We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Save Saved
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in September. The hotel is beautiful! Spotlessly clean and modern but warm, cosy and friendly at the same time.
The room was lovely. I loved the nespresso machine. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was heaven.
The hotel is an 8 minute walk from the train station where you can hop on a train which will bring you to central station in 6 minutes.
The reception staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a vast variety of brochures available. We didn't eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food but I would highly recommend this hotel for a city break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    264
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
97
299
22
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Standish, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed one night, got it on a deal, room and bathroom first class absolutely spotless. Staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was 15eu a bit pricey but you'll want for nothing .parking was 15eu per night and pint of Heineken in the bar was an eye watering 5.50 eu not sure I'd stay again as getting to the city centre is a bit off a chore and its 15 eu in a cab back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in August, as a base for visiting the city. Arrived at 9.30am after very early flights, and were able to have breakfast and then check-in at 10am, which was a great bonus. Decor is lovely, rooms were very comfortable, staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was good with lots of choice. Would be happy to recommend to anyone. We used info from other reviews regarding trams and trains to navigate our way around from here into the city, and were quite glad to be able to get back to this quieter part of town after the crowds around the Dam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here with my parents from 6th September for almost a week.
Staff: The booking terms clearly mentioned that a deposit was not required. The reception staff was very rude/insulting with my father and made him pay a deposit. Some reception staff do not understand English. Housekeeping staff was very helpful.
Facilities: My mom fell at Amsterdam Airport after which she was confined to a wheelchair for the entire trip. The hotel does not have a wheelchair, does not have adequate first aid supplies. They don't know where the nearest doctor is. They gave us an address for a wheelchair rental which was more than 45 minutes away and quoted the daily rental which was 6 times more than what we finally got a wheelchair for. We had to run around the city looking for a wheelchair, pharmacy and doctor.
Location: It will take you 30-45 minutes to get to Central Amsterdam in a Tram. You will have to change 2 Trams to get there or walk to the nearest station (around 10 minutes away) and then take a train.
Room service: Slow. A bottle of water took more than half hour to arrive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and I hope your mother is doing well now after her fall on the airport. The fact that we do not have wheelchairs is because we are not a suitable hotel for disabled people. However we do have a "hotel" docter. It is a local doctor who will come to the hotel when we call him. All together I am sorry that your stay was not what you expected of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for just 2 nights, but it was so great! It was in close proximity to the Schipol airport so getting there was a breeze. When we arrived at the hotel the exterior was not all that welcoming. I believe they should change the colour of the hotel to a nicer colour. However, when we got inside it was like we entered a different world. The lobby was beautiful and there was adequate staff available for check-in. We were asked about breakfast during check-in ad paid it in our bill. One very great thing to note is that the staff's English was excellent!

Upon entering our room we realized just how massive the room was, as well as modern because it is a new hotel. The room was beautifully decorated and very quiet! The bathroom was also very great! The room had great storage and lots of lighting and there were a variety of TV channels available. I'm not even going to begin speaking about those heavenly beds!

When we got to dinner in the DREAM restaurant we were surprised at just how much food was there. There were all kinds of stations and the sushi seemed good! They got me at the chocolate fountain near the entrance with all kinds of dippers! Breakfast had a very great selection as well. I think I remember seeing as many as 8 different types of cereal as well as fresh fruits. There was milk, chocolate milk, pink grapefruit juice, apple juice, orange juice, fruit punch, coffee and so much more!

Great stay here! Do yourself a favour and check in here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had an excellent experience with this Hotel in Amsterdam. It had a very friendly service. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The breakfast is good. The parking is fairly priced at 15 EUR per day. There is a Nespresso Machine in every room, which is lovely.
The only con could be the location. One needs to take the tram or get a Taxi to visit the center, but it did not bother me much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Madeira
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Even though it's not located in the centre of Amsterdam, it's conveniently placed near a tram stop (which will get you there in 10-15mins) and it's also really close to the Sloterdijk Station (good when your coming from/going to the airport). Btw, there's a Lidel supermarket close by (2 mins walk) and there are some restaurants (not many, though) in the vicinities.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Great bathroom. The staff were really, really friendly and corteous and they've help us solve the only problem we had during arrival: getting the safe to work correctly (btw, the safe is free!). Besides that, they were always available to help up us with some tips. The hotel wifi was really good and it worked everywhere (good coverage in our room). There are also a couple of computers and a printer (really important for printing your boarding pas, for instance) on the lobby.
The room's TV was ok and there was also a nespresso coffee machine and some complimentary coffee capsules (which the hotel replaces every day).
Overall, the experience was great and I'll be staying here again if/when I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.