We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in West Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in West Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is great value for money. Its two tram rides from Main Station which allowed you to view more parts from this beautiful city.
The reception staff were very friendly and booking handled with ease. Got a free up grade of the room which I have to say was amazing! The room was large two massive beds! Large shower room which was very posh indeed. The beds themselves were very comfy, room clean, great view of canal. coffee machine was a nice touch and was well used!
Overall this hotel was excellent and would stay here again. Nice part of the city!
Tip buy a 48 hour train pass its cheaper.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking canal have a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    289
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
113
333
24
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had 1 issue we ate 3 nights in the hotel in the evening,food was excellent although the same every night but great value and after being out all day it suited us to eat in the relax in our room,however we did not realise that you received a free bottle of wine with each meal,this was never offered to us! When checking out we brought this to their attention and after some negotiations they offered us a free lunch. Thanks for that the food again excellent

We were also given a free upgrade to a comfort room for a mix up when checking in there was another couple with the same surname so the upgrade was given without any question . Thanks again a comfort room on the 6th floor.

The Room- Spotless clean ,modern,flat screen TV with English channels,perfect coffee machine good quality nexpresso not the usual hotel granules, bathroom with first rate shower ,tiles,underfloor heating and plenty of toileteries & slippers. No traffic noise in fact the hotel was really quite I think this was due to carpeted hallways.

The Staff - Could not fault any of them very efficient friendly and tentative . The whole experience showed that they wanted to give excellent service and worked well as a team.

Food - We did not have breakfast only evening meal and lunch although you make first think that the meal maybe pricey for a normal hotel meal please try its super I could not list every thing it would take me ages but for eg- oysters,scallops,lemon sole,lobster tails,shrimps,tenderloin steak,ribeye,lamb chops,chicken breast,pork loin slices,pizza all cooked to order in front of you to your taste,and then 3 buffet carts and a dessert cart with a chocolate fountain and chef cooking pancakes and apple pie fresh,also a selection of ice creams,with a selection of drinks.

Location - Yes its not central however no issue use the tram 12 outside to the right of the hotel then change to 13 , very easy 8 sts in all and your right in it. We bought a €21 card from reception on arrival for 4 days to cover all tram rides great value,swipe card on entry and when you get off tram very important!! Airport is very close catch train for 2 stops then a short walk we bought our return tickets from the station office opposite Bugher king caught the train from platform 3 but please check the boards this may change.
To get to hotel from train station-
Main exit
Turn left
Left down concrete steps
Walk straight
Train tracks on your right
Pass train carriage type cafe on left
Walk straight on below overhead road
Walk until you see sign on top of hotel its on your left in the distance.
About 8- 10 mins walk.

We would return and are confidant to recommended.

Thank you to all the staff at this excellent hotel

Room Tip: We had 606 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here with 3 other people in a quadruple room (room 124) on the weekend of 1st Feb - 3rd Feb 2014. The decor inside the hotel was really nice, especially in comparison to the outside and the beds we had were incredibly comfortable!! We didn't dine in at all because we was out being typical tourists for 95% of the time, but i've already got plans to come back here again this year... Thanks to Berto for helping us out with our midnight munchies, Joke (sorry if i've spelt her name wrong - she works on reception) for her directions to Melkweg and various other parts of town, and a blonde lady (I didn't catch her name - sorry!) who also works on reception, who was our initial first point of contact when we arrived and left.
Room service was on point, and i wish i could have tipped more because i didn't have to ask or remind for anything to be done. The staff were friendly, and I couldn't have asked for more. Whilst the location isn't central, it's not far at all from Amsterdam Centraal, and I think the location actually helped us to explore Amsterdam more so than if we just stayed in a central location. Thanks again Golden Tulip for a wonderful stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed on NYE 2013 for 2 nights with a friend. Luxury hotel - comfortable, clean and extremely helpful staff. Would definately return to the Golden Tulip. Reception staff extremely helpful. Perfect location just a short tram trip or 11 euros in a taxi from train station. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay!

A**************

Room Tip: Comfort Room was splendid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Although this hotel isn't in the centre of Amsterdam (doesn't everyone realise this when they book?), it isn't a problem to get there, and we would definitely stay here again.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, with lots of advice re directions, tram tickets etc. Our room was lovely, and we were even asked what floor we would like to be on, so opted for the top (7th). The Nespresso machine was a great extra - certainly beats a kettle and nescafe instant!

We normally wouldn't eat in the hotel, but the first night was awful, weatherwise, so we decided to stay in and eat at the DREAM restaurant - highly recommended. The food is served buffet style with a great deal of variety. Then you can choose to have food cooked on the grill for you, scallops, prawns, fish or meat. Also, as we were in a comfort room we also got a free bottle of wine!

This was our second time in Amsterdam, and if we visit again we will be staying at The Golden Tulip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It may not be such a beautiful building from the outside, but this is a quality hotel. Inside, we found a spotlessly clean modern decor, and a warm welcome from the very helpful reception staff. The room wasn't huge, but very well specified with nice touches like a UK mains socket, decent climate control and espresso machine. The bathroom was really exceptional though, with underfloor heating and a brilliant shower.

If you're staying in order to explore central Amsterdam, it's worth noting that this hotel is not in the centre, but is located in a business district a mile or so out. It's not a rough area, but there isn't a whole lot to see. However, this being Amsterdam, public transport is fast and easy to use. There's the tram stops, literally over the road, and the bus stop which takes you directly to Centraal station is a 10 minute walk. We bought a 4-day unlimited travel card from the hotel for about €20 which let us use all the trams and buses as often as required.

As long as you don't need to be right in the centre of town, I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We asked for family room, and got the best of our entire 40-day trip around Europe. Two super comfy queen size beds with plenty of space for 3 adults and 1 child. Room was new, clean and not noisy at all. The hotel is not very close to city center, but walk for five minute and you'll be at the train station or only 2 minutes to take the bus. I'd most certainly go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.