is not essential.

I would definatelty stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. From the airport you may take the train to Sloterdijk station (approx. 3 euros and the ride takes 10 min) and then you can either walk to the hotel (10min) or take the tram nr. 12 which stop is across the street from the hotel.

At check in there was a big group of young men before us, but the receptionist didn't seem stressed at all and explained us very friendly everything important about the hotel . The room was spacious and modern , provided with a Nespresso maschine. Unfortunately the water tank was leaking, but they changed it immediately when we informed the staff. I was a bit surprised though, that there was no bathrobe provided in the room .
The breakfast buffet in the morning is rich and I was especially happy about the freshly squeezed orange juice.
As we wanted to visit the city , we purchased a daily ticket for the tram/bus (7,5 euros) directly at the reception. If you are staying for further days ask them if they have a 2 day or 3 day pass, as this is slightly cheaper.
The bar is nice , but the bar food not the best (but well, it was only a hot snack). One evening, I asked about an ice bucket too cool a bottle of wine and I found it a bit hard to believe that they don't have one in the entire hotel. I am happy to pay a corkage fee , but this answer was surprising...

In the evening we enjoyed their dinner buffet once, which they offer you for 24,5 euros. It has a large variety and even soft drinks , tea and coffee are included. The waiter was very friendly and efficient, explaining us everything, and came by several times to ask if everything is okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambov, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Everything was just perfect in all the levels, near the tramway station the stuff is so friendly, the value for money, the room view, the discipline, I could not say anything but perfect... Actually I paid half for what I found

Room Tip: Ask the desk for a room in the 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Three of us stayed in a triple room here for 2 nights on our journey from America to Tanzania. The hotel was an easy walk (about 1/2 mile) from the train station, which was an easy ride from the Airport. It was also very simple to get to Amsterdam Central, either on the train or the bus from the Hotel. Everything was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely with plenty of room for the three of us. The breakfast buffet was HUGE, and a little expensive for the amount of food I eat for breakfast, but if you have a good appetite it's a great deal. I would stay here again, and recommend it to others. Great hotel at a GREAT price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is my first 3* review on TA. I almost gave them 4 but their attitude annoyed me too much

Good: The room was clean, spacious, quiet even though it was near a main road. Nice bathroom, comfortable bed. The hotel looks modern all around. Free wifi too.

Bad: IMO the staff weren't up to scratch. They were obnoxious at check in, forgot to book a taxi, didn't seem to care in general. They overcharged me and when questioned said, no it's automatic from booking.com ( through TA), it's the correct price sir. I then brought up my email confirmation and he says 'oh yes, we have lots of IT problems all the time'.....Seriously? This took about 15 minutes to sort out which is aggravating when you are trying to get to the airport.

We had a quick bite to eat before we left also, but it took over 15 minutes to make 2 sandwiches and 5 minuets to bring us a bill, despite there being only 3 tables.
It's also quite far from the centre - you have to take a taxi to and from the city, if you are thinking of spending most days near the centre I would book a better located hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is great value for money. Its two tram rides from Main Station which allowed you to view more parts from this beautiful city.
The reception staff were very friendly and booking handled with ease. Got a free up grade of the room which I have to say was amazing! The room was large two massive beds! Large shower room which was very posh indeed. The beds themselves were very comfy, room clean, great view of canal. coffee machine was a nice touch and was well used!
Overall this hotel was excellent and would stay here again. Nice part of the city!
Tip buy a 48 hour train pass its cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking canal have a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;