We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with quiet venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel with quiet venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very comfortable hotel that was located a bit outside Amsterdam city centre, which was great as the venue was very quiet and a short tram ride back into the city. The morning staff were amazing and so helpful (really went above and beyond to make our trip enjoyable). The staff at night were unhelpful and downright rude on a couple of occasions. Our room safe was broken the whole visit even though we brought to their attention. Had to leave our valuables in the safe in reception that was a bit of a faff as there was usually a que.
Our room was smaller than we thought it would be, but comfortable nevertheless. Excellent bathroom with large walk in shower with both rainfall shower head and hand held shower available.
Would in the end recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    428
    56
    11
    6
See reviews for
159
519
38
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a citytrip to Amsterdam.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room wasn't very big but clean and comfy.
Breakfast was excellent.
This hotel is also very easy to reach from the city center, there's a tram stop right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

my wife and i stayed for 3 nights at this hotel 18th aug to 21st,what can i say perfect !staff friendly, the coffee machine in the room was excellent. free wi-fi and free internet in foyer.we walked into the center through a nice park 20 mins,transport links were ideal.breakfast buffet good value We have travelled all over the world and have to say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in would recommed this hotel to everyone..**********************************************

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with great staff, rooms, public areas and food. Staff at the front desk were extremely busy the whole time we were there (peak season) but this did not stop them being friendly, efficient and a credit to the hotel (particularly Brian). The rooms are really nice, a very good refurbishment of an older hotel (the window frames give the game away). Excellent bathroom with large walk in shower with both rainfall shower head and hand held shower available. Comfortable beds, would have preferred a double to two singles pushed together, but it was fine. We went to breakfast one day, 30 euros for two people and it was excellent. Superb quality and choice. Trams are handy but you do need to change to get into centre of town, easy when you know how. We will use this hotel again when going back even though there is enormous choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a recent trip with friends. There were 6 people in our party and we booked 3 rooms, only one with twin beds. It was our first visit to Amsterdam and the hotel was further outside the city than we originally thought but based on the high prices in Amsterdam and the Euro exchange rate it was possibly a good financial decision. Although we did make the ten minute trek to the train and then relatively painless transfer to the trolley in order to get downtown to the city centre once, the rest of the times we ventured out (four times total over two nights) we used a cab that was booked for us by the hotel staff. They were mostly friendly but told us transportation would cost about €35, it ended up being over €50 and they sent a party bus with televisions and American music videos playing loudly. Come on, we're not even that tacky in the U.S. Same thing with the canal tour dinner reservations, we asked at the desk before we went out adventuring and they said €75 advance purchase but we wandered into the canal tour office while we were out and it was only €67! Same thing kept happening so heads up! Other than that the rooms were clean, showers were hot, English speaking tv stations and inexpensive drinks at the bar (beware they will charge you extra for condiments... Mustard, mayonnaise etc.). There is a lovely view of a stream and landscaping in the back of the hotel but if you stay in the front you'll see the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Tulip as a last minute cheaper option after our first hotel choice fell through. I was very pleasantly surprised - a very modern hotel, absolutely spotless room, big bathroom and all the mod cons you would expect from a 4 star hotel. It's true that it is not in the centre of town, but Amsterdam is not huge and the hotel is right at the end of tram line no.12, which takes about 15 minutes to get into the centre. We didn't find that a problem, even on a 2 night mini-break. We checked in a good 2 hours early and it wasn't even mentioned as a problem. We didn't have breakfast but with hindsight should have done as it meant we had to always find food as soon as we got into town each morning, although pancake places are never too hard to find. For the price this is an excellent hotel.

One tip - the hotel is right by a main line station stop from the airport - I wish I'd have known that before we had gone all the way into town and then back out on the tram!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is modern and clean, the standard double rooms are adequate but couldn't be described as spacious. In the room is a modern shower and wash area, the bed comfortable and there is a coffee making machine. The room does have the usual mini bar for those who wish to to use it, and a very convenient safe.
Getting to the hotel is easy, just a two stop tram ride from sloterdijk rail station on the number 13.
Getting into town is OK, but a bit trickier. You need to take the 13 and then the 12 which goes to Dam square and the Centraal station area.
I can only find a few things that need imporvement at this hotel, that is that there isnt a way to have snacks on return from evening out apart from food in your room at extra charge or a mini bar at .
Food places arround the hotel are also poor

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.