We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West to your Saves list
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sarajevo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very clean and comfortable rooms, more than expected. Nice and polite staff with very helpful advice. It seems like you are only and the most important guest for them!
Near tram and train station, good connection with all interest points. We take the bus no. 69 from Airport (the only line from airport on which you can travel with your 24/48 hours ticket purchased on airport) to Sloterdijk, and than tram no.12 to hotel. Get off on third tram stop, in front of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    427
    56
    11
    6
See reviews for
158
517
38
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a hotel with rooms that could take 2 adults and 2 kids for a city break and the Golden Tulip was perfect. Though hotel is just outside the city centre it was no problem getting in as the Tram stops just outside (take number 12) and it is only a 15 minute ride and with kids they found this fun anyway. Hotel rooms were great and spacious even with a Nespresso coffee machine inside which was welcome! Hotel has been fully refurbished to a high standard and is very modern and clean. Only issue we had was not being able to get the Van in the car park at the rear as the height limit was 1.85cm however this was no problem as there is pay parking places out the front for €17 per day. Overall great hotel for families and would definitely recommend and go back again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, very clean, excellent food, friendly staff and very central for touring the area. The room was kept spotless though the freebies were a little scarce. These could be obtained if you asked for them. It is obviously a very busy hotel, catering for seminars, business meetings, etc. but did not detract from the service which the visitors received. The decor of the hotel is very modern but very soothing to the weary traveller with subdued lighting. Lift service was very handy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in April 2013, following a booking using ebookers at a very attractive rate. We were aware of the location and the fact that the hotel had recently been refurbished prior to booking.

We found the hotel to be very good in almost all respects. The staff were polite, helpful and knowledgeable, and all our queries were dealt with very quickly and without fuss. We were checked into a corner room (twin) on the first floor which was spacious (particularly the bathroom) and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and we had no problem sleeping. The air conditioning appeared to work well.

The bathroom was finished well, although we were surprised that there was no bath (as there certainly seemed to be enough room for one). The shower was excellent and there were plenty of towels provided.

The TV offered numerous European channels, including the BBC. The Nespresso machine provided in the room was great, but the cups were far too small to make tea in - bigger tea cups are needed! In addition we had to ask at reception for English Breakfast teabags (as only fruit tea/green tea etc. was provided in the room), but our request was dealt with straight away. Milk was provided in the form of creamer, rather than real milk, but this seems to be fairly standard in Amsterdam. The electronic minibar offered ten items at prices which didn't seem ridiculous, but we didn't make us of this facility.

We found the noise levels generally excellent, although on two occasions there was a group of people congregating near our door late at night (probably waiting for the lift), and they were fairly noisy. We couldn't hear adjacent rooms/floors, however. The electronic "do not disturb/please clean" system seemed to work well.

We did not eat in the Hotel Restaurant as we thought it was quite expensive, so we cannot comment on this. The hotel bar was OK with attentive service and fair prices, but perhaps a fairly limited selection of drinks. In addition there is a limited menu in the bar, but we did not sample this.

There is are no fitness facilities at the hotel. These would be a good addition in due course.

The hotel is not centrally located to Amsterdam, but is within walking distance of Amsterdam Sloterdijk station. The easiest way to get to the hotel is to take Tram 12 two stops, but you will find the hotel by walking as long as you head in the right direction (best to check online before you go). Head for the station exit leading to Tram 12, and continue along the path which crosses the grassed area diagonally. Then walk down some steps between the buildings and over a small road to the main road (with the trams running along it). Turn left here and continue under the road bridge ahead (A10). You will see the hotel on the right once the other side of the bridge. This route is fairly easy after you have done it once.

Transport options into the centre of Amsterdam are really either the train (from Sloterdijk) or the tram (from the stop near the front of the hotel). If you take the tram you will need to change trams once. We found the trains quite expensive, but the trams were quite good value if you buy a day or multi-day ticket (we bought 72 hour cards from the tourist information centre at the airport). Sloterdijk station offers connections all over the Netherlands, and we enjoyed trips to Zaanse Schans, Keukenhof (via bus at Schiphol airport) and Leiden starting from there.

If you don't want to eat breakfast at the hotel, then there are a few options at Sloterdijk station (including Starbucks), or local supermarkets include Lidl and Albert Heijn. The reception staff assisted us with directions to these. Obviously there are numerous options within the centre of Amsterdam.

It is also worth noting that the hotel had its full/grand opening during our stay, so the "soft opening" phase has now completed.

In summary we thought this was an excellent hotel for the money and we would definitely consider returning if we are in the area again. 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, fl
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Rez. was made by family member in UK, so got an excellent rate thru booking.com. Someone told DH they were having a soft opening while we were there, ironing out the kinks,etc.

Well, they hit a home run with us...even have books you can borrow from their library (by the free internet cptrs.) and read in your room. Dinner buffet was pricey, so we didn't have any food there (family had room service & said it was good but pricey). We were given a corner room & if the trees nearby were leafed out, it would have had a good view. Room was very spacious & very clean...kudos to the cleaning staff!! Very friendly too.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay here. staff were helpful and place was spotless. Our room was lovely with the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. Location is a bit out of the way but team stop is just beside hotel and my children enjoyed getting on and off trams which were very regular. Nothing. Much in area as it seems to be a commercial business area but there's a lidl just round the corner which was handy for breakfast supplies and juice etc. didn't eat in restaurant as would have worked out at 90 euros for two kids and two adults but the food looked really lovely. Will definitely stay here again if I could get a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel in West Amsterdam where nothing is missed. New hotel, clean, silent with spacious rooms and relatively spacious bathroom. Short distance from Sloterdijk station, a public transport junction that will take you anywhere in Holland including easy access to Schiphol airport. Tram to city centre is located just in front of the hotel. Personnel of the hotel was very friendly and helpful and approachable with very good knowledge of English. Our experience was absolutely great and 100% worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Address: Molenwerf 1, 1014 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Hotel has all the facilities you can expect of a 4 star hotel. It has a restaurant with more than 300 seats that is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice bar, lounge and business centre, 3 meeting rooms and a own parking garage underneath the hotel.Situated just of exit 103 of the A10 ring way, Sloterdijk train station is just around the corner (5 min walk, and the city is only a tram ride away (15 min)Weather you come to our city for business or pleasure, by car or public transport, we are the ideal start of your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.