We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in September. The hotel is beautiful! Spotlessly clean and modern but warm, cosy and friendly at the same time.
The room was lovely. I loved the nespresso machine. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was heaven.
The hotel is an 8 minute walk from the train station where you can hop on a train which will bring you to central station in 6 minutes.
The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a vast variety of brochures available. We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food but I would highly recommend this hotel for a city break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed one night, got it on a deal, room and bathroom first class absolutely spotless. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was 15eu a bit pricey but you'll want for nothing .parking was 15eu per night and pint of Heineken in the bar was an eye watering 5.50 eu not sure I'd stay again as getting to the city centre is a bit off a chore and its 15 eu in a cab back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in August, as a base for visiting the city. Arrived at 9.30am after very early flights, and were able to have breakfast and then check-in at 10am, which was a great bonus. Decor is lovely, rooms were very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good with lots of choice. Would be happy to recommend to anyone. We used info from other reviews regarding trams and trains to navigate our way around from here into the city, and were quite glad to be able to get back to this quieter part of town after the crowds around the Dam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayfoster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here with my parents from 6th September for almost a week.
Staff: The booking terms clearly mentioned that a deposit was not required. The reception staff was very rude/insulting with my father and made him pay a deposit. Some reception staff do not understand English. Housekeeping staff was very helpful.
Facilities: My mom fell at Amsterdam Airport after which she was confined to a wheelchair for the entire trip. The hotel does not have a wheelchair, does not have adequate first aid supplies. They don't know where the nearest doctor is. They gave us an address for a wheelchair rental which was more than 45 minutes away and quoted the daily rental which was 6 times more than what we finally got a wheelchair for. We had to run around the city looking for a wheelchair, pharmacy and doctor.
Location: It will take you 30-45 minutes to get to Central Amsterdam in a Tram. You will have to change 2 Trams to get there or walk to the nearest station (around 10 minutes away) and then take a train.
Room service: Slow. A bottle of water took more than half hour to arrive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NehaHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and I hope your mother is doing well now after her fall on the airport. The fact that we do not have wheelchairs is because we are not a suitable hotel for disabled people. However we do have a "hotel" docter. It is a local doctor who will come to the hotel when we call him. All together I am sorry that your stay was not what you expected of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for just 2 nights, but it was so great! It was in close proximity to the Schipol airport so getting there was a breeze. When we arrived at the hotel the exterior was not all that welcoming. I believe they should change the colour of the hotel to a nicer colour. However, when we got inside it was like we entered a different world. The lobby was beautiful and there was adequate staff available for check-in. We were asked about breakfast during check-in ad paid it in our bill. One very great thing to note is that the staff's English was excellent!

Upon entering our room we realized just how massive the room was, as well as modern because it is a new hotel. The room was beautifully decorated and very quiet! The bathroom was also very great! The room had great storage and lots of lighting and there were a variety of TV channels available. I'm not even going to begin speaking about those heavenly beds!

When we got to dinner in the DREAM restaurant we were surprised at just how much food was there. There were all kinds of stations and the sushi seemed good! They got me at the chocolate fountain near the entrance with all kinds of dippers! Breakfast had a very great selection as well. I think I remember seeing as many as 8 different types of cereal as well as fresh fruits. There was milk, chocolate milk, pink grapefruit juice, apple juice, orange juice, fruit punch, coffee and so much more!

Great stay here! Do yourself a favour and check in here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PantonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had an excellent experience with this Hotel in Amsterdam. It had a very friendly service. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The breakfast is good. The parking is fairly priced at 15 EUR per day. There is a Nespresso Machine in every room, which is lovely.
The only con could be the location. One needs to take the tram or get a Taxi to visit the center, but it did not bother me much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Madeira
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Even though it's not located in the centre of Amsterdam, it's conveniently placed near a tram stop (which will get you there in 10-15mins) and it's also really close to the Sloterdijk Station (good when your coming from/going to the airport). Btw, there's a Lidel supermarket close by (2 mins walk) and there are some restaurants (not many, though) in the vicinities.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Great bathroom. The staff were really, really friendly and corteous and they've help us solve the only problem we had during arrival: getting the safe to work correctly (btw, the safe is free!). Besides that, they were always available to help up us with some tips. The hotel wifi was really good and it worked everywhere (good coverage in our room). There are also a couple of computers and a printer (really important for printing your boarding pas, for instance) on the lobby.
The room's TV was ok and there was also a nespresso coffee machine and some complimentary coffee capsules (which the hotel replaces every day).
Overall, the experience was great and I'll be staying here again if/when I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,030 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Amsterdam West has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast and dinner, a nice bar for lunch, bites and drinks, a lounge and business centre, three meeting rooms and a parking garage underneath the hotel. Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk), and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min). Whether you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing