We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely 4 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definitely 4 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Quiet, relaxing, comfy beds, nice view from our 5th floor room. Getting downtown was very easy, as was getting to the hotel from the airport. Price was very good for Amsterdam. Breakfast buffet offered lots of options. Staff was helpful- they even leant us an umbrella.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    267
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
100
308
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Travelled to Amsterdam for a long weekend with the girlfriend and stayed at the Golden Tulip. It's clean and modern, I think it has been recently refurbished. The hotel was OK, there is no "wow" factor here and I feel it would be more suited to business travellers and groups rather than a couple looking for a romantic break.

Two issues I had, 1) It is slightly out of the way of the action, part of me wished I'd booked a hotel closer to the city centre, although it is not very far away, taxi's are expensive in Amsterdam.

2) There were other chargers I had to pay upon check out, I don't feel I was informed about this when I made my booking and I felt slightly short changed.

We had breakfast, it was ok and there was a good selection, although I have had better. Rooms were very nice and modern and the bed was very comfy.

Overall - nice hotel, clean, modern, but not very central and perhaps not suited to those looking for a romantic break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in this fantastic hotel just two nights and wished to stay more, this was the best hotel we choose in our touristic route that covered some cities in Germany, Holland and Belgium. Although the hotel is out of the city center, we did not have any problem in using tram (no.12) and then changing with no.13, to be in the heart of the city center in around 20 minutes. This modern hotel with an excellent staff made our stay, we have given a small room at first, but the front desk ladies were having no problem to upgrade us to a very spacious room. The room was having some nice facilities like: the digital control panel for bathroom floor temperature and do not disturb, free Wi-Fi, iron, Espresso coffee machine with free daily refill. We did not try the breakfast there, although it seemed great with nice variety of food and drinks.
The hotel has a private underground parking which costs 15 Euro/night, the outdoor public parking is free just at the weekend!
Finally, I would certainly choose this hotel again if I decide to visit the lovely city of Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Spacious rooms at the high floors are extremely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at the Golden Tulip in late December - had a great time. People have complained about being out of the city centre but it is a short tram ride and definitely quieter and more relaxed than closer in. Fun time. The buffet dinner was good value but thought some options if people didn't want large meals i.e. a la carte could be a good option to add.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel provides great value for money. Our room was spacious and comfortably furnished with a large, well-equipped bathroom. The hotel has a pleasant communal sitting area and bar in the foyer. The breakfast buffet for 15 Euros is excellent. Very welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the Golden Tulip at the beginning of January 2014 and were overwhelmed at the standard of this hotel given the very good price we paid. The hotel has been completed to a very high standard with modern decor throughout, we were upgraded to a comfort room which was incredibly spacious with a particularly impressive bathroom. The hotel was spotless and the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located about 7 minutes walk from Sloterdijik Station and about 15 minutes away by tram from Amsterdam city centre. We did walk into the city centre on one occasion and this did take about 45 minutes so would definitely recommend taking the tram, you do need to change trams on route but we didn't find this a problem given they run so often and they stop right outside the hotel. We were quite content to stay slightly outside the city given the high standard of this hotel. We didn't have breakfast in our rate so paid for this once, it was slightly expensive but nothing more than I would have expected for this standard of hotel and they did have a wide variety of food available. The hotel has free WIFI available in all areas, including the bedrooms, and a safe in the bedroom provided free of charge.

All in all we had a fantastic stay at this hotel and would certainly choose this hotel again if we were to revisit Amsterdam. The price we paid compared to the standard of the hotel really is incredibly good value for money. We would have no hesitation in recommeding this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed in this hotel a few years ago for three nights, it was lovely. We were traveling with a small dog and the staff was more than helpful with every question we had. Hotel was clean and modern, it was really quiet but centric as well, you could walk around and all nice stores and restaurants to try. Only one thing was I had a do not disturb sign on the door as I had an early flight and sleeping at noon but still cleaner came in, my dog started to bark and that was a bit annoying, but otherwise our stay was absolutely pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.